We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but pleasant”
Review of Hotel Classic

Hotel Classic
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Classic
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've already stayed twice at this hotel, which is reasonably priced by (the high) Shimla standards. I paid 940 Rps. The room is small, but confortable. The TV has BBC World which has disappeared at most places in India. Of course, you can see hundreds of customers have passed through those rooms already.
It is a bit away from the center at a quiet place. You can walk to the railway station and also down to the new ISBT (coming up from the ISBT is another matter).

Room Tip: There are rooms at different prices, but the difference is not obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is nice small family hotel, very clean, with a very nice welcome and hospitality, breakfast is simple but very good. location is far from the noise of the downtown . it is very quiet but very close to the town center .
on the way to Viceral Lodge (up on the hill) a very beautiful place looking like Scottish manors (Tudor )to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAILHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Yes we were tired after a long day from Delhi, and yes we were still finding our feet in India but the beds were hard, the pillows harder still and the sheets, towels and bedding were not as clean as they should be. I write with a little reservation because I have little to compare it to, but I do think that the price should be lower or the rooms a little cleaner. I don't want a tv or a kettle etc, just good, honest comfort

The chap was friendly enough and to be fair and honest, Shimla disappointed us, so perhaps our view of this place was a little biased. On the other hand, had we loved the hotel, perhaps Shimla would have been a little more appealing

The nail in coffin for us was the noisy traffic late into the evening and the dogs that barked and howled until past 3am.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

we were very tired for the train journey and after getting off we were attacked by bunch of touts and their misleading information. we neglected them and went 500m uphill . the first hotel we got on the way to the mall. the location is great. after checking few rooms we took the rooms at downstairs. rooms were clean, view is awesome, bathrooms were reasonably clean too. but there is problem with monkeys. helpful manager helped us hiring a jeep for manali and other information. the hotel is close to dhaba, restaurants, shops and 15min walk. i would say this is a good budget hotel

Room Tip: rooms in the downstairs are cleaner, bigger and with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zombie_dhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The hotel is located between the city centre (the Mall) and train station. So, if you come by train and don`t want to take a taxi to get to the hotel, the location is fine (the Mall is several hundred meters uphill from the train station). The service was very nice, very helpful. The room was Ok, but for some reason it was very cold, much colder than outside (we travelled in October). A very nice view from the window:-)))

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ullake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We selected this hotel through the Lonely Planet travel guide to India. The location was very close to all amenities, such as the railway station and attractions. The staff, from the cleaning staff to the management, were very friendly and helpful, and assisted us with arrangements for tours. They provided us with lovely refreshments, especially tea. Suitable arrangements for our laundry were made, despite some inclement weather. There was a very good restaurant nearby which served Indian and Chinese cuisine. The hotel was truly like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Bothe deluxe and ordinary rooms are available depending upon budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niruDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Its and average hotel, located just where the mall road ends. So location wise it is good. If you are travelling with friends and want to saty near the mall, then you can stay here. But i will not recommend if anybody is coming with family. Its a budget hotel.

Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
4  Thank NehaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
Hotel Gulmarg Regency
#87 of 117 in Shimla
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 117 in Shimla
873 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 117 in Shimla
1,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 117 in Shimla
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 117 in Shimla
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Classic

Address: Shimla 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 117 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: £23 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing