We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and well maintained property, needs focus on service and breakfast options..”
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunflower Hotel
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed with my extended family for two days..The facility is quite new and well maintained..

Pros: Just off the BM highway. Close to the city but far from the noise. Decent parking
Modern and neat building/rooms..
WiFi connection was really good and much appreciated..
Some of the finer things in the room like LED lights at floor level near the door, dimmer
lights (Parents with little ones will appreciate)

Highlight: Has a well stocked Departmental store and a pharmacy at the ground floor..
a blessing !

Cons: Complimentary breakfast is uninspiring both on variety and quality.
Only few items of the limited options will make you go for seconds..!
They also seem to be short on plates and had the misfortune of two consecutive days of
waiting at the buffet queue waiting for plates to be replenished..!
The breakfast facility was steaming as the aircon was not working and will be a
challenge till the next couple of months till summer is over..

Summary: Great place to stay in good comfort..Brekkie options and facility needs review..

Room Tip: Stayed on 2nd floor, great view with open fields..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navinpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Probably the best hotel with this budget in Mysore.

Very clean rooms, good service and very courteous staff. We loved our stay , highly recommended. Even we like the location, its quite near to the town bit away from the hustling-bustling for the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShamikMaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed there for 2 days in Dec 2013 with family. Very good room, clean restrooms friendly staff, good location away from crowded areas, close to Bangalore highway.
Only put down was the breakfast. They need to present it a bit more better way and staff the restaurent for breakfast. The same restaurent served very good lunch/dinner even rom service was very good. Just the breakfast !!
Also they could improve on the lobby.

Another good thing about the hotel is the super market on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakVarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very clean rooms with good service. Its a new property and very well maintained. Location was a plus, it had a superstore, restaurant and also a medical shop in the same building. Breakfast was not good, as they did not much option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc00by333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Six of us (with extended family) stayed at this hotel from 22nd to 24th December, 2013. I had chosen this place after extensively going through the reviews on Tripadvisor. I agree with most travelers that the place is clean. But the good things dont go beyond this.
The place is too basic. It has a small lobby which looks like having been robbed of its furnishings just the previous day! Despite being a new hotel, the rooms still have the old type physical keys and not access cards. The rooms are small, though we booked double rooms. The professional photos posted on their website doesnt give the true picture. Bathrooms, though small were neat. The windows have old style metal grills which give a jarring feel to it.
The worst thing about this hotel is its breakfast ! They offer the complimentary breakfast in the adjoining restaurant which also belongs to them. They offer only bread, cornflakes, idli and dosa on a small table. The jam and butter were kept in a manner which can put you off. There was only one person manning the breakfast area for all the guests. This is in sharp contrast to the lunch and dinner time at the same restaurant where there are enough people to attend to guests. Obviously, lunch and dinner are not complimentary and runs like any other restaurant. This tells you clearly that they dont care about the complimentary breakfast and offer this for the sake of it. I asked for dosa without oil as my son was having an upset stomach and what came after a good 15 mins are same dosas presumably with tissue paper used to wipe off the oil.
The only thing which was in stark contrast to the bad service was the receptionist. He was a genuine guy and was highly articulate. (I forgot his name but can he can be identified by his specs and downward pointing moustache.
Location is also good from an access standpoint as the palace, zoo and other places of interests are at least 4-5 kms away. Moreover, there are hardly any restaurants around for you to escape the killer breakfast experience!
Please avoid this hotel.

Niju
Bangalore

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NijuBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I had stayed at this hotel for a couple of days while attending a family function

Key points:
- Hotel is located on the Bangalore Highway close to JSS Univ. in Bannimantap (however a bit far from the city center and the station)
- Rooms were neat and clean
- Property seems fairly new (and well maintained)
- Breakfast was ok (however only dosas were available)
- There is a restaurant located next door (however I did not eat there)

Overall a good place to stay with family if you are looking for a hotel in Bannimantap

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyraj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Enjoyed my stay
Located in a quiet and calm place .
The only problem I faced was the breakfast . Which they serve from some outside restaurant
Got 2 restaurants near by and the food was cheap and good.
Room was spacious , well maintained
TV with options of variety channels .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
FabHotel Dawn Mysore
FabHotel Dawn Mysore
#38 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
214 reviews
3.2 mi away
Olive Residency
Olive Residency
#39 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
97 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#18 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,728 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Jade Garden
Hotel Jade Garden
#26 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
441 reviews
3 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#6 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 331 Mysore Bangalore Road | Bannimantap, Mysuru (Mysore) 570015, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 Well Appointed Rooms, Air-conditioned And Equipped With All Modern Amenities And Services To Bring You The True World Class Experience, With Close Proximities To All Major Pubic Transport Stations And Tourist Destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing