We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One word- Awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Navin1971
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
“One word- Awesome!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Awesome place! Awesome views ! Awesome hospitality ! Awesome value ! The housekeeper set up a bon fire for us both nights and it was such a blast. The silence is something one needs to hear ( Ironic , I know ) . Raja the owner is connected and wants guests to have a good time and that's Awesome service ! Would certainly go back and soon ! And of course Awesome Cook ! If you aren't going here you are missing the closest experience to heaven :-) Enjoy all of you who go there. And remember whoever goes there ....Am envying you...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Service and Value
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Indeed kind of you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation at the cottage. Come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1136
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Truly Tranquil absolutely mesmerizing”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Let me start right from beginning-

Booking- hassle free with trip advisor
Host- Raja Sharma, the best host I have ever seen, he made sure right from delhi till the midnight we reached his place that we are on right track and all our needs will be met. As we checked- in late due to unforeseen circumstances Mr. Sharma extended his hospitality by offering us stay for one day extra without any charges, it was truly a great gesture by him.
Attendants- Naushad what a character he is always smiling, ever running, making sure that each and every need of the guest is taken care of. Aunty ji the best cook I have came across truly wonderful food I think the best in HP.
Stay- Comfortable bedrooms with neat and clean, equipped with everything which one might require, old world style decor, inviting bed, and most of all truly breathtaking view from all three rooms.
we either had bon fire or bar-b-que every night we stayed there.
it was so much fun for children as well as they had lot of board games to play, and were getting food as per their liking.
We are so happy that we chose this place, 100% going to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you for your visit, it was wonderful to have you at the cottage,we look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujith86
Kottayam, India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“shimla manali”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 couples and planned to stay only one night in shimla towards our journey to manali,but this place was awesome,its about 25km from shimla.its one of the best places i ever stayed in my whole life, awesome climate cool privacy , scenin beauty and much more.raja was very helpful in all matters getting there and booking was so easy, i booked through trip advisor.Dhanshad and noushad and the ladyji who made tasty paranthas in the morning were excellent in their service. after having heavy breakfast and heavy dinner with homely taste and feeling we were surprised with the homely cheap bill for the food.oh i never eat tat much for less price from anywhere,must visit again and if u plan then plan for atleast 4 days. thanks raja , dhanshad, noushad and madamji and also trip advisor. the only thing to be noted thats nothing to do with the cottage but the local taxi union, i had hired taxi from delhi and the local union people stopped us and they asked for money as per their union rules. we were so pissed off with that experience and watch out for that.since we were hurry and we didnt had time the driver paid 700 rs to the local taxi union and they let us go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Hi Sujith, Thank you so much for your kind words about our cottage and its staff. We are sorry about the incident with the local taxi union. On reading your review we took up the matter with the Secretary of the Union, who apologized, as he was away and some boys played mischief in his absence. He asked me to convey his apologies for any inconvenience to the guests and gas made arrangements to refund the full amount directly to the guests - Sujith.
We hope such an occurrence will not happen again!
Warm regards, Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RohitSh45...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
“One of the best places to relax”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have been to hills many many times over the years and can vouch for the fact that this is one of the best places I have stayed in. Infact it has now happened to me 2 years in a row that I have stayed in fantastic properties and have cut short my trips because after staying in properties like Tranquility in Himalaya you really dont feel like spending time anywhere else. The property is small, well located, easily accessible, good staff (2 care takers to tend to every need) and has a fantastic view. Lastly it is very very economical. The rooms were good although the upkeep could have been slightly better but overall no complaints. I wish I could have stayed longer but time did not permit. The owner Mr. Raja is a damn nice person and will add even more joy to your stay if you happen to meet him. Can simply say one thing, I am going to visit back many times over the course of next few years. One suggestion for all, the route via kufri is better than Chail especially if you are travelling with young kids. It will take approximately the same time but the roads are much better via Shimla & Kufri.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Value for money deal
Liked least: The upkeep of furniture and cutlery. Could be better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you and we look forward to your next visit. Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoaTripCh...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility, indeed!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in this beautiful house perched on the edge of a mountain in June 2013. What a lovely experience! Away from the madding crowds of Shimla, it was a true vacation. We have already recommended this to our friends in Delhi. Raja and Aarti deserve all the business they can get but we hope it doesn't get overbooked because we plan to come back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rakesh2
Mohali, India
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Raja Sharma is a extremely good host so is the team deployed to look after your comfort. Veena, the magic cook and Naushad, the wonder boy will produce anything you wish and delight to eat. They arranged a wonderful barbeques for us during the evenings and not to mention endless cups of tea and coffees. The surroundings are beautiful and calm, so are people in neighborhood. After being so well feed, you are forced to walk and during our morning and evening walks, people love to talk and kind to offer help. One such taxi operator arranged a taxi, for our return journey uphill after a five KM downhill walk. There was so much to engage people of all age groups, games for kids, good collection of books for literary hungry, and clean and calm environment for mid age to walk around. Would certainly come back once again. Overall experience is like a home away from home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you ever so much and we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aditya K
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Himachal”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this place twice: In 2012 and June 2014.

Many places claim to be "Tranquil", but this place really is.

It has unspeakably beautiful views of the valley. The staff and the chef are really friendly and great folks to chat up with. Moreover it is situated around quaint villages giving one a old-world feel.

I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you very much Aditya, we look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing