We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good option”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Roopa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Roopa
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a good option”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is very close to bus stand, palace etc. but the room was not good. The hotel website is misguiding. They show photos of their best rooms and offer smelly rooms. (Had to change.!!). The cost is very low but there are other options available in mysore at similar cost.
The service boy acts as if he is donating (his services) to us. Also, the lady at the reception always carry a hostile look - not suitable for hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Go only for AC rooms. Else go for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    145
    93
    30
    25
See reviews for
177
102
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel is just 500 m from the bus stand. The rooms are very small. The non ac rooms have a stinking smell. The bed linen had stains to which I objected and then it was changed. The breakfast served here is good to taste.
The staff is not very cooperative.. but one cannot expect much in a budget hotel.
If you are going to this hotel, choose an ac room only, else look for another hotel.
On the websites, they show images of their best rooms against all categories of rooms. The basic rooms are actually are not good.

Room Tip: Go for ac rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacati0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

it was budget hotel, one can be comfortable in stayng there. rooms are clean. one can prefer this. thanx to the members of roopa for giving us such a comfortable stay.
food was good and reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Raj _
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had stayed in this hotel last week. They do not have single room hence stayed in double room.
The Hotel is centrally located and near to most of the tourist spots. They allocated an AC room where the AC and TV was not working and they immediately changed the room. The room is ok in size, toilet was good and hot water is available only till 11 am. There was a dampness odour in both the rooms and the bed sheets and towels were not that clean.
We had complimentary buffet breakfast and it was not to the mark and the management need to look into immediately and enhance the quality. The food rates as per the menu card provided in room is okay but did not order as had food outside due to business commitments.
Their room service was good and the check-in and check-out process was fast.
Roopa as per our friends was a good hotel earlier but now it requires lot of maintenance to the room and need to improve food quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel Roopa is at a very good location, very near to palace, bus stand and various other vegetarian restaurants. I booked a double room without AC only for a night while on transit via Mysore. Double bed is fine but the extra bed for my kids were actually a single bed and rooms are small and will nt be able to accomodate the double bed.

Infact the problem was not with the hotel but appears like cleartrip does not have proper process to validate the data provided by the hotel which has mislead me to a larger extent.
First of all I booked the hotel for 2 Adults and 2 kids. Roopa was one of the hotels on the list appeared in the search result. As per of the deal neither the cost for extra bed appeard while selecting the hotel nor was the complementary breakfast. This got revealed only after the payment. Even the voucher does not say about it. I was looking for a hotel which could provide the additional bed for two kids and breafast was never an option as I had already planned for Dasaprakash for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Srinath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellary, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed with family @ Roopa on 23rd of April while returning from Madikeri to Bellary via Mysore just for one night. Rooms are congested but clean. There is very less space to move around within the room, It was quite warm inside the room as I had taken a non AC room. The location of the hotel is very good. The government bus stand, The palace, city bus stop, Devaraj Urs road, Devaraja market are at walk able distance from this place. Hotel staff are quite obliging. The restaurant is good. We had the complementary break fast here and the taste was quite ok. Good hotel for very short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadduKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Good
Check in process was smooth and though i reached an hour before 12 pm, they checked me in.
Food in their restaurant was good (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Sanjeeva was very helpful and would address any need or concern in the best possible way.
Good central location. Close by to a lot of places of interest.

Bad
The room was very small. There's a mismatch in the picture advertised and the actual room (was informed by front staff that the picture is of AC room for the description of a deluxe non ac room). No upgrades or any form of compensation for the gross negligence on their part.
No notice to inform patrons to use fresh plates. Result, people take used plates for the complementary buffet breakfast, and i've seen some use their hands to pick items. Strongly recommend to go in by 7:30 and get out by 8 am if you want to have a good experience while having breakfast

Ugly
The rooms had lots of chips and dents. Poor quality towels. Torn bed spreads are standard.
Do not use their travels. They turn a deaf ear for any woes or complaints you may have, but, still want the full money.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SureshNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#31 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#13 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 mi away
NI Ambaari Suites
NI Ambaari Suites
#38 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#33 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roopa

Property: Hotel Roopa
Address: Bangalore Nilgiri Road | Opp. Woodlands Theatre, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roopa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roopa is a city lifestyle destination beyond compare. Mysorean hospitality begins to come alive the moment you enter the premises and you are made to feel at home instantly. Set in the heart of Mysore, a few minutes' walk from the Mysore Palace and just a short drive away from Mysore Railway Station, this established landmark encompasses a fully integrated business hotel with high luxurious spacious rooms and suites,paired with creative meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Roopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing