We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and safe place to stay in Mysore”
Review of Urban Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, I stayed in the Urban Oasis Mahalla. It is very close to a big supermarket, room are clean, the accomodation is safe (there is a guard at the fron door), the reception staff was always helpful. I went to study yoga at the KPJAYI. This Urban Oasis is 15 min walk from the main shala but I think it is worth staying here as it is closer to facilities (restaurants and supermarket).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are maybe noisier
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Urban Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at Urban Oasis VV Mohalla for just under a month. Great location, 15 mins walk to Saraswathi's Shala and 10 mins walk to Sharath's. Loyal World supermarket is only 3 mins walk, restaurants on 6th Main and Kallidissa Road are within easy walking distance. We stayed in a Studio Appt on the 2nd floor (there is a good lift), kitchen has crockery, microwave and fridge, you need to ask for a gas stove and pressure cooker which i would advise. Cleaning is daily and they will do everything, including your washing up if you wish. The bathroom was a little lime scaled but clean. Towels are changed daily if you wish and bedlinen at least twice a week. There is a washing machine for residents free use, and a flat roof to dry clothes and sit out (we did not have a balcony). Breakfasts alternate between about 4 traditional Indian dishes, there are usually bananas and papaya and they will cook omelettes on request. This is not the cheapest place to stay however you don't have to do any housework and breakfast is included. The staff are all very friendly. The area was quiet at night and felt safe, other residents can be noisy ( there are notices advising them of quite time) a quick call to reception and they will deal with the noise for you. Room had air-conditioning and a fan and fast free WIFI internet. We booked direct with Urban Oasis no problem.
All in all i would recommend staying here the only reason for the 4 not 5 is the value for money, but that is all.

Room Tip: We had a studio on the second floor facing away from the main road, this helps with traffic noise (c...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherren_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This property is in a peaceful, residential neighborhood yet close to shops and restaurants. And it's a good place to stay if you're traveling as a family, either with kids or parents.

We traveled with parents and rented a two-bedroom two-bath unit, which worked out perfectly for us. The room was extremely clean and well-maintained and so is the rest of the property. There is parking available out front, and they serve a basic breakfast.

Among the negatives, the room's aircon didn't work but you really don't need it in Mysore weather, but might be an issue during summer for some people. And, the TV in the room was an ancient CRT, which took a lot of R&D to get it to work.

Overall, the positives outweigh the drawbacks and I'd definitely go there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajugyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Do not book this stay through expedia. There is a problem with the relationship between the hotel and expedia and you will be left with a charge by expedia on your credit card with an email confirmation, but with no room when you arrive

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The pros:
Great location and walking distance to a very good super market and the main road.
The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and has lots of natural light.
The staff keep the apartments very clean and pretty well maintained.
The staff are very helpful and service oriented.
Good WiFi connectivity.

The cons:
The sheets and towels are clean but dingy.
The bathrooms are tacky - the shower in the master bathroom did not really work.
The water heater is small and enough hot water was an issue through our stay. I had to collect it in a bucket to get enough.
There is a full kitchen but it only had crockery and an old microwave. I had to ask for a basic pot and a hot plate to heat something on ( of course they were very obliging).

All in all it is not a bad place but I would try another place on my next visit. We had asked for a studio room but were forced to take a 2 bedroom apartment simply because we changed our stay from 6 nights to 4 but within the same date range!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we stayed at urban oasis mysore vv mohalla on 8th nov &9th nov .it is very well maintained and about 5km from city centre.we got 2double bed room suite at a resonable rate.it is in a residential colony.we enjoyed our stay there.food was okay.we suggest to all families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandramouli59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Mine was a family trip (with kids). Stayed at the V V Mohalla property.

Positives
-----------
It is within a reasonable distance from the major attractions like the Palace, KRS, Ranganthitu Bird Sanctuary. The neighborhood is nice with many eateries, a few shopping avenues, greenery and a supermarket.

The staff were courteous, responsive and friendly. Service was prompt.

Priced reasonably. If you aren't looking for any in-house entertainment and would be spending most of your time visiting sights, this is pretty favorable.

Clean rooms

A small functional gym with a treadmill, spinner cycle and a multi-gym

Complimentary Breakfast

Negatives
-------------
No in-house activities or entertainment AT ALL. Would have been nice to have a video/book library or some indoor games

Complimentary Breakfast - The spread is thin, with toast and eggs-to-order making up the major part of it. Would be nice to have 2 or more main dishes.

A provision to shift the TV into the bedroom would be nice. Watching TV sitting on a sofa (while on vacation!) isn't very relaxing

Overall, a thumbs-up from me if you are only looking at it as a place to stay (not to spend time indoors during the day)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sai Dhananjayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.6 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#16 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#25 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#38 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Quorum
The Quorum
#11 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,630 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Oasis

Address: #2761 5'th Main Road | VV Mohalla, Mysuru (Mysore) 570002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £20 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Urban Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing