We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, accommodation very basic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe
Ranked #11 of 153 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The breakfast was delicious and the lovely French owners are delightful. However the rooms and bathroom are very basic... hard beds, wardrobes with fronts peeling off, horrible plumbing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill123England94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2011

Words really cannot describe the wonderful experience I had staying as a guest at Anokhi... and I was actually made to feel more like family than a guest. It is beautifully located, very clean, and yes as described by other travelers - the best breakfast in Mysore. Flora and Marie could not have been more gracious hosts with pure hearts. My stay was for almost 6 weeks and I encountered many other guests come and go.. some of which were there for short periods while trying to find other long term accomodations. All of which reflected back to wishing they booked a longer stay at Anohki since there is just no better guest house in Mysore. I cannot return soon enough!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for one night. This homestay is correct, clean enough to feel comfortable (but not super clean).Unfortunately, the bed was quite bad.
The two owners are nice people and the place looks more like a family house for yoga/relaxation fans.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapablancaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Anokhi Garden is the best guesthouse I stayed at out of over 3 months of traveling in India. The house is lovely, Flora is adorable and very helpful and her cuisine is to die for (I didn't meet Marie who was out of the country when I visited). Little services like free high-speed internet and free laundry also add to make it a gem. Not only would I give Anokhi the "best guesthouse prize", I'd give them also the "best breakfast/brunch prize". If you can't get a room there, don't miss the food: Flora and her team prepare the tastiest fruit salads, juices and shakes, vegan pancakes, delicious tea (home-blend) , and a salivating brunch menu on weekends. I hope that I can escape to Mysore again next year and stay at Anokhi Garden for a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Owned by 2 French ladies, this guest house was a delight !!!
Spacious room. Simple and clean. Food was good, staff very friendly and helpful... A very cozy place... Relaxed atmosphere... I guess yoga helps!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank BD_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Very little I can say that I did not enjoy about Anokhi's except for the male server/owner who always felt the need to speak disparaging about K.P. Jois' Yoga Shala.
He is so negative and disrespectful to both the Shala itself and to the students who have spent thousands of dollars to travel to India to study at the Shala. He, I suspect, is neither an expert nor were his opinions asked for. As a yoga student myself, I find it very hard to believe someone who says he "practices" yoga would think it apprpriate to talk in such a way. Aside from our experience with him, and the urge to leave the room when he started his rants, the place is amazing and Flora is a real hostess and the rest of the staff seemed well suited for the Gardens!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

It is a charming place. The room is clan and smells good. Breakfast is the best I had in India. Flora, one of the owner is very smiley and attentive. The rest of the staff seems to have a fake smile though... May be it's because I'm not into Yoga and don't understand their smile... :) ! There is a lot of yoga stuff going on around there. Anyway, you most know that it is far from the palace and all major attractions. However, I quite liked staying in a rich indian suburb to discover what it's like. There is also a lot of good restaurants and groceries few minutes away. And a auto-rickshaw into town will cost you only 60-70Rp.
Note that they will provide you water, but no toilet paper???

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#56 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#84 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,989 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 109 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe

Address: 408 Contour Road Gokulam 3rd Stage, Mysuru (Mysore) 570002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing