We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in the cafe.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe
Ranked #10 of 152 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I spent a few nights here and it was lovely but ...... The owners are not onsite over night (there is a very good caretaker) which is not a problem unless you're coming home in the evening and the house is in darkness. Juanita the dog is very loveable. Guests are given the run of the house as if it were their own, which again is great, once you get your bearings.
I did have an issue that needed resolving and a change of rooms was required so was disappointed not to be offered a discount on the first nights stay.
The food in the cafe is very very good.

Room Tip: Do not get a room in the front of the house ... VERY noisy!!!! Do try the special porridge ... deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenim0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, economical and homely place to stay - Anokhi is where you need to head. They have a great place in the city. You can use the library, the kitchen, the cafe and the dining area to your needs.

Marie is a great help for the morning breakfast with quite a few options for the western traveler as well.

Its a great place if you wish to indulge in yoga. there is an ashram close by and a lot of yogis frequent this place as a cafe

Room Tip: Get the room facing the road. Has a good view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikunj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Extremely helpful and adorable staff! The owners, Flora and Marie, provided me with valuable information - even before my arrival in Mysore. I stayed in the "studio", where everything was perfect. It was clean, cozy, spacious and quiet. The breakfast at Anokhi Garden is to die for, the atmosphere extremely friendly, and I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay in Mysore. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This guest house was a welcome oasis away from the mayhem and very persistent rickshaw drivers touting for business in the city centre. The rooms are very clean, welcoming and comfortable with reliable solar hot water and it was worth staying for the breakfasts alone - excellent food options and very peaceful in the lovely garden cafe. Little touches like fresh flowers in the rooms and on the tables help create a welcoming ambience.
The guest house is quiet Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays but becomes something of a community focal point for the yoga practitioners in the area when the cafe is open to the public Thursday-Sunday mornings.
If you're not part of the yoga scene in Gokulam but in Mysore to see the sights,you'll find it's about a Rs 60 auto-rickshaw ride (many try to get more) into the city centre. The lunch-time and evening eating options in the immediate area are a little limited but Anoukhi supplies a map and recommendations to help you find what's there and you can use the kitchen to cook your own if you want to.

Room Tip: I stayed in the front room, which gets a fair bit of road noise. One of the other rooms might be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyJH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Excellent vegan options at this cafe. The atmosphere has something for everyone --- outside garden, inside lounge and inside large communal table with direct view of the kitchen. The staff are amazing in this western breakfast/ brunch cafe. Free wifi if you're looking just to chill out with a coffee. We love sitting outside and this is our go-to breakfast place in Gokulam. You'll find a ton of yogis here on any given day. The only downfall is that they are only open Wed-Sat. Crepes are awesome, omlettes perfect and the smoothies are spoon-required thick!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Arielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

So i found Anokhi on about.com and called just few hours before starting for mysore- much to my delight (and luck!) not only a room was available but Flora, the owner of this fabulously-maintained home stay, made sure my midnight check-in goes in extremely hassle-free. From giving precise directions, to leaving a welcome note on the main door, there was nothing that i could have asked more.
Clean room, homely atmosphere, awesome breakfast topped with great service, and an excellent host made my trip to Mysore something to remember for life!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lav1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Great food. Serves French crepes, pancakes, vegan pancakes, assorted eggs, and one of my favorites fancy oatmeal with assorted seads and nuts on it served with date syrup, super morning shakes, most times they have whome made curd and delicious muslii, great coffee and assorted teas including chai. special pastries and savory tarts on the weekends in high season.
Beautiful setting. Eat inside or in the front or back garden.
Run by Flora and Marie who are super accommodating, and a very friendly staff.
Reasonable priced with free wifi.
They have four comfortable rooms for rent. Very comfy beds and bathrooms in rooms. No TV's as there are so many things to do in and around Mysore. Also lots of books to read and exchange.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wjbaker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.8 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#24 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,710 reviews
5.5 mi away
Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre
Indus Valley Ayurvedic Centre
#33 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Green Lotus House
Green Lotus House
#14 of 152 in Mysuru (Mysore)
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulips Homestay
Tulips Homestay
#8 of 152 in Mysuru (Mysore)
230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 116 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anokhi Garden Guest House & Cafe

Address: 408 Contour Road Gokulam 3rd Stage, Mysuru (Mysore) 570002, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing