We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable to trip to Shimla; But not the hotel”
Review of Sunrise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Villa
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Shimla
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A memorable to trip to Shimla; But not the hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hi Guys,

Yesterday only i returned from Shimla (10/02/12). After reading the review in Trip adviser i choose Hotel Sunrise Villa for my honeymoon package.

I still amaze that how this hotel got 7th position in overall Shimla. On what basis this decided even i dont know, Last time when i visited Kerala i select the hotel based on Trip advisor rating only. But this time i think i made some mis-judgement.
First of all this is not a hotel, this a house changed to Hotel kind. We choose the Honeymoon site in the 3rd floor, as the name suggest, the hotel was located in the top of the hill (shoghi), u can see the sunrise. Room size was ample for a couple. But rest all is not that worth. There is no room heater facility, if you need the heater it ll cost you Rs.200/-.
Regarding the food, as it was included in our package, it was prepared by the owner's wife (with 1 additional guy), it was a home food. But if you thought of having variety of food with your own choice than this hotel was not the right one.
Next is your package travel to sight seeing, in hotel itself they provide the sight seeing package. For local ss & Kufri trip they are charge you around Rs.1800/- but this might be less in out side, Even they are not having the vehicles on their own, they are hiring the car from outsiders so they try to keep some margin.
In overall if you are not bother about your money, then pls dont choose this hotel as it is only for budget ppl.

Also in my return to Kalka, initially i planned in the Toy train as it took 6 hrs finally i decided to reach Kalka in Taxi. When i checked the Office Manager (Mr,Ankur) he charged me Rs.2000/- for a Indica but if check in outside they will charge you Rs.1800/- for Swift Dzire with some additional local SS. So pls check outside & choose the package.

My intention to write this comment is not to say fault about the hotel & facilities. But the feedback which is available in the net & the actual are completely different.

Pls think before you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd or 4th floor rooms as it will have the overall mountain & sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank makam2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review about Sunrise Villa Shimla.

We wish to clarify the points raised by you for the benefit of guests coming to Shimla

Sunrise Villa is managed by our family and three helpers, the same is approved by Department of Tourism, Government of Himachal Pradesh. We reside in the same Villa on the ground floor. We also have travel management Company " Sunrise Travels" which has additional staff.

Our rates, travel packages are all published on our websites with all details and sightseeing places covered and the type of vehicle provided. Hiring of taxi from us and meals are optional. We do not insist for this. All vehicles we provide are well maintained with drivers having complete knowledge of the area and cover all the sightseeing points provided and also act as a travel guide at the same time. The vehicles are provide for the full day, there is no time limit and you can use them as per your convenience.

We do not have our own vehicle but we take full ownership of the services provided and no guest has complained about this. Our services are worth the amount we charge for and we keep on fine tuning our services as per the feedback received from guests.

Room heater charges are extra @ Rs 100 per heater per night. You took two rooms and two heaters so we charged @ Rs 200 for two heaters.

We provide neat and clean homely hygienic buffet vegetarian meals only with the best available ingredients ( you can have a look in our kitchen) in our dinning room.

Breakfast usually has any one of the following in addition to bread / butter/ jam/ tea. Alu / onion / gobhi paratha with curd / pickle/ butter, alu poori, Chana Bhatura. This costs Rs 75 per person.

Dinner usually has 2 vegetables, 1 dal, rice, chapati / poori and pickle.This costs Rs 100 per person

On the return you took Tata Indigo vehicle for Rs 2200 which included Shimla Local sight seeing places like, Indian Institute of advance studies / army museum / Mall Road / ridge and dropping at Kalka Railway station. Ankur has quoted the same package for Rs 2000 for tata Indica car.

We always try to provide the maximum possible information to guest about our services at the time of bookings to make their trip a memorable one. All information provided on our website is also updated regularly.

Regards,
Munish Aggarwal
info@sunrisevilla.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    95
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
120
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Amazing place for stay you can go to Rohatang from here they will help you and they arrange Guide for you and the prices like 1000 or 2000 per day every thing available there in night you can go outside to visit the Market for buy such woolen things

Room Tip: Very good place for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 218Shivam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohali, India
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The stay was amazing. We liked the views from the room on the top floor and the large terrace. Food was also good but was served in the dining room. enjoyed the views and took lot of photographs.
Shimla city is a little far away but the city is highly crowded. We liked this quite place instead of Shimla. We did trekking to nearby Tara Devi temple. It took two hours but it is worth doing so. Do not forget to carry water along with you The trek starts next to sunrise villa

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickymohali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Visited Shimla during week of 26th Jan to 29th Jan. Sunrise villa offers very decent stay with good hospitality and very good food. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Owner's famly, Munish and Shalini made very extremely helpful and made our stay very comfortable. This place is 13Kms from Shimla and is actually very welcome break from they city. True to its name - morning sun reaches your room and freshes you up ......

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor offer good view and sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vijay_kBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Thanks for your review about our villa. You had booked the accommodation through travel agent, it was a pleasant surprise to see that we were past colleagues in VSNL Mumbai. Thanks for appreciating our services. You have given the right room tip, all rooms on the higher floors have independent private balconies with panoramic views of the valley and are east facing. You can enjoy sunrise from the distant Himalayas from all the rooms. There is no lift in our villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We liked the place a lot. A decent and affordable stay. View was great and kids had a great time though it was freezing cold in our room on the 4th floor. Food was simple, tasty and hygienic.
Do not expect hotel like service and housekeeping as they are a bit relaxed about it. If you want a change of towels or any cleaning to be done, you will have to ask for it. Loved the place though and would like to stay there again. Mr Mukesh, the car driver attached to the Villa was well informed and a great tour guide. Thanks Mr Munish Agarwal!

Room Tip: The view from the 4th floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha_dechu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thanks for your review. Regarding room service and house keeping, we have limited room service. Food is normally served in the dining room on the ground floor. Change of towels and cleaning is done for guests who leave the keys and instructions with us while going outside or whenever requested by the guests.. As such we provide best possible facility / service required by the guests as per their convenience.
Looking forward for your next visit to Sunrise Villa Shimla.
regards,
Munish Aggarwal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had the most peaceful and hospitable stay with excellent home cooked vegetarian food. Mr Munish Agarwal, his family and his team ( Ranjit and Narayan) went out of the way to make us comfortable. The driver (Ishwar) was very accommodating and informative. This homestay is located away from the bustle of Shimla but near enough to visit, by car or local bus. There is plenty of opportunity to walk in the hills around and the scenery is stunning. For the train buff you can see the tracks from some rooms and with a keen eye you can see the trains passing. You can take a half an hour walk to Shoghi station and sit and watch the trains too. The rooms are large and clean, heaters can be provided in winter. We strongly recommend this place for a blissful holiday

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your review. Happy to read about your comfortable stay at Sunrise Villa Shimla and found our service to your satisfaction.
regards,
Munish Aggarwal
info@sunrisevilla.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed in Sunrise villa in December 2011. We shortlisted this place after reading various reviews on the internet, mainly tripadvsor. We found this place better than what we imagined by reading all this stuff. We had our own vehicle and reached sunrise villa as guided by the owners with ease. The parking was inside the premises so I didn’t had to worry about the same this time.

We found this place quite and picturesque, that what we wanted away from the city noise. The room was neat and clean having a big balcony facing towards the valley. The room allotted to us was on the fourth floor (no lift), which had sloping wooden roof and a huge terrace outside. We spent hours in the morning enjoying the sun and sunrise on this terrace.

Food was good but simple and we got the same prepared according to our taste (We are Jains and do not use onions and garlic). The owners also allowed us to prepare food for our child in their Kitchen. The staff was helpful and helped us in all our requirements with a smile. As we went there to take a break and relax, we didn’t go our much, just a half day visit to Shimla during our four day stay. There is parking problem in Shimla city and one has to walk a lot to see the mall road and ridge.

This was my third visit to Shimla. If we compare facilities like quality of room, food quality,
cleanliness and location this place is far better and cheaper than the hotels I stayed earlier in Shimla. The only drawback is this place is 13 kms before Shimla (this does not apply to me as I was searching a place away from the crowd this time).

Overall our experience was good and satisfying.

Room Tip: Choose room on the fourth floor as it has a big terrace and a high level of privacy. There are two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise_Villa, Owner at Sunrise Villa, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for your review and appreciating the home made food cooked for you as per your liking. Our staff also took note of your kitchen tips while you assisted them in the kitchen. Do visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
5.3 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 112 in Shimla
864 reviews
8.1 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#24 of 112 in Shimla
338 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel CK International
Hotel CK International
#17 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#83 of 112 in Shimla
301 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sandhya Hot Spring Health Care
4.5 mi away
Hotel Silverine
Hotel Silverine
#8 of 112 in Shimla
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villa

Property: Sunrise Villa
Address: Anandpur Road | Near rail under bridge, Shoghi, Shimla 171219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Shimla
#7 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Sunrise Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a good hotel / resort stay in Shimla, visit Sunrise Villa, a mini resort for affordable, economical, homely yet luxurious stay in Shimla in the lap of nature away from the congested city. Facilities include: drive-in-parking, lush green lawns, fruit trees, flower beds, peaceful surroundings with neat and clean environment and rooms, home-made hygienically prepared buffet vegetarian meals served across the dining table in the dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Villa Hotel Shimla
Sunrise Hotel Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing