We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost and Found”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Hotel
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lost and Found”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

On the way to the Green Hotel in Mysore from Ooty, we soon realised that our driver had no idea about the hotel's location. He asked various people but this got us only onto the road where the hotel was supposed to be. Rickshaw and taxi drivers seemed mystified and unable to help. Luckily we happened upon it by accident. Hotel staff later told us that the hotel was previously known as Premier Studios - in a prevous life it had been a film studio until shut down by fire. We were told that this name was still known to taxi and rickshaw drivers!
Anyway what a great place. Formerly a palace then film studio now a fine hotel. The main old building has a small number of rooms each surrounded by furnished but unused "rooms of state". Another separate building has a larger number of rooms which appear to lack the charm of the older building. Ask for a palace room, it is worth it. We stayed in the Bollywood room with various pictures of old and more recent stars of the silver screen.
Fine dining sometimes (weather permitting) under the stars by candlelight. Very obliging staff and very good Indian food. Breakfast included (either Indian or Anglo). Travel desk is efficient and reliable driver available for day trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a palace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRONTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    135
    53
    18
    20
See reviews for
75
127
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Beautiful place with lovely gardens,very helpful staff and food but the room we had was tiny, by the time we put our two suitcases in there was hardly any space at all! Okay if you are staying for one night like we did.

Room Tip: It was the Bollywood room we had which was tiny - other rooms may have been okay but this was booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palavi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the Heritage building, which is extremely charming. Our room was small but comfortable, and the common areas are huge, perfect to read a book and relax.
Great service and excellent food: breakfast is included, you just order what you wish, we also had dinner twice and tried the coffee shop - all very good and reasonnably priced (special mention to the cakes, delicious, real home-made taste).
The garden is well maintained, with amazing flowers.
There is some noise from the road traffic but nothing huge and it quickly gets quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocovlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A bit far from town center, you need your own vehicle. Room is average, in two buildings. Bath room is in Indian style, There is shower and bucket as options. Towel is not white and rough and in old condition. Food is average, but many good menus for vegan. Staff is friendly but it takes long time for each inquiry.

Over all, it's nice to stay for a short period. Interior in main building is nice. Princess room is wide without air-con and TV...ofcourse it's echo hotel ;)

Room Tip: Rooms in Main building is more drama and expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The rooms in the main building are historic, have high ceilings and wood detailing. None of them are really opulent or large, though the Maharani suite came the closest compared to the Princess, Marigold and Rose suites. Perhaps some visitors missed air-conditioning in the summer, but in September the night was quite pleasant with just a fan. The beds were soft and comfortable. There are bookshelves all around, and places to sit down for a came of chess in the main building. The writer’s room was on the small side, though an alcove with a desk helped make it feel larger. This room was away from the main road, so the horns of passing buses were only mildly bothersome. The suites on the second floor of the annex were larger and still nice, though less atmospheric from the outside. Breakfast was complementary, and served on a shaded part of the lawn. Dinner was on tables on the lawn, and quite nice though chilly even in September. The hotel and restaurant was far from full, though apparently it fills up in the winter. The restaurant is open to non-guests. Actually, there are several eating spaces, both inside and outside. Overall, we were quite happy with the hotel because it meant we didn’t have to get in the car in order to have a good meal in an atmospheric setting.

Room Tip: The Writer's seemed like a good value, though the annex provides more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Found Green Hotel off its website and was impressed by its ideals and motivations. Wanted a hotel that was different and offering a unique experience. We were not disappointed. Princess's Palace refers to the reception area which I guess was taken over by a film studio for a time.
Rooms are away from this building in what could have been film studio offices. They are large clean airy rooms. We were able to put our 4 children in one room as the rooms could accommodate 4 beds.
Highlights for us were the restaurant were the staff were really friendly and helpful, the coffee shop with fresh French style bread making delicious sandwiches and cakes and the Fairtrade shop which stocked an interesting range of goods.
We used the Tourism Desk to book a tourist car so that we could see the amazing temples and the bird sanctuary with its fledgling eating crocodiles. It was well worth doing these trips.The driver was really helpful.
Only downside was slightly disturbed sleep as the insects competed with the traffic noise. Amazed as the insect noise here was louder than even the jungle resorts of Kerala.
I would recommend the Green Hotel as a unique experience and deserves all the accolades that it receives.

Room Tip: Able to get 4 beds into the rooms if you have a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPalmer2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband stumbled upon this place when he was searching online for a good place to stay for our brief honeymoon trip. We stayed in one of the garden rooms, which has a nice balcony, where we could just sit on chairs, order coffee and talk for a long time, while enjoying the pleasant Mysore weather. My husband also requested for the room to be decorated with rose petals before we arrived (you can ask for it specifically while booking the room) and it was really romantic. The food was really good, and service was as well. The only thing that was a bit of a bother was the proximity to the main road, and hence the traffic noises. Not really the place to stay if you are looking for peace and quiet. Apart from that, the rooms were all classy and well maintained. Service at the restaurant was quick and efficient. The hotel has an ancient Indian bungalow combined with an English tea garden look, that gives you a sense of living in style. The garden is nice and cool in the night if you simply want to take a walk in the moonlight. We stayed only for a couple of days but we really did enjoy our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden. They've got a nice balcony and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranjini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
981 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#13 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing