We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”
Review of Hotel Silverine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Silverine
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect. We had 2 night and 3 day stay at this hotel (Feb7-Feb10). The food, room and hospitality was fantastic. We really enjoyed the stay there. As I was quite sketical about the toilets but when after seeing it I was very delighted. Hot water was available whenever needed. I really recoomend this hotel....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank araamudhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank You So much for taking time out and sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time here with us.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

I Recently Visited shimla and stayed in Silverine Hotel. Rooms are good, much much better with nice interiors. Food is good. Staff is good and polite but problem is People need to Climb steep road to reach mall road and staff needs to be more proactive and improve in the service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maheshbadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Customer,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

Thank you for taking some time to rate us and recomend us, we really appreciate your efforts and this give us immense pleasure to know that your experience with us was posotive one.

Hoping to serve you even better in your future visits to Shimla

Thanks and Regards

Hotel Silverine
Senior Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The hotel is said to be a 3-star, and was not cheap either (costed me Rs.2350 per night). Here is the list of issues faced in a one-night stay-

1. They didn't have the basic amenities like 'Hot Water' (I am not talking about 24 hour hot water here, they didn't even have it in the mornings! Gave stupid excuses for not being able to provide it) When asked for hot water, they delivered 'boiling hot water' in buckets. I have a small kid, and I can say that such boiling hot water could easily lead to a mishap.

2. They don't have any power backups either, which was hard to believe for a hotel of this price!

3. We couldn't sleep the entire night because there was so much noise coming from outside. There was some function in a house nearby, and they had loud music being played.

4. And the worst was still to come. They boast of a car parking as well (which is a rarity in Shimla). But it is such a steep and narrow road that you would feel lucky to come out of that hotel scarfree... Parking strip is so bad that its almost terrfiying.

5. Location is the worst part of all. If you wanted to go to the mall from that hotel (which is the main tourist attraction in shimla), you would really test your stamina. Its around 1 KM walk to the mall, but the worst part is again the steep climb from the hotel, which is very tiring for even a fit person.

Avoid this hotel at all costs, the best thing I did was to book it for one night only. Go for 'combermere' (luxury class) OR Cosmos (budget class)

Note- This hotel doesn't deserve to be in the top hotels of Shimla, I have to say that it seems they got bogus reviews written for them on tripadvisor, This hotel is a RECIPE FOR DISASTER!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashish-goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, General Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from all at Silverine!

First I would like to update you that we are not a 3 Star property we are a 3 Star Equivalent and are a mid-segment property. The tariff for the room that you booked which is a Deluxe room is INR 2300/- Plus 17.42% Taxes = INR 2700/- further the room that was provided to you was Executive Room which was a complimentary room upgrade from Hotel’s side the price for which is INR 3500/- Plus 17.42% Taxes = INR 4110/- and the tariff of our Hotel has not been increased since 29th March 2009.
We regret the inconvenience caused as per the issues mentioned kindly take note:
1. We have Solar Water Heating System of Capacity of 4000 Ltrs. Unfortunately we were sold out during your stay and the entire tank for hot water was consumed by the other client’s staying at the hotel, we understand at one point of time we were left with slightly heated water but then for heating 4000 ltrs of cold water of Shimla Temprature will take anything from 4 hrs to 6 hrs hence to avoid any further inconvenience water was provided to remaining few room guest’s in buckets and was boiling hot so that it can be mixed with cold water and used so that one bucket can serve the purpose of two. Further I you would have asked we would have provided additional empty bucket so that the water can be easily utilized without mishaps.
2. The Hotel’s having power back up’s in Shimla are of 4* Equivalent properties or higher categories,further the need for the same is not there as the power cuts are very rare and very brief in Shimla I belive during your stay as well the power cut was for hardly 5 minutes give or take a couple of minutes.
3. Regarding the function OUTSIDE the hotel it was a religious function a “Jaagran” and the music being played was “Bhajan” and “Kirtan” and religious songs which even the local authorities will not interrupt keeping in mind the religious sentiments of the public just for your information there is Hospital as well right opposite the hotel, even we were getting hard time sleeping but we sincerely apologize on behalf of our neighbours for keeping the “Jaagran” on exact same dates that you were staying in our Hotel.
4. We do have a car parking at the hotel and cars as big as Innova’s, Scorpio, for that matter Pajero and Outlander can also come to the hotel and we are the only hotel in The Mall Road area to have a parking of 10 to 15 cars, the road is steep we admit that infact if you would have inquired at the hotel before coming we would have updated you regarding the approach if you had come by a personal car we usually provide our drivers to get the cars to the Hotel parking as they are drive Innova’s daily on the same narrow stretch and if you had hired a taxi then I can’t imagine how a professional driver had an issue with the road as client’s and drivers get their cars to the hotel on daily basis. Further the entire 100mtr Approx. stretch is metalled.
5. As we come to The Mall road the 1st Commercial Building of The Mall Road is 100mtrs from our hotel and Mall Road itself is over 5 Kms in Length now how far you have to go on the Mall will define the distance of The Mall Road from the hotel for eg. CTO building on the other end of the Mall Road is Approx. 1.5 Kms from the Hotel, further as updated if you would have inquired about the approach to the hotel we would have updated you regarding the steep stretch of approx 100mtrs which separates the hotel from the mall road and considering hill stations like Shimla “Steep” is unavoidable and is something that we can’t do much about.

We do belive that our staff must have followed up with you regarding the stay which is a standard with us none of this was updated to us infact according to what you said at the hotel it was a nice stay further we don’t compare ourselves with any other property in Shimla be is budget or luxury we belive in providing services to the best of our category where in your case we already upgraded you where we could have denied the booking as it was last minute booking from an online company.

And regarding the bogus reviews we have had both good and bad reviews from all kinds of clients and in our industry we can’t satisfy everyone but I can vouch for the authenticity of the reviews because if you wan’t I can even get you the contact details of client’s who stayed with us and shared their feedbacks with us you can personally get in touch with the clients to check the authenticity of the same. The good ones are always appreciated, if there is genuine issue that was reported we take it quite seriously and ensure a similar issue is never repeated, honestly I don’t know what improvements we need to make from the above, guess it was just the timings were not quite right from your stay here.

Senior Management Team
Hotel Silverine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

really we are happy to say this we enjoyed the trip at silverine hotel services and good hospitality they treated us as a home guest we never felt as out siders if anybody to make a trip at himachal simla please choose silverin only i think this sesason people choosing silverine only. Those who are coming to Simla should prefer this hotel since their services are excellent and food here is also acceptable

Room Tip: yes food and service hosspitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramakrishna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Greetings!

Dear Sir / Ma’am,
Thank You for taking out your valuable time and posting a review for us. It is highly appreciate it.
We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive and to meet the needs of our guests.
We hope to see you soon and wish that you provide as another opportunity to be at your service.



Thanks & Regards,

Senior Management Team
Silverine,
Shimla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I recently visited Shimla (Apr'12) and stayed at Hotel Silverine, it's very conveniently located near the High Court and very approachable from the mall Road, takes you about a minute to walk up a very steep climb to the mall road, the Hotel also has a parking space for about 6-7 cars which is a luxury in Shimla, the staff is pretty welcoming and the service is also satisfactory, the food was also fine but the only drawback was the condition of the washroom, it had some leakages. But apart from that it was a pretty satisfying experince and overall a place that I shall recommend. Make sure you have a good driver, the approach to the Hotel is a very steep road so you need a good driver to handle the car.

Room Tip: Choose the Valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prashantkshatriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Greetings!

Dear Sir / Ma’am,
Thank You for taking out your valuable time and posting a review for us. It is highly appreciate it.
We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive and to meet the needs of our guests.
We hope to see you soon and wish that you provide as another opportunity to be at your service.



Thanks & Regards,

Senior Management Team
Silverine,
Shimla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Fine approach & good location with just adequate parking..(an advantage in Shimla).. Mall road & Ridge is just at walk-able distance. Spacious rooms, good ambiance, fine food & smiling staff members...make you feel more comfortable..

Room Tip: Do ask for West facing rooms...Serene nature would smile for you when you remove your window curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cytochrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Greetings!

Dear Sir / Ma’am,
Thank You for taking out your valuable time and posting a review for us. It is highly appreciate it.
We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive and to meet the needs of our guests.
We hope to see you soon and wish that you provide as another opportunity to be at your service.



Thanks & Regards,

Senior Management Team
Silverine,
Shimla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hotel out look is very simple. But rooms interior and cleaniness and service and food are really excellent. I was satisfied. Their service is more than what we paid.
Regards. Prem
Hotel out look is very simple. But rooms interior and cleaniness and service and food are really excellent. I was satisfied. Their service is more than what we paid.
Regards. Prem

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSilverine, Manager at Hotel Silverine, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Greetings!

Dear Sir / Ma’am,
Thank You for taking out your valuable time and posting a review for us. It is highly appreciate it.
We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive and to meet the needs of our guests.
We hope to see you soon and wish that you provide as another opportunity to be at your service.



Thanks & Regards,

Senior Management Team
Silverine,
Shimla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shimla hotels
0.8 mi away
Kapil Hotel
Kapil Hotel
#3 of 123 in Shimla
881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Snow Valley Resorts Shimla
0.2 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 123 in Shimla
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Toshali Royal View
Toshali Royal View
#27 of 123 in Shimla
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmount Shimla Forest Greens
0.1 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 123 in Shimla
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silverine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silverine

Address: Below Shimla Club | Near High Court, Shimla 171001, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Shimla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silverine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silverine is in the heart of Shimla which is the capital of Himachal Pradesh. We at Silverine try our level best to be proactive so as to be able to meet the needs of our guests and at the same time adding a touch of Himachal Pradesh. All the basic amenities and facilities are provided with a broad smile that’s present at all times to greet our guests. Hotel Silverine is rightly located on The Mall Road which is the creme de la creme of the city. The hotel is below the famous Shimla Club and very close to the Himachal Pradesh High Court, it is ideally placed and has scenic beauty surrounding it with every room facing the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Silverine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing