We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Fern Residency

The Fern Residency
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Residency
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Mysore
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Far from the noise of the city yet reachable. I liked it because I never expected that much standard for a reasonable amount.

I would rate it 70-80% among other hotels in this city (Mysore) but the price is average so you can get a nice value proposition.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ashutosh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Nice place very unassuming exteriors nestled in a pure residential area of Mysore.Was looking forward to the pool as seen in the picture but nay...is forever repair.Good kannada cuisine food ,only veg that was a blessing.No hustle bustle as in a regular hotel ..very quite and peaceful.

Room Tip: Road side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemsri10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Fern Residency is currently undergoing change of management and will be known as Mango Suites. Maybe this explains the several issues affecting the place. Location of the hotel is OK if you have your own transport. Hotel seems well designed. Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and individual A/C's.

Service is poor. We returned to the room on the second day to find that none of our three rooms had been cleaned. Housekeeping said they had not been informed by reception that the rooms were occupied! Breakfast was just OK. Water pressure was poor in two of the three rooms we had with the shower being rendered useless. Swimming pool was undergoing renovation so could not be used. Hopefully the new management will sort things out.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schueyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Hotel design is awesome but that is as far as anything positive goes. The reception staff are not friendly and should rather get a tip from the Bell Boy. We only had breakfast and it had to be the worst. Bread was stale, coffee was terrible, cereals were in large bowls, not very hygenic!

The hotel is not very central to anything so once you there, entertain yourself!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumitra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

we travelled to mysore for short weekend, the place was clean and the surroundings were quiet. we are not sure of location of place as we hired a taxi from banglore. food was okay but it's a veggie restaurant. overall the place was good

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krysnarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Very Clean and good for the Price. The food was good as well. But mostly we ate outside as we were site seeing on our limited stay in Mysore. I would stay here on my next trip, just need to make sure to reserve more that a few days in Mysore. What a great city!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Cole25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottobrunn (Germany)
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

the fern residency offers western comfort at very reasonable price, if you don`t specifically look for a colonial style palace hotel (what is availble in Mysore either but at much higher price) then you should choose this one,
people are very nice and helpful, nice roof top swimming pool, rooms well equiped, bed is western comfortable (= medium soft and not the usual indian hard way !),
2 km distance to modern shopping area, ~ 7 km to city center with all the traditional buildings and sgopping,
to visit for sure Maharadschas and other palaces, Chamundi hill, .. .
to buy silk and pashmina, sandalwood, .. .


Mysore

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Braunleder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,612 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#17 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
395 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#62 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Residency

Property: The Fern Residency
Address: 116-118 3rd Cross, 6th Main | Jaya Lakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Fern Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing