We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Soulful experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
73 reviews
The Front of the Villa to admire the sunsets
The Living Room/ Dining area
Master Bedroom
View from the window
Another bedroom
Luxurious Full Bathroom
The All wooden staircase
Eastern view from cottage in March
Frontal view from windows
Sunset view from Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Shimla, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
binabhans...
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Soulful experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A group of friends chanced upon this serene , tranquil cottage in a Himalayan town near Shimla. . Situated on top of the hill, it commands a view of mountains and trees for as far as your eyes can see. The wooden cottage is warm, comfortable and cozy and one feels at home instantly. Interesting books , a game of corrom, to pass time, after one has spent enough time just looking at the breathtaking view and soaked in the clean air!! The bonus is Naushadji and Beenaji who pamper you with their service and the yummy North Indian food. The owner Aratiji was very helpful and answered all our queries to our satisfaction. We felt her hospitality even in her absence! A truly soulful experience!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thank you so very much. We enjoyed having this group of Mumbaikers stay in our mountain haven, you are just the kind of guests we would like to see more of.......... so please do come back every time you want to get away from it all, and breathe pure mountain air
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjari M
1 review
“It was a fab experience and justifies its name “Tranquility in Himalayas””
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We went to this place in early Feb with a family of 7, including my parents & toddler son, and it was a very nice experience. The house had a mix of heritage and rustic charm. Was very spacious, well-furnished and clean. Caretaker, Naushadji, and cook, Beenaji, were both very helpful and accommodative. We only had a day there so didn’t go out much. We did venture out for walks nearby, which offered pretty nice views especially that we were there after a day of heavy snowfall. There are largely uninterrupted views of valley & mountains from the property and at far end you can probably catch glimpse of Himalayas as well. The dog of the house always accompanied us whenever we stepped out, which was very cute and also gave some protection from the monkeys!

The place is secluded and, generally, not much to do closeby. But it is very easy and scenic place to spend some quality time with family or friends. There was collection of board games, books, TV etc to keep us indulged when inside the house. Places like Kufri are not too far by car, so also a good stay option if you don’t mind driving to Kufri for more touristy activities and looking for a more beautiful and tranquil surroundings for stay.

If you are planning a visit during peak winter months then beware of snowfall disrupting your travel schedule. We had to stay an extra night in Shimla because roads from Shimla to Shilon Bagh were blocked due to snow. The owner, Arati ji, was very helpful and accommodating in helping with taxi operator contacts and staying in touch as our plans had to change due to snowfall. We heard that there are alternate routes to reach the place and snowfall is less problematic if you are coming from further down(kalka or Chandigarh) rather than from Shimla, though didn’t get a chance to test that. If planning part of journey by toy train (which is what we did), getting off at Kandaghat instead of Shimla would save you couple of hours, though you would miss on the views from toy train for that part.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Amazing views and tasty food.
Liked least: That we couldn't spend more time there..
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for your visit. So glad that you enjoyed your stay even though it had to be cut short due to the weather. Hope to see you again when you visit India next. Kind regards, Arati
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanchaygo...
Ludhiana, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable home like vacation with an unbelievable view.”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

7 of us stayed at this cottage for 3 nights and 4 days. Aratiji even though unavailable, made sure we were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The caretaker Naushad made sure our rooms were cleaned, beds made and anything we needed on demand was available to us. Good food (indian veg/non veg only). The paneer, chicken, and other ingredients used were sealed, packed and freshly bought and of good quality. Utensils were clean and rooms / bathrooms were very hygienic. This is a home so everything is very basic but even so, the beds pillows and blankets were very comfortable. Heaters and geysers were always on and were good enough for the peak winters of Feb. The view from this cottage is unbelievable. The best sunset you can hope to see in shimla/kufri with an unobstructed valley view. Do not get scared seeing the approach as it can be a little misleading. There are a few stairs to climb with your luggage but naushad helped us. Two rooms on the first floor, and one room on the ground floor. We were a bit worried about the security but it was quite good. Bonfires at night were a lot of fun. WIld flower hall is 30 minutes away. Shimla 1 hour. Chail 30 minutes. Perfect getaway vacation for couples friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, hospitality
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Thank you for your visit Sanchay. Glad you all enjoyed yourselves, that is our biggest reward. Look forward to seeing you again with friends and family. Raja and Arati
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShivaliAr...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
“This place makes you enjoy what we have forgotten- the simple pleasures of life - Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed there for three nights in the month of January. We are two couples with four children in the range of 6 to 10 years. The place was enjoyed equally by kids and adults. Perfect location and setting, beautiful surroundings and luxurious stay. the rooms are neat, clean well appointed and most importantly, equipped to deal with the cold weather. The food was simple, home cooked and delicious. The cook is a very kind lady who works at a lightening speed with a smile on her face. While she is not cooking, she is busy playing hide and seek with the kiddos. We loved the biryanis (Chicken, mutton and veg), barbecue snacks for dinner and assorted paranthas, poha and upma for breakfast. The best part- hot and spicy maggi with extra green chillies!!!! (a must have). The caretaker Dilshad and another boy Shahrukh were no less- always ready to help and on their toes.

The best part about the place is the bonfire , barbecue and the clearest sky we have ever seen. One can easily identify all the constellations possible.

Overall it was a great experience and we would love to go back but for a longer stay this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your visit. We look forward to hosting you next time. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaibhav M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Place to stay and unwind”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was one of my best vacations. What made it extremely memorable is this nice cottage, cozy rooms, clean and hygienic bathroom, awesome home made food that you want. Not to forget the host (our cook and the caretaker) they did every possible thing one could think of to make us comfortable and happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Thanks Vaibhav for your visit and your kind words. You guys were very kind and considerate guests and you all are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkz
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven came down to Shimla..!!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When I did the booking, I had that fear in me howz it gona be. Is it gona be anything like what i see in the pics. But trust me the surprise was that the place looks even beautiful than what it is seen in the pics.. A spectacualr place to spend time with family. Free from the rushes of Shimla, but at the same time very close to shimla. After the whole day of sightseeing in shimla and near by towns, the BBQ at the cottage kept us awake till the dawn. Good and friendly service. Clean rooms and a very sweet owner who guided us on how we can make our stay at Shimla the best. I am happy atleast for Shimla I don't have to search for another holiday deal..!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Hi Varkey, thanks so much for your visit and your kind words. We look forward to your next visit. Apologies again for not having a place in Mussoorie for your feb holiday, but do come back to us whenever you are Shimla side!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anil M
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Tranquility truly lives up to its name. Far from the madding crowd, a home in the hills, picture windows all around and surrounded by complete green mountains.
The place us rustic and has absolutely stunning views. The staff goes out of the way to please you and make you feel at home. Great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your visit, also for doing Diwali puja in the home. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;