We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great charming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great charming stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is my second stay here and I have enjoyed each time. The staff is amazing and I appreciated the chef remembered my diet restrictions or housekeep saw that I needed screen cleaner for my laptop and supplied it just becaue. Any place with real wood floors is tops in my book as well giving a charm to the hotel that is missing of others.

In my opinion, what really makes the staff stand out from others is how they handle situations when things do not go perfectly. For some reason, checkout at this property is a loooooong process. It is easy to check-in but not so quick for checkout. I was visibly annoyed because I needed to get down the mountain, but one of the employees noticed my annoyance and quickly diffused the situation.

I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA2world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and thank you for your continued patronage. I am happy to note that the team was able to serve you well. Thank you for your constructive feedback on the check out process. I shall surely address the same with the team make an improvement. The team and I look forward to your continued visits.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    235
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
468
627
56
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Oberoi Cecil from the 17th t0 19th of August 2014. Firstly, we got extremely we got a room to stay here even though we booked last minute! The staff of the hotel is brilliant. The restaurant staff, housekeeping staff, front office staff, valets everybody made us feel like VIP's. They are always smiling and always ready to help. I would like to mention Mr. Naunihal and Mr.Aleem here who made our stay even more wonderful. We were upgraded to the Valley view room on our 2nd night which gives a beautiful view of the valley. The rooms and very comfortably done up. I would recommend to use the Spa in the evening and enjoy a drink in the lobby bar and order in room service for dinner. The breakfast is sumptuous. Overall I would recommend a definite stay for everybody visiting Shimla.

Room Tip: Get the Valley view room, dont leave your room without shutting your windows and doors or your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kan2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a our pleasure to have you as guests at The Oberoi Cecil. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. Your kind words towards our team, which is our biggest strength are appreciated. I shall be happy to pass on your compliments to Naunihal and Aleem at the Front Desk. We do look forward to your company in the near future.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My colleagues and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Oberoi Cecil as part of a weekend trip from Delhi. Having travelled to Shimla via the Toy Train in the morning, we were greeted at the station by the hotel driver and driven the short distance to the hotel. The hotel is elegant and it is hard not to appreciate the colonial style of the building and interior. The rooms were large and luxurious (I had a corner room) and the leisure and spa facilities excellent. People went out their way to be helpful and the whole experience just left us feeling relaxed and full of praise for the hotel - thank you to Arpit and his team. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Corner and central rooms seemed to be the larger rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful comments about the hotel and our team. We look forward to haveing you with us again for a longer period soonn. There is much to look in Shimla and the areas around that I am sure would bring you back.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely hotel, staff even lovelier, went with my grandaughter and was made to feel very welcome! They even gave us a birthday cake and present for birthday! Lovely warm pool!! Lovely break, felt very spoilt

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to share your beautiful experience at The Oberoi Cecil in highly appreciable words. We were equally delighted to have you as our guests and look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Oberoi Cecil, Shimla is one of its kind and probably the best in Shimla.
Stayed there on a business trip... everything there was perfect. Courteous staff, good food, gr8 location, nicely done rooms, gym, heated pool... everything you will need in a hill station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to have you with us on your recent business trip to Shimla. The Oberoi Cecil located in the heart of town is an ideal place to be when one has to explore Shimla for work or leisure. I am happy to read that you took some time out to enjoy the facilities of the hotel. We do look forward to your next trip.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla is truly truly an outstanding luxury hotel in Shimla. Stayed at this fabulous property with my family during the weekend and certainly it was just an amazing experience. The property is equipped with just about everything, right from dinning options and recreational facilities to business equipments and medical services. I had booked my stay through travelguru, so i managed grab a good deal as well. And that made my stay absolutely worthwhile.

Room Tip: the luxury room is definitely the perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this heartfelt review of the experience of your stay at The Oberoi Cecil.

The Oberoi Cecil is a luxury hotel situated at an astonishing elevation in the heart of colonial part of Shimla town. I am most delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations and that you have taken back fond memories of your stay with us. We pride ourselves in creating bespoke experiences for our guests and in ensuring their every need is met.

I thank you for highlighting the various facilities and amenities of the resort and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Offering views of the Himalayas, rooms are equipped with satellite TV, DVD player and tea/coffee-making facilities. En suite bathroom comes with a shower. Some rooms come with a private balcony overlooking the Cedar Garden or Chaura Maidan. Food is excellent.......doing justice to all international cuisines ! Our father is capable of only restrictive walking, so wheelchair was provided through out our stay, with ever helpful staff! Celebrating my husband's 50th birthday made it a momentous occasion at an awesome place!

Room Tip: If u can, please go for the premier double rooms with balcony! There are only 2 per floor so let you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achala66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberoicecilshimla, General Manager at The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you and the family stay with us. The Oberoi Cecil owing to its central location offers a wonderful opportunity to explore nature and the beautiful town of Shimla. The rooms and the hotel facilities have been carefully designed keeping the needs of traveler's into consideration. Thank you for appreciating the team's efforts.

Warm Regards
Arpit Pant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimla
5.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#4 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla

Property: The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Address: Advanced Study Road, Shimla 171004, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shimla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#1 Business Hotel in Shimla
#1 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Shimla, the gateway to the majestic Himalayas. Downtown Hotel with Colonial styling, 1 km from Shimla Station & 22 km from Jubalhatti-Shimla Airport. The Hotel is situated at the quite end of the famous Mall and is an ideal base from which to discover the unique beauty of the spectacular Himalayan ranges, Cedar forests and ancient monasteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Cecil - Shimla Hotel Shimla
Oberoi Shimla
Shimla Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing