We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Subtle Elegance, Grand Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Subtle Elegance, Grand Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

You see the imposing structure of the hotel even as you drive into Shimla. Seems like a matron standing out amongst the array of buildings on the hills. That's Grand Style. The interiors are subtly elegant, classy and reminiscent of the British Raj days. Excellent service and very courteous staff and most importantly not obtrusive. Food was particularly good at the restaurant within the hotel. Kids have fun with a well organized activity center. Don't miss the swimming pool, the only one in this region that has it's water warmed! Enjoy the good walks to the Mall. A strong recommendation to stay in this hotel while at Shimla.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room, a tad costlier but no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgmoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us as our guests. The Oberoi Cecil, with its 129 year history, indeed reminds all our guests of the rich heritage and takes them back in time whilst offering the comforts of a modern hotel. I am happy to read that you and the family were able to enjoy the hotel facilities. Thank you for your recommendation.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    234
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
457
616
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had stayed here with my husband and two year old. We had a very nice experience. The staff goes out of the way to make you fell comfortable and help you with everything! The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very nice and the chef actually came and offered to make anything special for our child. The play room for the kids is also worth checking out! Though a litlle far off from the mall, but so worth it. Will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn00pytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your patronage and recommendation. I am pleased to read that you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. Guest with families are extremely important to us and over the years we have strived towards creating experiences and customizing our facilities in a manner that suits their needs. I will share your kind words with our Chef's. The team and I look forward to having you with us again.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradfield St. George, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A smallish but wonderfully friendly hotel with a young staff who go out of their way to be of service and help. Although it seemed an older hotel nevertheless it was very comfortable and we felt very much at home there. We had a pleasant room and from some you could see the snow covered mountains in the distance. Unlike many other hotels in India there was a no tipping rule to individuals but a gratuity could be left with reception on check out should you wish. We thought the facilities were very good with a delightful indoor pool and Jacuzzi, steam room and fitness room all as part of the complimentary service. During our stay we used room service and the dining room both of which were of a high standard. One of the chef's was often in the dining room to speak to guests
The hotel was within easy walking distance of the town but the hotel would quickly arrange a taxi should you need one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Shimla. The Oberoi Cecil is a Grand Heritage hotel with over 129 years of rich history. We strive to give all our guests a memorable experience with personalized and unobtrusive service. I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy the hotel facilities and the meal experience was to your liking.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A wonderful hotel. I didn't want to leave. Beautiful wood panel interiors - the hotel is a destination in itself. Lovely food and excellent service. The staff are extremely attentive and protective of their guests without being obtrusive.

I rarely leave reviews, but the staff of the Cecil are exceptional. For example, when I tore my clothing on a stray nail, the offending chair in my room was instantly replaced, with apologies, and my trousers were returned to me the next day, invisibly mended overnight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMG192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for making an exception and writing a review on your stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the team was available to take care of your requests and needs. We do hope to have you as our guests again in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed there for our honeymoon. Along with Wildflower Hall (An Oberoi Resort) in Mashobra, Simla, we stayed in Cecil for 4 nights.

Wonderful is not the word. Large rooms for a hill resort, awesome wooden atrium, Grand Piano, Friendly Saree Clad Oberoi Infectious smile Staff, Indoor Pool, Overlooking the beautiful Valley and the Toy Train Narrow Gauge line passing just below the hotel.

We loved each and every part of our stay there..


Once an Oberoi Fan , as always an Oberoi Fan....

Love and Prayers

Sandra and Me


P.S - Did not have an option to fill in an earlier date of travel hence filled in the earliest available date as per the site... We visited in the month of April....

Room Tip: Higher Rooms, Valley Facing...Awesomeness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitRajBeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as guests and celebrating such a wonderful occasion with us. Thank you for your words of appreciation. We look forward to having you at The Oberoi Cecil again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrissur, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I actually wrote a review for The Wildflower hotel, Oberoi under the Oberoi Cecil review by mistake earlier.
If you're looking for a good hotel around the city then The Cecil is the place to stay. With reliable Oberoi brand you can't go wrong. I stayed here three years back and found the place to be good for exploring the town. It's at the end of the mall road where vehicular traffic isn't allowed just past the hotel. Rooms are fairly large and well appointed with good sized, clean rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasir74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have experienced both our hotels in Shimla, The Oberoi Cecil and Wildflower Hall in Mashobra. Our location is indeed very central and is in the heart of Colonial Shimla. Taking a walk either side of the hotel is like having a glimpse into the past and into the rich history of this town. I thank you for your patronage.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in! Room, service, food and facilities - all perfect! The staff were all so polite and attentive. The spa was extremely well appointed and the treatment first class. Stayed three nights, but wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: A room at the front, although next to the road, would give you a view of the Himalyas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myfi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Oberoi Cecil. I have shared your feedback with our spa team, for whom it has been a great source of motivation.

Warm regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing