We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place ever.”
Review of Sunnymead Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunnymead Estate
Ranked #2 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The most hospitable, cozy and beautiful place ever made!!! A must visit. If you don't know the hospitality of sunnymead you don't know real hospitality. The meals, the room, the people and of course the friendly 3 dogs were awesome......... The place has been modernised and a lot of effort has been put..... A lot of books.... Great furniture.... Near the hustle bustle of the main city and at the same time very peaceful. English style food and desserts made deliciously . Totally luxurious. Never hesitate as this is just great.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank sidg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Remember the best meal you would have ever had, remember the time when you were served food with most warmth, multiply the emotion that you would have felt then by at least 3 times. That's your every meal at Sunnymead.


So you would have got the drift by now. Excellent food blended with warmth of hospitality.

The rooms are beautiful, loaded with books, not just the regular flicks. A keen eye should be able to find some masterpieces.

Okay, but the place is not for everyone and the owners know that. There is a little bit of a steep walk from the road to the cottages. Not much to do for kids apart from the lovely meals that were customized for my daughter. They have 4 pets - 3 dogs and 1 cat who are roaming free, friendly and lovable. But for someone with cynophobia may want to avoid the place for this reason.

For us - it was very enjoyable and we would go again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajmongia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovemiles171004, Owner at Sunnymead Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dear Amit and Samta,

Thank you so very much rather belatedly for the super review of Sunnymead. Both Radhika and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting both of you and your parents, Atul and Reshmy. Please do give my regards to your parents and hope we get to meet you all soon. This time we will provide you a space for your yoga where the dogs won't be your audience.

Many thanks once again
Madhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the kind of stay that will spoil you for any other kind. You're in somebody's beautifully appointed home. There are big happy dogs and a cat to cuddle. Books to wallow in. A lovely cottage garden with wild flowers as well. The food is comforting, delicious and beautifully presented in heirloom crockery. Like the osteria in Italy, the produce is local, seasonal and much of it from their own garden. A reserve forest of oak and cedar literally in the backyard. Madhavi, the delightful young hostess, is always at hand to advise. Full of fun anecdotes and tips. She does Indian as well as Western menus and they're all scrumptious and quite a spread.
This is THE place if you are a botanist, birdwatcher, general lover of nature, the environment, peace and relaxation,heritage homes, pets and fine food. And if you wish to have a taste of how it feels like to be a resident of Simla in more gracious and elegant times. It is situated far enough from the mad scramble of Simla town, but close enough to walk the distance to most places. I did. Cabs are on call if you wish to take off on a picnic to woods or orchards or do a day trip.
This is NOT the place if you dislike family pets, have overactive or destructive children( the place is full of delicate and precious things, fine carpets and cherished plants), and want a mainstream hotel stay with room service, fast food and TV in the rooms (there is a TV in a lounge, but whoever needs it around here?).
That said, it is a haven for sensitive and aware children who respect private property , love animals and reading. There was a family with a toddler staying while I was there and he was beautifully behaved, thanks to his parents, and happy and contented in the cosy home atmosphere. Madhu who rules the kitchen and Motilal who manages the garden are the pillars who support this beautiful place. It's a privilege to be part of it. even for a short spell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank farouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had an outrageously good stay at Madhavi's house in February 2014. This is a really tastefully and carefully restored family home, built by her great grandfather, full of antique furniture, hangings and carpets. It sits on the steep slope below Cart Road in its lovely garden - Moti Lal has been looking after it for 30 years or more. Madhavi provided us with a room with a balcony and a four poster bed, log fires, superb breakfasts with 5 or 6 different dishes, and equally lavish evening meals. The food draws on recipes from Kashmir, the Punjab and Dehli - unfailingly interesting., its quality was as good or better than anything we ate anywhere in India and Nepal in the 4 months we were travelling. The house library is extensive and comprehensive consisting of English and Indian books both literary and otherwise for most of the past century. Madhavi herself is a charming hostess whose conversation is never less than entertaining. We quickly came to think of her as a friend. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovemiles171004, Owner at Sunnymead Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dearest Ros and David,

Thank you both for writing this lovely review. I thought of you today since I've managed to source a magnolia campbellii (grin grin).. Devon and Totnes are on my definite wishlist esp Rosemoor. Do come again so I may feed you some more.

Big hug
Madhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Madhavi and Radhika were the most wonderful hosts, welcoming us with a smile in their beautiful home. A cosy, wooden house, aesthetically done, it instantly made us feel at home. A beautiful garden is perfect to laze in the sun and food is quite incredible - especially the Lamb :)

In short, I fell in love with the place and will definitely stay here when I go back to Shimla…provided there are rooms available because more often than not, they aren't!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank chugh9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Madhavi was an excellent hostess and Sunnymead is a beautiful property. I would highly recommend staying here. The house has so much character and is beautifully furnished and decorated. Our room had a very comfortable four poster bed and a fire burning in the fireplace. Chatting to Madhavi and her mum, Rita, before dinner was interesting and entertaining. The dinner we had was absolutely delicious. This was the best meal I have had this holiday and Madhavi's jackfruit biryani was sensational. I wish we had planned to stay more than one night because we didn't do Sunnymead justice. We'll have to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovemiles171004, Owner at Sunnymead Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Kathy and Pete,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and thank you so much for such a fabulous review. Both my mother and I enjoyed meeting you. I look forward to seeing the two of you soon.
Very many thanks
Madhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've now gone up to Sunnymead twice, and will happily return year after year. As others have mentioned, the food is simply outstanding! Madhavi and her dogs (and cat) are great company; there's wonderful birding to be done sitting on the verandah, there's endless books on offer, and you're a good 3 km short of town, so you really do escape the madness of Shimla. There are a bunch of nice walks -- although some require a short drive. And the cottage has been wonderfully, lovingly renovated. Just a great place to catch your breath!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Vasant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.7 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 123 in Shimla
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Sandhya Hotel Hot Spring Therme & Spa
0.1 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.8 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 123 in Shimla
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnymead Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnymead Estate

Address: | Below the Cart Rd, Near the Old MLA Headquarters and Hotel Blossom, Shimla 171004, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Shimla
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnymead, Shimla is an exquisitely restored home with a spectacular garden. Located on the edge of the Reserve Forest. It is conveniently situated both to explore Shimla and its surrounds, as well as just relax and do nothing...Located just off the Cart Road, Sunnymead is the first private house as you drive up from the plains. Parking is available at the level of the road, either in our private parking bay or else in one of our garages. A short walk down a mountain path leads to the house. The road is not motorable till the front door. We are not a hotel, but offer short term rentals for like-minded people who would like to live in an old family home. Short stays may be customised on request. The food offered is both Indian and European, served in exquisite collectible china with old, beautifully maintained silverware. Distances from Sunnymead: Sunnymead to Railway Station - 1.2 km, Sunnymead to Victory Tunnel - 1.8 km, Sunnymead to local bus stand on Cart Road - 2.2 km, Sunnymead to lift (for the Mall) - 3.1 km,Sunnymead to Boileauganj (local market) - 1.2 km. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing