We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room”

Hotel Chandra Palace
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Chandra Palace
Ranked #65 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“clean room”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Not always easy to find a clean room. This one was good and just repainted. Bed was comfortable, clean sheet and a good TV.
The hotel is close to about what you need and a 20 to 30 roupies brings you to the train station. Most of the staff is ok. If you don't like one, wait for the other

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    17
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This  hotel was recommended by a rickshaw driver who we met as soon as we got of the bus (after a 19 hour journey from Goa). The driver (who has now turned into our guide) chose well for us (why is it that my first instinct is to distrust anyone new that I meet in India, when everyone I have met thus far is so friendly and genuine?). At 1000R during the Xmas period, this is a great find. Rooms are basic, with the usual basic amenities, and the shower does seem to spray in every direction, just not the one you want. What I like most about this place are the porters, I'm not sure what they do, or what they are there for, but being greeted by a toothless chap with a huge grin always made me happy. The rooms have cable (with National Geographic). And breakfast can be ordered to the room in the morning. The management are very friendly, and allowed us to leave are baggage during the day after we had checked out. Outside is fantastic, a zillion different shops: trailers, pan wahallas, pawn shops, food shops, pirate DVDs, indian coffee shops, a mega metropolis of everything! This is no star hotel, but I loved it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Hi I visited Mysore Frequently with my Wife but for the 1st time i made a visit with my 2 1/2 years old daughter.This is the 2 nd time i had stayed in this Hotel (Hotel Chandra Palace). Rooms are Clean, service is good but the problem is the Food ( no Restaurant) & Car Parking. Only Advantage is the Room Rent & it is in the middle of the City(Convinient Distance to all).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srn_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,186 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,070 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We found this hotel very abandoned and anonymus.
The rooms looked quite cleaned but old.
If you open the window you will see a wonderful wall in front of you, like a jail.
we found this hotel following the advise of the tuk-tuk driver.
they plan day trip to ooty but the bus are really bad, it stops hundreds times and it covers 160 km in 6 hours. better to check in some travel agencies. Too expensive for what they offer. They don't have internet wi fi but only an old computer. Mark from italy

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

On the face of it this place looks OK, but to bo honest it is tired and in need of a good scrub, the staff are friendly and helpful, but its the whole cleanliness issue that you see time and time again in India. There is no attention to detail.
All the rooms at the back of the building are facing a building site, a new high rise is being built that will when finished block out all natural daylight, the side windows by the stairs open enough for you to reach out and touch the building next door, the rooms at the front overlook the street, i hope you like the sound of bike and car horns all the time. If your on a budget and want a quick cheap stop, then this is the place, but there are better options for the price if you haggle the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceTcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parabiago, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we found this hotel following the advise of the tuk-tuk driver. The room was very basic but clean enough. No a/c (but it was not necessary: it was windy enough during the night) and the price was really low (500 Rs). There is also a table on the roof, if you want to enjoiy a breakfast from the top

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

we found this hotel by asking a rickshaw (tuk-tuk) driver! we didn't have any place booked and the city was very busy.

The guy took us there after we told him what we wanted as comfort, so he wouldn't take us to a local dump.

The Chandra Palace is not a "palace" but it was very nice, clean, A/C, friendly staff, good bed.

there wasn't a restaurant so beakfast was served in the room only (room-service), which we didn't do, as we like to go out and have breakfast with the locals in a regular "café"!

so we found a great restaurant just two minutes away, in an old cinema from the 30's !

so besides the restaurant problem, everything was fine and pleasant, not noisy, and a great view from the roof-top (free access, anytime !)

double room for about 15 euros, depending on the season!

  • Liked — access to the roof
  • Disliked — windows
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.6 mi away
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
#83 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sunshine
Hotel Sunshine
#50 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#53 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel SCVDS
#68 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
10 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royale Heritage
Hotel Royale Heritage
#41 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Yatrinivas Mysore
Hotel Mayura Yatrinivas Mysore
#71 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandra Palace

Property: Hotel Chandra Palace
Address: 150 Kalamma Temple Street, Mysuru (Mysore) 570002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing