We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic, not bothered about guest's needs.”
Review of Hotel Roopa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roopa
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pathetic, not bothered about guest's needs.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Pathetic.... thats the only term that comes to my mind about this hotel. The food is very bad, there is nothing called service, the staffs are rude, they do not care about guest satisfaction. Let me elaborate.... Food - though the rates are quite high , the taste and portion size are pathetic. Cold rotis, tasteless curries actually spoilt the meal. Service - no staff... the manager answers - " sir, staff are busy in banquet party and the other restaurant , so sorry...." - great reply. Had to pick up tablewares from the side station myself. Reception staff - Champions - very rude. Asked for extra bed, what arrived is a some sort of a rag where the roadside beggars sleeps. That too with a extra charge of Rs 400. Though we cancelled it immediately, but was shocked to see that in the bill during during check out - therefore no coordination among the reception staff. It got deleted after a fair amount of argument. Staff openly ask for tips and strangely not satisfied with what is given, asking for more.... Only positive point is the rooms are good, AC effective , housekeeping cleaning good. But a hotel is a home away from home with a minimum courtesy towards customers, which is seriously lacking in this hotel.

Room Tip: Think twice before choosing this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joymaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    150
    95
    30
    26
See reviews for
182
106
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel Roopa is near the North Gate of the Mysore Palace and on the rooftop is the hotel's Lounge Bar named Infiniti. It's a large, nicely designed space that overlooks part of the Palace. They also have a bar along one of the sides and a cosy indoor space as well. We tried their tandoori chicken and Afghani tikkas with roomali rotis and they were all excellent. As it was a Sunday evening, the restaurant was packed to capacity. The service was slightly slow and waiters were trying very hard to oganise seating for the large groups; pulling chairs away from tables without asking and running around without any apparent direction. Having said that the food and ambience were good so if you have the time and are looking for a cool lounge in Mysore this is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fonci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rooms are quite small and borderline claustrophobic. Airconditioners are the window type from 20th century and not the split type. TV is a decade old CRT. Bathroom is clean but again, very confined.

Buffet breakfast is included and it is best avoided. Rock hard idlis, and bland curry, sambar chutney. Service during breakfast is non existent and chaotic. Limited parking available for a couple of cars infront of the hotel.

An average place for the price charged.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashwinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there for a night, the service was decent and breakfast was good, and the location of the hotel is very good, do not forget to try to roof top restaurant if you chose this hotel, its the best thing they have. The food is also good. i can call it value for money.

Room Tip: The location and the roof top restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szqb1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Checked into luxury A/C rooms in the Roopa on May 1st, 2014. 3 families, and wanted rooms in the same floor. Had to wait a bit, but that was arranged within an hour after checkout by another family.
Abt the rooms, it seemed like an old hotel, which was modified later just to meet the competition from the others (which were priced higher of course). The rooms had enough space for 2 single beds, and 2 couches, and a small table. The beds were ok, good ones. The couches were stained, and nobody bothered to clean that up, since it felt like they were there from ages and not the ones from the previous tenant. There was no cozy quilt that u could get into, that is usual in all A/C rooms outside. The one the other family got into, had a foul smell from the bathroom. Since we had 3 in our room, we got an extra bed(which was of course paid for), but we had very little space for that in the room. The bed was the usual ones that we get in hostels, and other places, and not the usual one in the room, could have been because of storage issues, but still that was nice and stiff.
Abt the food, we had lunch immediately after checkin. Even though, not a fan of normal veg meals available in the state, i felt the this was not close to wht i have had in bangalore at all. It was worse. The others had ordered some chicken and veg dishes, they too felt it was nothing close to good. Can give only a 2 out of 5 for the days lunch. Had a complimentary breakfast, but as usual, the buffet breakfast items kept getting over, and they were filled only late, and had to wait for a long time. There was idli, onion baji, dosa, kesari, and bread butter, and corn flakes. Expected something with egg too, but thats ok. The next days breakfast also was something similar, nothing changed, except the vada.
The receptionists were a confused lot, almost always. :) when we told them to extend the room booking by a day, the main guy there started talking as if they are all booked, but the other person confirmed the extension. was wondering, why so much confusion. wanted a few bottles of water at 10 in the night, and hence called up their room service. had to wait almost or more than half an hour to get the same. The security guards were very helpful though. Even though as a paid service (had to tip almost everybody), they were very helpful to get a parking spot in the otherwise congested lot, or with the details of the places to visit. And almost smiled at you everytime they saw u.
Overall, dint like the stay. would have preferred staying somewhere else esp since it was with family. Would never have bothered abt the details if the stay was with friends since all u bother is a room with a bed, and a fan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was very central which was great. Breakfast was super. We found the reception staff helpful too, would stay or visit again.The room was ok although bathroom was small.Would definitely come again. No complaints at all. Thank you.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anup R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It waz a pleasure stayng at Hotel Roopa on our trip to Bangalore-Mysore-Ooty.The rooms were clean and food was tasty. Dont miss the roof top restaurant as its the best place to binge on all kinds of menu. The GM of the hotel Mr.Anthony Gonsalves was kind enough to upgade our room and that added more comfort after a tiring day of sightseeing.

It was indeed a good decision to choose Roopa as it located right in the middle of the main market and the thus making it easy to access any place. Would recommend this property for sure to travellers who are looking for comfortable stay during their tour of South.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are nyc!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekta_A_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRoopaMysore, Team Head at Hotel Roopa, responded to this review, 27 June 2015
Namaste,

Greetings from Hotel Roopa!

We thank you for taking out valuable time from your schedule and sharing your feedback and opinions regarding your stay at Hotel Roopa, Mysore. Your feedback motives us and our staff who strive to ensure all our guests are comfortable, happy and satisfied!

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Roopa.

Thank You & Warm Regards
Adithya Nagaraj
Team Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,586 reviews
2.8 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#53 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Olive Residency
Olive Residency
#33 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#12 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#78 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roopa

Property: Hotel Roopa
Address: Bangalore Nilgiri Road | Opp. Woodlands Theatre, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roopa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roopa is a city lifestyle destination beyond compare. Mysorean hospitality begins to come alive the moment you enter the premises and you are made to feel at home instantly. Set in the heart of Mysore, a few minutes' walk from the Mysore Palace and just a short drive away from Mysore Railway Station, this established landmark encompasses a fully integrated business hotel with high luxurious spacious rooms and suites,paired with creative meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing