We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot of scope for improvement” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Inn
Ranked #82 of 137 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lot of scope for improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pros:
Just 0.5km to the Reserve forest gate.
Friendly staff

Cons:
Most of the things in the packages were not available
Food was not served on time, lunch was served by 2pm only
If you are late for food some of the items might get over, all the items don't come together
Food was not upto the mark, some were too spicy or salty.

The bad part is breakfast, lunch, dinner is included in package but if you want to avail all you will have to spend the whole day in resort only and there is nothing to do there.

Room Tip: This place is good for one night stay only, come before lunch, see the reserve forest in evening. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank som_gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    16
    13
    17
See reviews for
34
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Greetings,

I Was there with my family, the last weekend ( 9th Aug) and was pretty happy that i made a right choice by choosing this place as my weekend location to enjoy with my family. Awesome sight as soon as you enter the Inn, and the cottages are also neatly maintained. Food was good and the service was above expectations. Price was quite economical compared to other properties in the same vicinity. Jungle safari was cancelled due to bad weather and this has been the scenario for quite some days now, and so,i drove to iruppu falls which was magnificent ( Drive and the location, both were great). Saw couple of wild bison and a lot of deer and stags. As promised campfire was ready however Tribal dance did not happen. I would recommend to carry everything even Mineral water (I carried a 10 Ltr Bottle), because it will be very difficult for those people to arrange, as its in a midst of a forest and you have to travel a long way to get things. If you are a first time traveler to this location it will be difficult because there are very less indicators / sign boards.

Please do not keep the doors / Windows open - You will find lot of Insects inside your room. Don't blame the staff, if you do not follow the above instruction because its a Jungle and its the Home of insects and Animals and We are Guests

Thanks, Santosh.P

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santosh_ponath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Total team Size - 15
Date 10 and 11 Aug 13

Such a wonderful locality, very close to jungle but still management couldn't keep up the promise as made in the discussion,

Poor food quality no taste (extreme Salty) limited food were told us that we were late and everything got over.
afternoon when we were relaxing a gaurd comes and ask for liquor, so pathetic situation people only want money, material and liquor and nobody is interested in service though we had agreed and paid agreed amount. No Tribal dance, No Campfire , No Food as committed during discussion with Smitha.
Additionally ordered Snacks were pathetic and took 2 hours per plate with a reason saying that cook is drunk and not available for service.
Night also we were pestered for liquor by the gaurd. We were used only for milking and nobody including the supervisor ashok kumar had a courtesy to ask how are we feeling, and additionally we were mocked and reverted with harsh comments like we are late for food and no food available, No lemon , banana and sweets were served, and we were given an answer saying that as we were last team to take dinner.
finally when mr ashokkumar ensured that all payment are made though it was not deserved for the kind of service provided. all the staff demanded (kitchen, admin , security) tips and ensured that they obtained.

Finally though the nature and the place is absolutely amazing, Team's service make us to think and not even one of the team member would recomend this place for any further enquiry.

Room Tip: Do not even try this ???
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hi All, We stayed in Jungle Inn Resort in June 28th 2013.
I would like to bring your notice about few things for your reference, If you are looking stay in Jungle Inn resort, which has both Good/Bad points & few suggestions to the Resort owner/Mangers.
Good Things:
1. Cheap and best resort in Nagarhole which is hardly 1-2 kms away from Nagarahole Wild life entrance filled with Green.
2. Food is okay, not bad but not good either, as they have mentioned its a Typical Homely food.
3. Tent house concept is really good & the rooms are very clean & Hygienic, we had a good sleep, in our stay. suggest its better to carry Musquito refiller for your safety.
4. For 1 day stay, resort is good, not more than that, as its little boring due to less of activities.

Bad Things:
1. In Resort Website, they have mentioned that, they will offer, Some tribal dance and bonfire.
They have not provided any Bonfire, since except me & my husband, no body was there in the Resort, so after requesting they have put the firecamp & TRIBAL Dance will be arranged only if you are coming in large group say above 15 ppl. In case if the Resort will be filled with 20 ppl individually also this facility is not applicable unless you all together above 15.
2. Safari: They will tell you that the Safari timings @6, 7 8 am & 3,4, 5 pm, which they will take you to Nagarahole National park. Actually we thought we have to go in their vehicle only, which would be designed for Safari(Jeep Coverd with Mess) with all the Safety measures & they take us through Mud roads inside the Forest. so they have charged 2,400 for us(Myself & Husband). They have taken us through the Forest, only in the Thar Road & not that inside of the forest as i assumed & the Jeep also open not even covered. Rs.2400 is not at all worthy for that Safari, instead of that i will recommend you to take your own vehicle & directly approach the Forest Ranger office - this is 25KM from the entrance of the forest. as its a Regular Thar road, just need to take care of being calm, slow down your vehicle speed in order to not to irritate wild animals.
2. Food: They will provide only one Non-veg item in Lunch & Dinner, its better if they could provide 2 dry & 1 gravy item in Non Veg & few better options for Veg Starters along with Sambar, as i could only find Dal & Rasam in Lunch/Dinner which is not much satisfied. and its not sufficient, what they provide.
The package doesn't include, Morning Coffe/Tea, Evening Snacks or any arrival drinks, in case if you need, you need to inform in advancde & pay extra for that.
i would recommend, it would be good if they could add it in the package.
3. Hot Water: No hot water. We were waited nearly 2 hours for getting hot water, as they said we had to waste 2-3 buckets of water to get Hot water, but we were hesitated to waste water & even after we didnt get Hot water, finally had a bath in cold water since we were running short of time to travel further towards Madikeri. I would recommed Resort owner to take care of it, in order to satisfy Guests, as its one of most important thing.
4. Resort is only good for stay, the other activities mentioned in the website, you have to take care of it personaly i.e., Wild Safari, White river rafting, KushalnagarTiben camp visit.
My ratings for the Jungle Inn Resort will be 2.5/5..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raghavendra_1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Jungle Inn management owns two resorts on the way to Nagarhole forest.

1.) Jungle Inn Resort : This resort is located right on the fringes of the Nagarhole forest. It is around 20 kms after Hunsur town on the Hunsur - Murkal - Nagarhole road.

2.) Sundara Vana Farhouse : It is located about 6 kms after Hunsur town on the Hunsur - Murkal - Nagarhole road.

This review is about the Jungle Inn - Sundara Vana farmhouse near Hunsur town.

Booking :
-----------
We were a group of 9 people.So we booked the Sundara Vana farmhouse cottage with 8 beds.We did EFT of the entire amount prior to our trip.

Driving Directions :
------------------------
Bangalore to SUNDARA VANA is about 180 kms ( 4 - 4 ½ hours drive).You need to take a right after Shreerangapatna town and proceed on the Rangantithu – Hunsur road.From Hunsur it is 6 kms .Once you reach Hunsur town , take a left from the Old KSRTC Bus stand on the Hunsur –Nagarhole road.After about 6 kms from Hunsur town , look for the Sundaravana board on the right hand side of the road. The road leading up to the farmhouse is unpaved.

IMP : There are some boards on the main road showing directions towards the main JUNGLE INN resort that is 14 kms further towards the Nagarhole forest. Do not follow those directions or you may miss this small muddy road towards Sundaravana farmhouse.

About the Farmhouse :
-------------------------------------------
It is a budget resort nestled amongst the teak , mangoes , rosewood and papaya trees.

Rooms :
----------
The farmhouse has a few 2 bedded and 4 bedded rooms in one block and one 8 bedded cottage with two attached bathrooms on the second block. We were 9 people and had booked the 8 bedded cottage for a day.

Check In :
------------
We checked in at around 3 pm and straightway headed for lunch. Mr Aruna, the resort manager, briefed us about the activities offered in the resort and their timings. After lunch we freshened up a bit and headed towards the Nagarhole forest office for the jungle safari.

Food :
--------
1.)The breakfast menu had dosa,bread, omelet,bhaji,chutney and sambar.

2.)The lunch menu comprised of :- Potato capsicum curry,chicken curry,rice,roti,cabbage poriyal (South Indian cuisine),daal and curd.

3.)The dinner menu comprised of the following :- Chickpeas curry (Chana masala),chicken curry(different from the cuisine served during lunch),rice,roti,green moong daal,pappad and curd.

Safari :
---------
The resort conducts its own safari but only on the paved (asphalted) road that runs across the Nagarhole forest. The private vehicles are not allowed to venture away from the main road inside the forest. In case if you intend to go deep inside the forest then you will have to book the tickets for the government organized safari and board their vehicles.In case if you have your own vehicle(4 wheeler) , then you can drive all the way to the forest office gate which is around 35 kms from Sundaravana farmhouse, inside the forest. While driving up to the forest office gate , there are good chances of wildlife sightings on the road itself. We travelled in our tempo traveller (that we had hired to travel from Bangalore) to the safari commencement point and came across a variety of fauna on the main road. In fact a herd of elephants had blocked the road because of which we couldn't reach for the forest bus safari on time.So had to return to the farmhouse.

Activities :
-------------
1.)The resort organized a bonfire for a duration of 30 minutes. Note - Music systems and loud speakers are not allowed in the resort. Hence we spent our time playing antakshari.

2.)During dinner they ran a documentary video on the wildlife of Nagarhole forest.Some of us were wildlife enthusiats and they really liked it.But for others it was tad bit boring.

Advice :
-----------
1.)Sundara Vana farmhouse is kind of a no frills resort.At approx 1k INR per head per day , its a good deal for people looking for budget aaccomodation near Nagarhole forest.Location is peaceful and calm.The staff are helpful and courteous. Rooms and the bathrooms are clean clean too.

2.)There are frequent power cuts in the area. In fact that was the only downside during our stay in the resort. There was no power from 4 am till 6.30 am and some of us didn't get a good
night's sleep because of that. However at other time of the day, they provided power using generator and UPS during during power cuts.

3.)There are mosquitoes and other insects and therefore it is advisable to carry insect repellents.

Overall the trip for us was memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank subham3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Go to place for all in all bad experience. We actually liked n stayed at the tent house. Wakeup with n number of insect bites. At night its scary as we couple were all alone ..no othr guests. No good lightings. We planned for 2days n ran away with 1 night stay itself. Food was pathetic. No othr entertainmnt inside. Staff are ok, will give good response.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrschetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiranBangalore, Owner at Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
dear sir,we would like to thank you for the time taken by you to post a review.first of all i would like to mention here that we are not responsible for you to be the only guests staying with us at the time of your check in.if you wee so much interested to stay with a lot of crowd then you should have made it a point to ask the resort management if there were other guests at the date of your check in.secondly please do remember that this resort is located in a remote place with right next to wilderness and next to a national park(so please do not expect the same type of surroundings as in a city).we have taken care to provide insect proof mesh for the windows of all our tented cottages to prevent insects from entering the tent.it is for you to make sure that you make it a point to close your door and secure it properly every time you enter and leave the ten(and not blame the management for carelessness shown in this regard)t.food is a personal opinion and we always strive to make a healthy and clean meal albeit local south indian mysore menu.and as far as the lightings are concerned we have provided adequate lights both inside the tent and as well as on the sit out.this is not a conventional city resort with blaring bright lights in the night.we have tried to provide ample lighting given the nature of the surroundings which happens to be next to a forest.so please remember the next time you write a review make sure you read the website and also understand the type of a hotel or resort before making adverse comments about the same.lastly WE KINDLY WOULD LIKE TO REMIND YOU THAT OUR MANAGER GLADLY MADE A PROPOSITION OF SHOWING YOU THE STANDARD DOUBLE ROOM IN THE NEW BLOCK JUST IN CASE YOU WERE NOT SATISFIED WITH THE TENTED COTTAGE.AND YOU MADE THE CHOICE .SO PLEASE DO NOT BLAME THE MANAGEMENT ON THIS FRONT.NEXT TIME WE KINDLY REQUEST YOU NOT TO MAKE HURTFUL AND ADVERSE COMMENTS ABOUT A PROPERTY WITHOUT ANY PROPER CHANNEL OR BASE JUST FOR THE SAKE OF WRITING A REVIEW.THANK YOU.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

None of the activities mentioned as "We Offer" are available to the tourists. No entertainment, no TV, shortage of electricity, etc. When asked about the other activities, the manager had to say "Sorry Sir, we dont have any such here". In fact, the safari being "offered" is actually offered by the Forest Department.
Suggestion - directly approach the Forest Ranger office - this is 25KM from the entrance of the forest. The safaris are 1 hour at 6,7,8AM and 3,4,5PM. After the safari directly proceed towards Coorg or Mysore.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hariharan1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarzan60, Owner at Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
dear hariharan , i think you have not seen our web site , everything is clear , its clearly mentioned that we dont do safari at nagarahole , its only by the forest dept vehicle .
water sports are not available only becz there is no water whch we cant help .
activities whch are available at the moment are 1, safari into nagarahole national park ( dept vehicle )2, wildlife tour into nagarahole, waynad safari , trekking , visit to irpu water falls , whch is clearly told at the time of booking .
i strongly recommend you to see the website first and disscuss with the concern person while doing the bookings , that wl really help you in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mysuru (Mysore)
22.6 mi away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#2 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#10 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
32.4 mi away
The Kings Sanctuary
The Kings Sanctuary
#2 of 196 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Jal Mahal Resort & Spa
Pan Pacific Jal Mahal Resort & S...
#12 of 196 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mys...
#7 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay Simple Bison Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Inn

Property: Jungle Inn
Address: Veerana Hosahalli, Mysuru (Mysore) 0, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Inn is situated at Nagarhole National Park. It’s a wildlife resort. We offer adventure activities like safari, trekking, water rafting, rapelling, coracle ride, elephant ride, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing