We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be happier.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
74 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TimJ2380
1 review
“Couldn't be happier.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Me and a group of 4 friends stayed here for 5 days earlier this year. We had originally planned to stay only 2 days but extended our stay when we discovered how spectacular it is. We were recommended this place by a friend who has also stayed in multiple occasions.

Overall we couldn't have been happier. Great food, superb survice and friendly and helpful staff made this the highlight of our stay in India. The views are spectacular (even better than the profile photos) and we were really able to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of India. The rooms and bathrooms were extremely clean and we ate the best food of our whole trip (the staff are more than happy to help prepare meals whenever they are asked). 100% recommend this place to anyone looking for a place near shimla.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind words, maybe see you there again on another biking expedition!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doclisa
Ballarat, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No Tranquility”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I am an artist from Australia. We stayed with a group who told us this was in Shimla. I looked it up and the owners also claim it to be Shimla. It is a $50 aud ++ trip to Shimla. It is an isolated building site. The house is not finished. The entire time we have been ehre they have hammered and banged, filled the house with dust, and made everything filthy.
There is no transport here. The only TV that works with cable is in the main lounge room, where the caretaker hangs out all day watching indian movies.
We had to leave for 4 days to get some peace. The owners came and entered my room, moving things and leaving a dead smelly refrigorator in my room. which leaked smelly water everywhere. I have had to hand wash every thing as it stinks. My bathroom, toilet etc has not been cleaned the whole time I am here. The only saving grace of this dirty place is aunties cooking which is wonderful. But if she is away then we get maggie noodles. I am leaving early. I think the owners should refund part of the rent or cover the costs assocated with the days we spent away due to the noise of their building site. Dont stay here.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: aunites cooking
Liked least: it is a building site not a home as advertised
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Hi Lisa,
Carpe Diem, an artist workshop company,approached us to hire our cottage for a 21 day workshop. At no point did we indicate to them that the cottage was located in Shimla, as they were clear that they wanted to conduct the workshop away from the hustle and bustle of the city in a rural setting with magnificent mountain views. Surely this must have been conveyed to you by them, as we had no direct contact.Further, the programme manager from Carpe Diem,Ms Unika Prusty, a fellow resident with you, was to arrange all meals and other hospitality services. We have just spoke to her, and she confirms that no issues regarding meals or cleanliness were raised with her during the 21 day workshop. While there was a small amount of construction activity, it was stopped as soon as Ms Prusty indicated it was disturbing the guests. This was for one and a half days in your 21 day stay. Cable TV is available and functionning in all the rooms. All guests are welcome to choose the channel of their choice. It has always been our endeavour to provide our guests a wonderful mountain experience as can be seen from the other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prajan201...
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True and humble”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The stay along with my wife and extended family was marvellous. My wife has already described everything about our stay. But I want also to share one very important incident my wife lost her bag containing cash, debit and credit cards, pan card and two mobile cell in Kufri on 26th Dec. we lost all the hopes in getting back the bag. To our surprise we got a call from Mr. Babu ram a horse rider from Kufri on 10th Jan informing that he has got my bag. As I am from Pune it was very difficult for me to get in touch with babu ram. At this difficult moment the owner of Transquility Mr. Raja Sharma came forward to help us without thinking for a moment. He and his care taker Mr. Naushad traced Baburam and found my bag. Through this review I would like to thank Baburam, Mr. Raja and Naushad from the bottom of my heart. Baburam had not touched a single penny from the bag. Where will you find such people in today's world? Next time I would like to visit Shimla just to meet these three proud Indians.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
It is indeed very kind of you. We only felt that it was our duty yto restore to you what you had taken for lost. We look forward to your visit to our cottage once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preeta201...
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth Million Times”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I along with my husband and relatives stayed there from 25th Dec to 27th Dec. The stay was very good. The place is homely and clean. You never feel that you are away from your own house. The caretaker Mr. Naushad is down to earth and very polite. Ever ready to help you out no matter what. The food cooked in the house itself is far better than what we eat in a star hotel. The lady cook, serves the food with a smile which is the best part of it.
I dont have words for The owner "Mr.Raja Sharma". He is truly the captain of the ship. He keeps guiding you every time right from the moment you reach Shimla till you go back. He helps you in showing the way, the shortcuts, and personally sees that we reach the destination safely without facing any problems.
I will truly recommend many people to visit this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you so much Manoj for your kind words. Hope to see you there again, maybe in summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navin1971
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
“One word- Awesome!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Awesome place! Awesome views ! Awesome hospitality ! Awesome value ! The housekeeper set up a bon fire for us both nights and it was such a blast. The silence is something one needs to hear ( Ironic , I know ) . Raja the owner is connected and wants guests to have a good time and that's Awesome service ! Would certainly go back and soon ! And of course Awesome Cook ! If you aren't going here you are missing the closest experience to heaven :-) Enjoy all of you who go there. And remember whoever goes there ....Am envying you...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Service and Value
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Indeed kind of you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation at the cottage. Come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1136
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Truly Tranquil absolutely mesmerizing”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Let me start right from beginning-

Booking- hassle free with trip advisor
Host- Raja Sharma, the best host I have ever seen, he made sure right from delhi till the midnight we reached his place that we are on right track and all our needs will be met. As we checked- in late due to unforeseen circumstances Mr. Sharma extended his hospitality by offering us stay for one day extra without any charges, it was truly a great gesture by him.
Attendants- Naushad what a character he is always smiling, ever running, making sure that each and every need of the guest is taken care of. Aunty ji the best cook I have came across truly wonderful food I think the best in HP.
Stay- Comfortable bedrooms with neat and clean, equipped with everything which one might require, old world style decor, inviting bed, and most of all truly breathtaking view from all three rooms.
we either had bon fire or bar-b-que every night we stayed there.
it was so much fun for children as well as they had lot of board games to play, and were getting food as per their liking.
We are so happy that we chose this place, 100% going to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you for your visit, it was wonderful to have you at the cottage,we look forward to your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sujith86
Kottayam, India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“shimla manali”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 couples and planned to stay only one night in shimla towards our journey to manali,but this place was awesome,its about 25km from shimla.its one of the best places i ever stayed in my whole life, awesome climate cool privacy , scenin beauty and much more.raja was very helpful in all matters getting there and booking was so easy, i booked through trip advisor.Dhanshad and noushad and the ladyji who made tasty paranthas in the morning were excellent in their service. after having heavy breakfast and heavy dinner with homely taste and feeling we were surprised with the homely cheap bill for the food.oh i never eat tat much for less price from anywhere,must visit again and if u plan then plan for atleast 4 days. thanks raja , dhanshad, noushad and madamji and also trip advisor. the only thing to be noted thats nothing to do with the cottage but the local taxi union, i had hired taxi from delhi and the local union people stopped us and they asked for money as per their union rules. we were so pissed off with that experience and watch out for that.since we were hurry and we didnt had time the driver paid 700 rs to the local taxi union and they let us go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Hi Sujith, Thank you so much for your kind words about our cottage and its staff. We are sorry about the incident with the local taxi union. On reading your review we took up the matter with the Secretary of the Union, who apologized, as he was away and some boys played mischief in his absence. He asked me to convey his apologies for any inconvenience to the guests and gas made arrangements to refund the full amount directly to the guests - Sujith.
We hope such an occurrence will not happen again!
Warm regards, Raja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing