We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and quirky, fairly basic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe
Ranked #11 of 138 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Friendly and quirky, fairly basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Staff are friendly and the guesthouse is in an interesting and fairly quiet neighbourhood, with lots of yoga schools around. The garden cafe is nice, though we felt a bit cheated when we were told at check out that contrary to the information inside the rooms (written on cards) breakfast is not included after all - a breakfast which is delicious though. The room we had was okay, though it was the only toilet flush on our India trip that did not work (and we stayed in comparable places). The bed was as hard as a brick, very uncomfortable. In fact it was propped up on some bricks, which may have explained it. The two french girls running the place are nice and can give good advice. All in all, an okay place to stay if you are looking for something in that price category

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
14
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The breakfast was delicious and the lovely French owners are delightful. However the rooms and bathroom are very basic... hard beds, wardrobes with fronts peeling off, horrible plumbing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill123England94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Words really cannot describe the wonderful experience I had staying as a guest at Anokhi... and I was actually made to feel more like family than a guest. It is beautifully located, very clean, and yes as described by other travelers - the best breakfast in Mysore. Flora and Marie could not have been more gracious hosts with pure hearts. My stay was for almost 6 weeks and I encountered many other guests come and go.. some of which were there for short periods while trying to find other long term accomodations. All of which reflected back to wishing they booked a longer stay at Anohki since there is just no better guest house in Mysore. I cannot return soon enough!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed here for one night. This homestay is correct, clean enough to feel comfortable (but not super clean).Unfortunately, the bed was quite bad.
The two owners are nice people and the place looks more like a family house for yoga/relaxation fans.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapablancaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Anokhi Garden is the best guesthouse I stayed at out of over 3 months of traveling in India. The house is lovely, Flora is adorable and very helpful and her cuisine is to die for (I didn't meet Marie who was out of the country when I visited). Little services like free high-speed internet and free laundry also add to make it a gem. Not only would I give Anokhi the "best guesthouse prize", I'd give them also the "best breakfast/brunch prize". If you can't get a room there, don't miss the food: Flora and her team prepare the tastiest fruit salads, juices and shakes, vegan pancakes, delicious tea (home-blend) , and a salivating brunch menu on weekends. I hope that I can escape to Mysore again next year and stay at Anokhi Garden for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdny3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Owned by 2 French ladies, this guest house was a delight !!!
Spacious room. Simple and clean. Food was good, staff very friendly and helpful... A very cozy place... Relaxed atmosphere... I guess yoga helps!!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank BD_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Very little I can say that I did not enjoy about Anokhi's except for the male server/owner who always felt the need to speak disparaging about K.P. Jois' Yoga Shala.
He is so negative and disrespectful to both the Shala itself and to the students who have spent thousands of dollars to travel to India to study at the Shala. He, I suspect, is neither an expert nor were his opinions asked for. As a yoga student myself, I find it very hard to believe someone who says he "practices" yoga would think it apprpriate to talk in such a way. Aside from our experience with him, and the urge to leave the room when he started his rants, the place is amazing and Flora is a real hostess and the rest of the staff seemed well suited for the Gardens!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.8 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#20 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#22 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Gokulam
Vedanta Wake Up - Gokulam
#49 of 198 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aishwarya Residency
Aishwarya Residency
#3 of 138 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe

Property: Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe
Address: 408 Contour Road Gokulam 3rd Stage, Mysuru (Mysore) 570002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing