We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facade but awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful facade but awful!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, beautiful place but completely let down by the rude reception staff and a smelly room with an even worst bathroom, room 101 is either overlooked or just awful, smelly and a bathroom which was mouldy, broken hair dryer and just grimy! Such a shame. Also our laundry was taken without our consent! Really disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool have a balcony and good views - but don't get room 101!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pohkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    147
    93
    51
    45
See reviews for
159
138
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

the lalitha mahal palace hotel stay was a nice experiance. the break fast dining hall extremely good.swimming pool under maintainance.the exterior look of the hotel great .so many tamil movies you can see the palace.rooms are spacies with balcony facing the pool .you can have the horse chariet ride .lift look antique.in front nice park but no sitout.roomservice poor,rooms not have good fragrance.

Room Tip: pool side room is good in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anbu333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This property has surely lost it's glory although the sheer opulence of the infrastructure still remains to beckon fellow travellers like us who get excited from the physical attributes of it. On one of my trips, under impression that we were set for a five star property we landed into this very well known property on the suburbs of Mysore. Scantily staffed, poor service and little or no maintainance made us exit it before schedule. While the yester year charm surmounts you with huge chandeliers and long pillers but you find it a goofy place with hardly any guests around. Its time that there is strong revival needed with a professional hotel management group taking over this property to show case one of the most beautiful properties in Mysore!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The summer palace of the Maharajah of Mysore: the Lalitha Mahal is wonderfully decayed elegance. Stay here and be transported back to the Princely States from the days of the Raj. The magnificent exterior is breath-taking. Inside you will find a sumptuous sweeping staircase, a fantastically opulent dining hall and an incredibly ornate lift. We stayed in a Heritage suite with an interlocking door to a strange middle room with table and chairs in it which led to a sister suite for our friend. The suite had a great 4 poster bed, its own separate dining / dressing room that wasn't really needed and a bathroom with an elegant marble bathroom suite. Ironically, the old cast iron shower-come-bath worked better than the modern shower unit. I think though that a cheaper 'turret' room would probably be the best value as you would still have the old heritage features at 4000Rs per night as opposed to 6000Rs that we paid for ours. However, we didn't see the room so can't say for certain. We did get to see the Presidential suite though. It was simply a bigger version of what we had with even more rooms full of furniture that you didn't need.There were issues such as the leaking air con unit in our friend's suite, the inconsistent breakfast (water in teapot was hot not boiling on 2nd day), but on the whole we were very happy. There is also a great bar on the ground floor which is like an old colonial club, with snooker table and huge terrace looking out over the palace grounds. Great restaurant food in the evening too!

Room Tip: Go for a turret room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorhat, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A excellent Hotel.It is a palace converted to a Hotel.One can experience the grandeur of the past.
We stayed at the Royal suite and felt as if we were actual prince for a day.Rooms were very big and well furnished and lavishly decorated. The dining hall was huge and marvelous painting,chandeliers from the past adored the main hall and other places.Excellent experience and the staff are courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidharth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived early after an overnight coach trip and were very grateful that they were kind enough to let us into our rooms early. The building is very imposing and has lots of character.The original parts of the hotel are very lovely and the dining room is stunning. The a la carte menu was definitely much better than the buffets and we usually had a choice if we didn't want the buffet.Our room overlooked the pool, where we swam every day, and was clean and comfortable. We stayed for seven days and found it a real refuge after the chaos of Mysore City at Eid in particular. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great property built by the maharaja fo his english guests. Staff was courteous, They showed us the viceroy suites on request. Breakfast was good. There were some issues- floor was slightly dusty, hot water from both taps..no cold water!We had to call reception for towels. All deluxe pool rooms have a great balcony with view of the chamundi hills. .Overall we enjoyed our one night stay as the place was really a royal experience. We stayed in the deluxe pool rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe pool room. These are newer additions. Good spacious rooms with a great balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,457 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,833 reviews
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#11 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Property: Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing