We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience in hospitality i ever had in hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The best experience in hospitality i ever had in hotels.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were 3 families on holiday to Shimla and our travel agent selected Oberoi cecil for us.
We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. From the moment we entered the hotel till we said good bye, we can only say the best moments we ever had in hotels. The entire staff was highly co operative and service was excellent beyond our imagination. The food also was good. The temperature controlled swimming pool was another good thing to mention. Over all this is a best property in Shimla.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sparing your time and posting your encouraging reviews of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The indoor heated pool of our hotel is generally liked by most of our guests and it is a pleasure to note that you also enjoyed the pool.
We are also pleased to inform you that we have been awarded as First runners up in Best
Heritage hotel (India) category by Travel+Leisure.
Regards
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    238
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
500
638
58
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

From the moment we arrived and were told that our room had been upgraded, our 2 night stay was a joy. After a very long and not very comfortable train ride to Shimla (the views outweighed this though) we were so happy with the warm welcome and the friendly staff. Our room, with views across Shimla, was delightful. The bed and the pillows were probably the most comfortable I have had in a hotel for a very long time. We decided to unwind before dinner by using the pool and jacuzzi which were spotlessly clean. The jacuzzi was lovely and hot, the pool was a little too cool for my liking, but still lovely to swim in. Dinner at the hotel was probbaly the best food we had tasted for all of our holiday. The staff could not do enough for us and were happy to oblige by making our curry milder for us !! The dining room at breakfast and dinner was spotless with beautiful table linen and cutlery. They were extremely helpful with money exchange and internet access. A really nice touch was that they posted our cards home to the UK and didn't charge us, and they were the only cards of all we sent that arrived to the recipients. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with views over the city. We were just off of the lobby which can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHGWiltshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sparing your time and posting your encouraging review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We provide complimentary postage service to our guests to avoid them any inconvenience and it is our pleasure to note that you appreciate our service.
We are also pleased to inform you that we have been awarded as First runners up in Best Heritage Hotel(India) category by Travel+Leisure.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent three nights at the Oberoi Cecil in March. From the moment we arrived and had our welcome drink in the beautiful atrium bar, our stay was extremely enjoyable. The staff were impeccably trained, nothing was too much trouble. They were all so polite and friendly. The food was very good, and we tried both the buffet and the a la carte menu. Again, staff were very helpful in advising about dishes. The public areas were very clean and comfortable, we loved the Burmese teak floors throughout and the thick carpets in the corridors kept the noise level of footfall down ! Our room was, sadly, one of the few without a "view" and the two twin beds could have been a little larger, as could the bathroom, but the room was again very clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay at the Cecil again.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a view. Remember to keep the windows shut though, as monkeys can be a nuisance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that most of the services and facilities met your expectations.
I have noted your comment on the room without a view and possibility of bigger twin size bed. We shall endeavor to provide you with an upgrade to higher category room offering beautiful views of the valley in your future visits to the hotel.
We are also pleased to inform you that we have been awarded as First runners up in Best Heritage Hotel(India) category by Travel+Leisure.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Cecil.

Regards
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We travelled to Shimla from Delhi taking a train to Kalka then the long journey up to Shimla. Some of our party found the 5 plus hours from Shimla too much but we loved the ever changing views and the overall experience. On arrival we saw the station master and coolie featured in the BBC film about the Shimla railway. Unfortunately, on the day we arrived there was a transport strike in Shimla so, instead of a car to the hotel, we had to walk. It wasn't far and with only hand luggage ( our suitcases had been taken by road from Dehi the night before) we managed the walk quite easily. We had a nice welcome at the hotel and were taken to our room through a pretty circuitous route which we learned over our three night stay. Our room, overlooking the rear of the hotel, was pretty big with a large bed and sitting area, two separate wardrobe areas (great, lots of spce, hangers and no bashing into each other when selecting what to wear) an okay, though not large, barthroom and very comfortable bed. Best of all, as we came to the last bit of the room tour, our greeter threw open the door to my dressing area and revealed our waiting luggage! We were asked not to leave the window open as there was a danger of monket intrusion. One of our party did leave a window open and a monkey came in and took two of the three oranges left in a bowl on the table. After shooing out the monkey and closing the window the monkey returned, knocked on the window and indicated that she would like the third orange! We believe that story - the source is impeccable. The restaurant is rather cold and austere - like the atrium in the main part of the hotel and the corridors it is wood panelled. It was sometimes difficult to be seated just as a couple - we did have to share once or twice but, as it was with members of our tour party, it was not too much of a hardship. Some of the tables for two are rather too close together or in a 'corridor' like area between the two main parts of the restaurant. Couples travelling on their own may find this a bit dounting - when we were there there was another larger party and we were advised to book and get to the restaruant early 'to avoid disappointment'. Dinner was either a buffet or table d'hote. We opted for table d'hote which was adequate but a bit confusing as there were several versions of the menu. Service was okay although not as good as some hotels on our trip and perhaps not as good as one might expect in a 'luxury' hotel. However, overall it was a great stay with friendly, welcoming, helpful staff and in a wonderful location - the views from our room were fantastic! It was a bit of a walk to the amin part of Shimla - wouldn't want to do it when it is very cold - some of our party walked there and back one evening so they could dine outside the hotel. Breakfast was standard buffet fare - eggs can be had scrambled, fried or omelette to order - a separate chef for each when we were there. Frying chef was unable to provide scrambled when 'scrambled' chef was absent from his post.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the forests and mountains rather than over the front. Avoid being around the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numberten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, Front Office Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your time to post review of our hotel on Trip Advisor
I regret that we were unable to meet your expectations in certain areas of service during your stay with us. We have taken note of your comment of chef unable to provide you with scrambled egg and have initiated corrective training process to address the issue.
We assure you of our sincere and continuous endeavor to delight all our guests.
We are also pleased to inform you that we have been awarded as First runners up in Best Heritage Hotel(India) category by Travel+Leisure.
We thank you for your time and your valuable feedback. This will assist us in improving our operations further
Regards,
Vivek Singta
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After a long train ride up to Shimla, it was great to be met by one of the hotel cars, which saved us a long walk and haggling with other taxi's. The hotel is in a fabulous location, and the views from our room were to die for especially the night time views and sunsets. Everything about the hotel was faultless, every detail had been thought of. The staff were excellent and very discrete and attentive at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth499501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your encouraging review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is motivating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour of India for three nights. The hotel is extremely memorable (for all the right reasons!) because of the beauty of the property and the attentiveness of the staff.

The good points of the hotel are:

1. Security (bags scanned as you enter).
2. Beautiful reception and communal areas.
3. The food is absolutely superb and a wide choice was on offer. Having breakfast in the beautiful dining room is a definite treat.
5. The staff are attentive whilst being genuinely friendly.
6. The beds were extremely comfortable.
7. The swimming pool and jacuzzi are lovely.

Other points worth noting:

1. The hotel is near a chemist so if you suffer from "Delhi belly" you are but a quick stroll to the pharmacist. (I am not implying that cleanliness is an issue at this hotel - "Delhi belly" is just something which so many visitors to India encounter.)
2. Take care not to leave your bedroom window open - apparently, monkeys can be an issue.

Overall, a heavenly place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnEastCoastTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your encouraging review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here for three nights as part of an organised tour. All the hotels we stayed in were five star but this was defintely the best. The hotel itself is superb and the service at breakfast and dinner as well as the bar was fantastic.

The decor of the hotel was all exceptional with lots of dark wood which all looked very classy and the bar area was great to hang out in with lots of room and very relaxed.

The swimming pool (which is inside as Shimla is much cooler given its location) was great and had a jacuzzi and gym area also.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Cecil, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your encouraging review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi are features most appreciated by our guests. I am pleased that you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks and regards,

Srikant Peri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,071 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 112 in Shimla
491 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 112 in Shimla
799 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 112 in Shimla
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing