We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of atmosphere and very helpful staff but we were glad we were staying in the Palace.”
Review of Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Hotel
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere and very helpful staff but we were glad we were staying in the Palace.”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

From its friendly staff, beautiful gardens and excellent meals, The Green Hotel lived up to our expectations. I stayed in the quirky Bollywood (!) Room and my friend stayed in the Writer's Room. We both enjoyed our time there, especially the delicious breakfast in the garden every morning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allaround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    137
    54
    18
    20
See reviews for
77
129
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
france
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just had a short break i Mysore away from our holiday in Goa..we have stayed in this delightful hotel before..it is lovely , gardens, staff, food etc..The only down side is the terrible and really uncomfortable beds..matresses apalling..now this hotel charges relatively high prices..what a shame it cannot buy decent mattresses. Mysore is a DELIGHT. This hotel is beautiful ..so please please get your act together and do something about this problem..4 guests struggled back to Goa with terible back ach..to our lovely beds at a hotel 1/8th of the price.

Room Tip: Tak the lower rooms as upstairs have road noise..Diner in the gardens are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chrsfln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place has an aura of old world charm, exclusivity and heritage value that is something to remember. Personally, my family (myself, wife, daughter and sister) had a great time when we spent 2 nights there while we were at Mysore. I would suggest that stay at Palace rooms (about 50% more expensive than the Garden rooms) but some where worth the extra price. The garden with so many varieties of blossoming flowers looks awesome and the food is good. We were travelling with a nine-month old daughter and wanted kiddie-food to be cooked. The hotel staff was amenable and they cooked up food for my daughter as we wanted. The city of Mysore is a good anyways and you may tend to spend a good amount of day outside, the stay at this hotel made our stay very comforting there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel is located about 4km. from the railway station about 5-6km. from the city centre. This means that you will need a rickshaw to get into town (we paid about Rs.80,- to the palace) - but thankfully there are people employed at the entrance who can assist you with getting hold of one.
The rooms are very big in an atypical sort of colonial style - they appear to have been out-buildings/living quarters in the long gone past and there's a hint of staples just outside in the large square, which have been converted too, adding to the charm of this place. Breakfast and dinner areas are outside in the open.
The place is very nice and the staff courteous and helpful.
On the downside the hotel and all the rooms are facing a very busy road. Being a rather light sleeper I was woken up on several occasions from traffic outside, which involved the usual beeping, honking and heavy truck traffic. I would strongly suggest that light sleepers bring ear plugs or use rolled-up cotton balls when going to bed as that may give you just that better quality sleep.
If you are a jogger/runner, then I urge you to take a run down to the Kukkarahalli lake and circle it - it's less than 15 minutes away (running), and the lake is about a 30 minute run to do a full circle. It is a beautiful area with walkways all around. If you're really early, as in 6:30-7:00, you may even catch some of the mist over it as well as the sunrise, which is well worth the effort!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are more spacious and are on the 1st floor of the living quarters/outbuildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Truly a great find...an old palace built by the former Mysore king for his sisters later a famous film studios now a charming hotel. The heritage rooms are full of character and although this is an old building it is very clean indeed. Prices excellent and service professional. There is an onsite craft shop, library and malgudi cafe serves excellent cakes. The hotel gives profits to local charities and has a green philosophy. Food was v good and dining outside under the stars was v memorable. It is on a busy road and rooms don't have tv ( I consider that advantage) and there isn't a pool but do not hesitate to stay here.Mysore itself is a fantastic place to base yourself in southern India and the hotel arranged day trips to surrounding sights by car at very reasonable prices.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I had lunch at the "garden" cafe. Lunch was really nice, however it was a little on the expensive side. This hotel and the cafe sit right next to a very, very noisy road. I would not be able to sleep there! And yes, it is full of western people holding on to their Lonely Planets - just like me. Also, I asked at the reception if it would be possible to use their computer for a fee. He said no, not if I am not staying in the hotel. I thought this was quite unfriendly, since there was no one using it at the time. So it was nice to be there for one lunch but if you like peace and quiet I cannot recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0rinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This place and the table arrangement on the lawns make it a great place to treat your family. The place is ideal for a drink or a two and to have great meals in the maharaja style. You would find a lot of Foreigners and the food is good in taste and the courteous staff are well mannered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShashikiranBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
3.7 mi away
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
The Atrium Boutique Hotel
#24 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
181 reviews
2.9 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#13 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,063 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heritage Shelters
Hotel Heritage Shelters
#52 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruchi the Prince
Ruchi the Prince
#17 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hotel

Property: Green Hotel
Address: 2270 Chittaranjan Palace Vinoba Road | Chittaranjan Palace, Jayalakshmipuram, Mysuru (Mysore) 570012, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing