We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but over-priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunlarge Home Stay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunlarge Home Stay
Ranked #27 of 137 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK but over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in October at Sunlarge Hotel and were satisfied but not overwhelmed, we felt more like in a budget hotel than in a homestay.
Our room was basically equipped and quite clean (except the ants...) and had hot water. The homestay is quite far away from the city center and most of the riksha drivers don't know it (ask for the Wax Museum which is next door).
Mr. Arun was there at our arrival but that was the only time we met him. So unfortunately he was not there to give us advice concerning sightseeing, bus timings etc - we had to call him on his mobile to get some information. The food was good, the servants Nagesh and Kumar were very friendly and kind.

The rooms and the service do not justify the high price range.
It was one of the most expencive room rates we paid during our India trip with the least service and comfort offered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucky_Luky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Planned a trip with my family for 4 days and booked two rooms at Sunlarge Home Stay , the stay was very good with the care taker Mr. Arun taking care of every minute details required. Mr.Arun also ensured that food was customized to the needs of the big family. We were also provided with sight seeing options and travel arrangement. overall the experience was great

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sudhir2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were 11 members from two families who stayed at Sunlarge during the Dasara break this year. We decided to stay at Sunlarge based on TripAdvisor reviews of other travellers, and we can endorse the positive feedback echoed by the others on this forum. We checked in early, and checked out late, but this was no problem. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well maintained. The food was homely and excellent, and there was enough space for the kids to run around. The staff was courteous, and the hospitality provided by Mr. Arun, Mr. Kumar, and Mr. Nagesh deserves a mention. Overall, this was a much better alternative to staying in a conventional hotel, and we will certainly stay here again when we are in Mysore next.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Harish_VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The service, food quality and rooms were very good and definitely a place to recommand to friends and visit again.
Keep it up, Sunlarge Home Stay team.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nikhil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We had superb time at Sunlarge. Accomodation, Food was excellent. SunLarge home stay was really large having spacious room, Big living/ dining room. We were a group of 4 families, so it was even better for us as we got a common area where we can sit & chitchat. Kids also could play freely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pramila Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Last week we were in Mysore as part of a get together. We were 4 families with kids and had selected Sunlarge homestay fro a period of 3 days. When we arrived, there Mr. Kumar, the cook, had taken care of our lunch and we were treated to some very tasty south indian cusine. Pretty much at the same time i was sure that we would be treated to very delicious meals during our stay at sun large. Coming to the rooms, they were spacious and clean. The toilets were spacius too. Since it was a get together, our primary requirement was to have a place to sit around and chit chat. The huuuugeeee drawing room , was just perfect for this. Literally every night we were awake till early morning hours chit chatting and sharing our experiences and Sun large home was a perfect place for it.
Mr. Arun, the manager was very co-operative and Mr. Kumar, the cook was very accomodative. On the last day, before we left, at the last minute we decided to have food in Sun large itself before leaving and not just that, we walso wanted some food to be packed for the journey. Even though a last minute request, Mr. Kumar accomodated it and we were again treated to a finger licking treat.
For someone who is looking for a homely atmosphere, tasty food and decent proximity to landmarks in Mysore and at a moderate price, i would strongly suggest this place.
Somehow, the review is not complete without mentioning again about the food quality. At one point in time, my friend and I were discussing about taking the cook along with us back to Bangalore.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had a great experience staying in Sunlarge Homestay. Had gone to mysore for a couple of days. There were 5 of us with my parents, wife and my son who is 4.5 yrs old. Was very particulat that we stay in a homestay environment as my son is a very choosy eater and we needed the use of kitchen to cook his food alone. The romms are very spacious and clean, bathrooms kept very neat. The food was 'homely' and the rates nominal.

The people working there respected our privacy and we appreciated it a lot.

We were provided with milk and curd for our son and even potatoes. There is a refrigerator and a kitchen with gas stove and cylinders

Whats best about sunlarge is its location close to the foothills of Chamundi. You can see the hill from the terrace. There is lush greenery in the quiet neighbourhoood.

A place to really spend quality time with family.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anandrangachari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
Hotel Le Ruchi The Prince
#8 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
5.0 mi away
Olive Residency
Olive Residency
#36 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#49 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulips Homestay
Tulips Homestay
#6 of 137 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Palmyrah Tenements
The Palmyrah Tenements
#50 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlarge Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlarge Home Stay

Property: Sunlarge Home Stay
Address: No.1 D,Srinivas Krupa | Next to Wax Museum, Mysuru (Mysore) 570011, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Rooms. AC Dlx Family Suite, Studio Apartment ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing