We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Vinayaka Mylari

Vinayaka Mylari
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Coorg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I hate this Mylari style Dosa...This place is too much hyped.

Than I hate Tamilnadu style Dosa... and also the way tamilians eat Dosa..

The above dasas are never comparable to other best Dosas i had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aakash-Ganapathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    125
    36
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty dosas. Appalling ambience”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Much has been written by reviewers about the tasty dosas and coffee and repetition is superfluous. However, what irked me was the sheer indifference of the owners to improve the place and rid it of its filthy ambience. The very good rating achieved by the food is drastically reduced by the squalid conditions around the joint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank taherhasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kickass Dosa”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A no nonsense place. 25 rs for the Dosa and 10 rs. for the filter coffee but the taste of both is priceless.I have spent most of my life in South India (Chennai+Blore) and have travelled to a lot of places and had Dosa and I can honestly tell you that the Dosa at Mylari is very unique in its taste and texture. There is a fluffiness that you normally associate with cakes more than Dosa and the masala is also not the yellow potato one. A great benne dosa.
Its a very basic hotel in terms of ambience but the dosa is sublime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinsamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taste is Unique!! Must Try when you visit Chamundi Hills/Mysore Zoo”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I went for dinner.They served Masala Dosa (Coated With Butter) alone.Taste is something that we would never come across in any restaurant.I felt like Bread Aroma Dosa... Location is not well poshed however you would never regret after eating the dosa.. Must try when you are in Mysore..If you go for breakfast, you will get a chance to taste idli along with dosa...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GayathriR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dont Miss”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

If you visit Mysore then mylari hotel should be compulsorily on your do list. The masala dosa is the best I have had anywhere in the world. Expect a small shop and a below par ambience. You visit here for the taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KishoreJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinayaka Mylari also viewed

Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District
 

Been to Vinayaka Mylari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing