We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to visit”

Railway Museum Mysore
Attraction details
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Went there with my 5year old kid who's crazy about trains.. was shocked and really surprised by the very cool and no nonsense attitude of the staff there. Hats off to them. The place was well maintained and the environment made us go back to my schooling years. . The engines and toy train was well maintained and clean. My son enjoyed a lot. .and visited twice in the same trip. .. must see place if you are travelling with kids

Helpful?
Thank bala305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    103
    71
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The place is small and has very limited exhibits, but the exhibits themselves are charming. Must visit for kids and rail-buffs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kumar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
247 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My son loved it and I saw all the other children loving it too. To us adults, it was a throwback to those days when we used to travel by trains often. There are a few old engines & carriages in this museum and one is allowed to climb up. There is also a toy train that takes you on a small ride. The museum was hardly crowded and could be a much better attraction if some more attention was given to it by the authorities. If you have kids, go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Son's favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have vague memories of me visiting as a child but in past 10 years I have visited like atleast 5-6 times as my son just loves it! To be honest any railway enthusiast will enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sowjanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
245 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Antique collection of old train engines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is not very big museum but there are very less such type of rail museums in India. It is behind Mysore railway station. There are many old railway engines available including steam engines not just to watch but go inside too. Old train models / actual train bogies are also here to experience. Information given is also interesting. Overall its nice to visit this different kind of museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PuneTravelbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Railway Museum Mysore also viewed

 

Been to Railway Museum Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing