We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to walk a lot !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You have to drive down a narrow road downhill to get to the hotel, for those not used to driving in the hills, this can be a bit troublesome!

The hotel has multiple levels as it is built on a hill and for each level you need to take stairs or take a lift (the lifts are quite small)..,so it can be a challenge if you have old folks or children with you. We were allocated lower level rooms, we requested for a change since we had a child with us....we were promptly accommodated to the rooms on the main level.

Walk from the hotel to the mall road is abt a km but it is a very steep walk...they do have a shuttle service to take you to the nearest mall entry.

Now coming to the hotel, it is a brilliant little hotel tucked away in a corner, the rooms are good overlooking the valley...decent sized and absolutely nice and clean. We didn't venture out to the mall much so mostly had food at the hotel...food was surprisingly good and the kitchen took extra care of us by doing special requests for our 2 years old !!

The deck overlooking the valley is a bliss...it was my most fav part of the hotel.

The staff as you would expect from a Raddisson is immaculate, took really good care of us...inspire of them being fully booked due to a conference....they paid individual attention.

I would recommend the hotel...if you intention is to have a quite relaxed break...but if your intention is to explore the mall, then a closer option would be much more suited.

Room Tip: Take the upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NitinAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

A nice and well maintained property in a good location with a very friendly staff. My room was in the third wing and the views from there were very good. All my requests were promptly attended to. The food was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Suvarna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed there over the Id weekend in July 2014. Other than a couple of people the entire staff seemed to be avoiding connecting and reaching out to the customers to make them feel at home. Restaurant experience was particularly bad. We ordered two separate dishes one evening and they brought two identical dishes and game some absolutely arbitrary explanation as to why they are same! One dish was ordered boneless and brought with bone. Upon asking the server explained that it helps the chef to hold the chicken piece to the grill! Seriously?! No chance we are going back there any time in near future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Dheeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rooms : Very good Food : Not so good Kid's Activities : Not so good Pool : Open hence not useful mostly in Shimla Staff Responsoveness : Not that great people don't even get back at times. Too many trainees around, some staff even were poor in english and comprehension it was difficult to make them understand our requirements We also Stayed at Marina & Oberoi cecil during this visit and both score higher than radisson as per our experiences

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Sameer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Me and my wife went to shimla in Dec 2013. we hired a car from Chandigarh to Shimla and onwards tour to Manali as well. The car we hired was from a local shimla person (name "Kaku") who had an very good knowledge of the locations and places to go around. His contact no. is +91-9816912221. He was a very decent person and was very cooperative. He had guided us through out our 3 days stay at Shimla. I strongly recommend to hire him for your Himachal Pradesh tour as they offer a very good competitive rates along with the vehicle of your choice at a nominal rates. Kaku is an excellent driver and would make take you to the right places so that one does not waste the precious time in finding for food, horses, hotels, markets etc. I would definitely use his services in future and strongly recommend to contact him for your next trip to Shimla.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shimla1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel provides fro some great views from rooms and terrace. Staff at front desk was really good particularly the one who attended us ( Ms. Arzoo )..The rooms certainly need upgrade in terms of furnishing...The food quality was just over average...but service was good...hotel charges Rs.150 for drop and Rs.550 for pick up for mid way to mall road and for the distance of just 1/2 a km...which I feel is very unreasonable for such a small distance...But would i like to come again...maybe yes for not too many options in shimla..

Room Tip: higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeshvermadlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Radisson for a night . This is the best property in Shimla. The staff is helpful. The rooms are spacious with the best amenities. Special Mention to Kanika in reservations who upgraded our room to a suite. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Shimla.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sambhav70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
1.4 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
0.8 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Willow Banks
Hotel Willow Banks
#18 of 123 in Shimla
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#16 of 123 in Shimla
289 reviews
2 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Shimla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Shimla

Address: Goodwood Estate | Lower Bharari, Shimla 171001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Shimla
#5 Luxury Hotel in Shimla
#5 Business Hotel in Shimla
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shimla
#9 Family Hotel in Shimla
Price Range: £81 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel Shimla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at an altitude of 2200meters above mean sea level, amidst Cedar forests the Radisson Jass hotel has 59 well-appointed suites and guest rooms overlooking magnificent mountains, beautiful valleys and dense pine forests. The finest resort in Shimla with a recreation area featuring among other leisure facilities, our resort has an all day dining restaurant with a selection of Continental, Oriental and Indian specialties opening into a garden that overlooks the magnificent mountain ranges and valleys, bar with an Open deck terrace offers gorgeous views as well as a choice selection of wines and spirits and Round the clock dining offering selection of Indian, Oriental and Continental cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Hotel Shimla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shimla
Shimla Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing