We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We explored this hotel after having a sad experience at Hotel Rajdoot. The front office manager Mr Bhupesh was very helpful and in spite of a heavy rush due to tourist season and Shimla festival, he accomodated us. ..A wonderful place to stay, good location, very good and helpful staff indeed... The restaurant and food was really nice. ..Definitely a place for relaxing with family...Tariff slightly on the higher side but definitely worth it.
I would indeed recommend Cedar Grand to everyone.

Room Tip: The view of valley is better from the 3rd and 4th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arindam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cedar Grand !!

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to read that you have carried back fond memories of Cedar Grand and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Team Cedar Grand is delighted with your praise and recognition and all the staff, especially Mr.Bhupesh, joins me in thanking you for your gracious comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Namrata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

well located and good service.... breakfast spread can be better. rooms should provide a electronic safe deposit box inside ... rest of the stay was pleasant .... room service very quick and efficient . would recommednd to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank svac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest!!!

Greetings!!!

Thank you for the precious moments removed from your busy schedule to post a review for us. Team Cedar Grand is happy to know that you appreciated our services and amenities and your stay was comfortable.

I would like to let you know that we are already installing electronic safes in our new rooms which are shortly going to be showcased to the guests.

Our food and the spread is quite appreciated by our guests. However we have noted your feedback and will surely make the rights effort in the mentioned key area.

Thank you for patronizing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Namrata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I visited by May 26th. The hotel and the room which we got is simply superb.
I would recomend this hotel for couples and for family.

The dining place place was excellant at night, but unfortunately we missed to take snap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Muthu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "The Cedar Grand"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the The Cedar Grand .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.
If you could email us your postal address we will surely send you a picture of the night view from the restaurant, which you missed out on, as a souvenir from us to you.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at The Cedar Grand in the near future.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Namrata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel property is good. Rooms are large, comfortable with good view. However looking at the location (which is about 2-3 KM from the Lift) the hotel is overpriced. They do provide free shuttle to lift but that is only between 9 AM to 4 PM, that too only one-way from hotel to lift. It is difficult to get a transport back to hotel at night(especially when you are tired from walking and shopping the entire day on mall road above).
On the other hand the bus stand and railways station is near by. We didn't eat at the hotel so don't know about the food as there were lot of options available outside. But looking at their room service menu, it seem to be good but again overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the cart road which will give good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohit14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest!!!

Greetings!!!

Thank you for the precious moments removed from your busy schedule to post a review for us. Team Cedar Grand is happy to know that you appreciated our services and amenities and your stay was comfortable.

However I am a bit surprised to read that you found the distance from the hotel to the Core Mall Road of 2 to 3 Kms where in actuality it is 800 meters only. I would like to state here as the Mall Road is a no traffic zone and one has to walk up there to enjoy the beauty of this beautiful town. We provide the shuttle service for dropping as we understand walking up the hill can be more tiresome than walking back downhill.

Thank you once again for patronizing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Namrata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in The Cedar Grand, Shimla with my wife and son on 24th to 25th May 2014.
The staff is very courteous and food quality good. Rooms are neatly decorated. I used Gym facility, which is compact but useful.

Room Tip: Try to get the room booked in advance as on-the-spot room rates is costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sukhdeep s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest!!!

Greetings from "The Cedar Grand"!!!

We are overwhelmed and delighted with your praise and recognition of the The Cedar Grand .Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It encourages us and means a lot . Thank You. I am glad that you appreciated the services and amenities extended to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming your friends and family too at The Cedar Grand in the summers.Thank you once again for being such a wonderful guest and it was indeed a pleasure to be your hosts.

Warm regards,
Namrata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Rooms are bit expensive. But so are rest of places. But value for money once you have a look at 4-5 hotels. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hot water is not available 24 hours. there was ongoing repair work in the hotel that wasn't so pleasant. we reached early morning and were able to bargain the room rent.

Room Tip: Check for repair work etc. And do bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arpit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest!!!

Greetings!!!

Thank you for the precious moments removed from your busy schedule to post a review for us. Team Cedar Grand is happy to know that you appreciated our services and amenities and your stay was comfortable.

My heartfelt apologies that there was certain discomfort caused to you due to the ongoing renovation work at the hotel. We are upgrading the hotel and putting in our best efforts to give the best of services and amenities to our guests. We do take utmost care to do our work during the hours the guests are out for their sightseeing and finish it by the time they come back to their rooms to rest.

Once again our sincere apologies for the same.

Thank you for patronizing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Namrata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hello,
The overall experience for my recent visit to Hotel Cedar grand,Shimla was really very good and I would surely recommend this hotel.
The food here was excellent and the hotel staff was very helpful and commited all the time.
The valley view from hotel was superb and all rooms have a view.
Rooms were clean, bedding was good and all the required amenities were well placed.
The spa was very exotic and worth a try.

My special thanks to Namrata madam for the great hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali4asgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarGrand-Hotel, General Manager at The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from " The Cedar Grand!!!!"

Thank you for your heartfelt review. I am deeply humbled by your gracious comments.I thank you for your comments on our various services and amenities. Team Cedar Grand is very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could add warmth to your beautiful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel and once again thank you for being such a wonderful guest.

Stay Blessed and Warm regards,
Namrata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 123 in Shimla
516 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#20 of 123 in Shimla
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#27 of 123 in Shimla
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
2 mi away
The Rock Castle
The Rock Castle
#23 of 123 in Shimla
67 reviews
1.2 mi away
East Bourne Resort & Spa
East Bourne Resort & Spa
#35 of 123 in Shimla
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Cart Road, Near Winter Field, Shimla 171003, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: £37 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Grand-Hotel and Spa is a drive in hotel situated in the heart of City.The Hotel has an inventory of 31 rooms out of which 30 Rooms are sun and valley facing giving a spectacular view of the Cedar Forests.The rooms have been newly renovated with new ultra look and all the modern amenities to give a comfortable stay to its guests.The Core Mall road is just at a distance of 800 meters with the guests being given a drop facility to the Tourism lift connecting up to the Mall Road.The hotel has its own free parking space,restaurant,bar,spa and a spacious terrace to complete your holiday plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cedar Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing