We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & orderly”
Review of Tulips Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tulips Homestay
Ranked #6 of 144 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean & orderly”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at Tulip’s Homestay with family in May 2014.
The location of Tulip’s is some distance away from the main city centre in a primarily residential area. As such, the environs are peaceful and suitable for leisure walks in the morning or evening. Autos were available outside Tulip’s during our stay.
Rooms are good sized and clean. All fittings & accessories were functional.
The owner Mr Kaveriappa and manager Mr Moin are helpful while being non-intrusive at the same time.
Reasonably priced with no hidden costs, we rate Tulip’s Homestay to be very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SModak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    71
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
147
28
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at Tulips with my family at Tulips from May 30 to June 2nd 2014. We found the place to be clean, comfortable and quite spacious. Mr. Kaveriappa (the owner) and Mr. Moin (the Manager) are very helpful and courteous at all times. We were provided with water and cold drinks which is priced nominally in the fridge. My son liked the place a lot as there was enough room for him to run and play. An induction stove with vessels are also provided on request at a very minimal charge. We were quite comfortable as all the basic amenities were made available. There is also an auto stand right outside the entrance to Tulips. It is located in a residential area and is away from noise and dust. Mr. Moin also helped in arranging car / auto for sight seeing.

I would recommend this home stay for families traveling to Mysore. Ensure you book in advance and speak to them prior to your arrival there.

Our thanks to Mr. Kaveriappa & famiy and Mr. Moin for making our trip worthwhile.

Regards,

Praveen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great mid-range accommodation, which feels more like a bed & breakfast than a traditional homestay. We stayed in a deluxe suite, which includes a spacious living area (TV and small dining area), kitchenette (cooking is not allowed without prior permission) and fridge/minibar, stocked with mineral water and soft drinks at reasonable prices. The room had fans as well as aircon and, along with the bathroom, was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good (and we were offered a choice of alternatives) and a well-priced laundry service is available. In addition, both the owner and manager were friendly and helpful, in particular assisting with an early check-in following an overnight train trip.

The only issue we experienced was that the WiFi was down over the two days we were there, which proved a bit of an inconvenience. (It may be worth double-checking that it works if you think you'll need an internet connection.)

It is also important to bear in mind that Tulips is located 10-15kms out of the city centre itself. While it is therefore quieter, it does entail a rickshaw ride into the city to access all major sites. (Rickshaws are readily available outside Tulips and cost us between 100 and 150 rupees per trip to the city centre.)

A clean, calm and comfortable stay that offers good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AllyVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were a group of 8 Adults on our way back from ooty to Pune and chanced upon Tulips Homestay. we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms and the basic facilities provided there. Breakfast was included in the cost and sumptuous. away from the hustle & bustle of the city it is a prefect place to put up. Staff was courteous too. I would strongly recommend Tulips at Mysore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshwiniPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed with my wife and 2 young kids. Earlier reviews mention the homestay is located in a basement, so I was expecting low light and ventillation. But, this is not the case. My room (no. 3) had large windows, letting in plenty of light. Just think of it as a room slightly below road level.
There's a small but beautiful garden outside the windows, with beautiful potted plants.
Tulips is located away from the city bustle, making for a quiet vacation.

The staff is friendly (but not intrusive). Breakfast served was sumptuous. But, you'll have to go out to one of the nearby restaurants for lunch or dinner, or order food from outside.

The room (no. 3) was huge, maybe 400 square feet, tastefully decorated, with all necessary furniture you'd find in your own home. A/C worked fine. There's a dining table too, with plenty of chairs.

Couple of things to keep in mind -
1. There's no full-fledged kitchen. But, you can order food from a takeaway. We asked for 'Lobo's Takeaway'. Very prompt, tasty, and reasonably priced. Any day better than waiting in a restaurant with two sleepy kids.
2. Not centrally located, but there's an auto stand nearby. Certainly not an issue, if you have a vehicle.

I think Tulips offers good value for money. Would definately recommend it for a couple, or a family with kids.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

stayed in Tulips from 4th April to 6th April. Nice place in Mysore to stay. Even though located outside city, its not very far from main attractions of Mysore. Its good combination calm area and accessibility to attractions of Mysore.

Booking was straight forward with their website. Need to transfer 100% of charge for confirmed booking. Once you reach they place Kaveriappa or Moin will welcome you and explain everything there. Both were very helpful and friendly .

Room was very clean and specious. No issues with TV AC or hot water. Enjoyed my stay there. Breakfast option could be better. Including a microwave will be a good option.Bit disturbed by other guests, but it was not a big issue.

Definitely recommended ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPrasadKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My expectations were high because it was rated well on trip advisor which is why I booked it however it did not live up to those.
It is situated a little in outskirts on the ring road and it is a developing area hence it is quite and away from usual hustle bustle. You may definitely hear the owner's dog barking often. my daughter loves dog so it wasn't an issue at all.
The rooms are in basement and made more like a hotel were all rooms open in a corridor, so it can be noisy sometimes if your door is left open. Obviously you cannot expect a balcony or sit out.
However I loved their rooms due to the huge size and cleanliness. It is a small studio apartment with a little kitchen area, a dining, couple chairs and bed so you can easily accommodate more people. My daughter had more room to jump around and she did not feel uncomfortable.
Thankfully I could access their pantry as they had hotplate and microwave to heat food, milk and make some quick dishes for the baby. I must say that their pantry is well organized and very clean.
I am sure you are wondering why did I still rate it as average and it is only because of 'customer / customized service'. I knew that they did not have the concept of kitchen so expecting home food / real time would be too much to ask but I realized that no help (any attendant) was available at night after 10:30 PM, so in case you need anything than usual you will need to help yourself. (I took pillows from their store myself as I needed more)
The manager (Mr. Moin) did not even take orders for breakfast in the night / early in morning so we can leave for our sightseeing on time as planned @ 9:00 AM. He reached @ 8:15 AM and then we had limited menu (idly, dosa, vada , chow chow bhath) and bread was on menu but not available so I chose to not eat since I was bored of these usual ones and he did not make any effort to arrange something else. Also the food packets were given to us as you get parcel from outside and no one cares to open and serve it in trays appropriately.
Also the first tea of the morning did not come by 9:00 so I prepared one myself using their hot plate ( I am sure not many people do not like the dip / milk sachet tea). A tea order take minimum of 20 - 30 mins for them.
Overall I think the place is good if you do not have many customized requirements that you need specific as they are combination of standard homestay and average service apartment.

Room Tip: Rooms are extremely spacious so you can easily accommodate upto 4 adults in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaziram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaveriapa B, Owner at Tulips Homestay, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your frank opinion in the review which will certainly help us to improve our services. Nonetheless, we would like to clarify your observations as under.
First of all, we are sorry for not able to meet your " Customized special requirements" as stated by you, as we were not aware of your special requirements earlier. We will provide " customized special services" required by our customers, if the same is discussed and agreed with us in advance. However, our motto is to keep our customers happy and satisfied with our need and value based, quality services. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#17 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#23 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.3 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#13 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#22 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips Homestay

Property: Tulips Homestay
Address: #922, 6th Main, 10th Cross | Vijayanagar 1st Stage (near Corporation Bank), Mysuru (Mysore) 570017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulips Homestay provides fully furnished A/C deluxe rooms and non A/C studio rooms with a pleasant and homely decor to make your stay relaxed,refreshing & enjoyable. Tulips Homestay provides all facilities & services to meet all your needs for an enjoyable stay. It is centrally located in a prime & serene locality. Customer satisfaction is our motto. Come and stay with us and feel the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tulips Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing