We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from Shimla”
Review of Asia The Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asia The Dawn
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Far from Shimla”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is an Ancient Piece & very far from Shimla in Taradevi. Food is good. Not all rooms are good the New Wing is Good & Renovated. We had booked this hotel as a good package was offered. The service initially was extremely slow.Then but obvious the fight was on.
Also the location is good as some rooms face the valley. Those are too good.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHTARAPORE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

To travel about Shimla, Asia The Dawn is a good idea. The rooms are quite spacious, the bathrooms are clean and the food served is delicious. It is not far from the main city and one can go on impromptu treks behind the hotel.

If you're going with a few friends on a budget, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This must be one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in! the hotel website is very misleading.
Dirty room and bathroom, stayed here for 3 long nights and room was not serviced. Very cold room and hard bed. Piped music which could be heard loudly in the room from 7 am until 11pm (website is right about that!). The website boasts games room with "billiards and table tennis" nothing of the sort, there is a room but when we entered there were two dirty mattresses with one person asleep. It aslo boasts terrace with valley view that's also a joke.
this was a real disappointment and spoilt our visit to Shimla.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank montywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shimla hotels

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I availed my "Take a break " through Heritage Holidays I hade visited Shimla in the month of July.11 along with my friend. The stay was comfortable enough.. The Hotel is situated at a calm place in the shivalik Hills. Our room has a very good view of the hills and the shimla town. The lights of the shimla town give amazing view in the night. Recommend this hotel for tourists, who want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the crowded shimla town. The food was good but very costly. I will suggest that try to avoid the use of hotel restaurant. The over all stay was good.

Thanks,

Sandeep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeepthakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel is NOT worthy the four stars it claims:
- smelly mattress
- dirty floor carpeting (smeared, sticky)
- dirty walls and overall facilities
- no towels in one room, no toilet paper in two others. When the towel came, it was full of holes and had ingrained black traces, looked like old mould.
- the boasted "pool table and table tennis" are falling to bits.
Overall, the place as a whole has not been maintained to it's standard for many years.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Pierre_Bergerac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

i have stay here with my group nd the hotel what shows on the website is lower than in real. the rooms was'nt cleaned. the service is so dull. Only one thing i want to say about this hotel is they just want to earn money instead of giving services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy-786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I had gone to shimla after 10 long years and it was great to stay at this hotel as it is neither situtated in crowdwd Shimla and nor too far away from it.It takes just 10 minutes to reach shimla from this hotel and this is the best thing about this hotel.

The hotel is decently built with good value for money and a nice rrom service.The rooms are spacious and are quite comfortable for 2 adukts and 2 children.The rooms also offer a breathtaking view of Shimla which lpooks awesome in the night.The food is also of good quality and rates arer also ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
14.2 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sandhya Hot Spring Health Care
2.0 mi away
Ashiana Clarks Inn
Ashiana Clarks Inn
#51 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#86 of 111 in Shimla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia The Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia The Dawn

Property: Asia The Dawn
Address: Kalka Shimla Highway, Shimla 171010, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asia The Dawn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asia The Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia The Dawn Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing