We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowds & badly maintained road”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brindavan Garden

Brindavan Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Day Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Tour from Bangalore
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crowds & badly maintained road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Light display was lovely but water not chlorinated/cleaned so it smelled.Getting there is a pain through the small village roads full of potholes & thereafter you need to battle the crowds to get ticket as well as negotiate the roadside stalls everywhere.It actually detracts from what should be a peaceful enjoyment of an otherwise worthwhile Govt project

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank culturalsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    558
    479
    213
    150
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pale shadow of its former self”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited Brindavan Gardens on a weekday evening and were surprised to find that it was so crowded even on a weekday. I had visited these gardens as a child a couple of decades ago. At the time the fountains, lighting etc. were a novelty. I was disappointed this time. It appears that the gardens have not been maintained well. Lights went out a few times in various sections during the couple of hours we were there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssJayDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“way beyond the hay days 10.08.13”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I guess this garden used to be the high point of visit around mysore given the way it has been structured and constructed , maintained..however we were thoroughly disappointed in our visit.

long que to get in with ticket structure not making sense at all. You pay for the still camera as well, completely flummoxed at the irony of the situation where in people today can record a complete video using their cell phones, we are still charging for the still camera and video cameras :-)

Garden was decent but very very crowded, also the dancing fountain show was mediocre and the crowd management done by the cops with the limited resources available to them was pathetic, almost a lathicharge.

the worst part was actually the traffic jam leading out of the garden and the absolute failure of the mobile network.

harrowing experience..will never be repeated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iyer_Ganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

its a good location with the dam this garden is attached with the dam n its a great view for the tourist

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pop888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the Dancing Fountain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We expected much because of the high ratings that this attraction has gotten. This expectation was built up by the beautiful grounds and fountains and the jostling crowds that were our first experience of Brindavan. Then we saw the dancing fountain and wondered what all the excitement had been about.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrealizaressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brindavan Garden also viewed

 
Mysuru (Mysore), Karnataka
 

Been to Brindavan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing