We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Tara Devi Temple

Ranked #10 of 85 things to do in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Located on top of a hill, the Tara Devi Complex commands lovely views of Shimla. Very clean and beautifully maintained. The cafe here also has fantastic views and a very helpful and friendly owner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManjushaDighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    73
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A long distance back along the highway towards Kalka. Steep drive in end but worth the drive. Amazing hilltop views. Beware of monkeys who snatched away our prasad.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chandra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hike”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I along with our guest Ruth and a local guide Piyush , hiked up to Tara Devi Temple . The hike, approximately 2.5km one way was excellent , we worked up a good sweat on the climb up . the Temple itself located on top of a hill was in serene and peaceful surrounding. Well worth the hike

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank prateekchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Good small trek to Tara Devi temple”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had been to Shimla on 17th May 2014. Did visit Tara devi temple on 18th May 2014. Fortunately or unfortunately, since driver was not sure of the road (as it was under construction) he dropped us near the walking way of Tara Devi temple. We did start at 1:00 pm. It was nice easy trek for nearly 4-5 km reached there just after 2 pm. We did really enjoy the walk up. Enjoyed the temple, view, roses around the temple. I think on Sundays they serve, bhandara (prasad). It was good. Since the driver realized the road is in good condition, he got the car up. So we drove down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank prashanth_vasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This temple is on a high elevation and we had to walk steep climbs holding on to railings at some places. Better to take a stick for rent or but one - will help you climb and also come in handy when you want to shoo away monkeys that try to snatch your valuables!

The view of the mountains from the temple is breath taking!

Helpful?
Thank gksaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tara Devi Temple also viewed

Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 
Shimla, Shimla District
Shimla, Shimla District
 

Been to Tara Devi Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing