We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property,managed poorly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great property,managed poorly.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This place is run by a govt. corporation and it shows. Very badly kept, poor service and overall a big let down. It's better to go as a tourist and see the beautiful palace, rather than stay there. We paid close to 10 grand for a heritage room and got a leaking bathroom where the floor was wet and I almost tripped in the night. Must admit the dinner was tasty, and breakfast adequate , eventhough no buffet spread as there were only 3/4 guests staying there. Gardens were dry and flower less while the rest of the city was in bloom. An avoidable experience which left us feeling cheated.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Champaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    141
    90
    50
    44
See reviews for
153
137
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was highly disappointing stay here!!! They gave us room 212 which was like the last room on the left side of the "palace".

Apart from the grandeur of the exterior & decent location, I can only talk about negatives of this place:

- There is no escalator access to the second floor, need to take staircase. This was quite inconvenient with baby stroller.
- As soon as we enter the room, it smelt of dust. There were some strands of hair, some dirt around the room. Room was not clean.
- The TV is very old CRT. This is alright, but still i would like to mention.
- The balcony was rather dusty, and one can see cracks in the railings of the balcony. The view was also not that great.
- The worst of it was that the wash basin in the bathroom was stinking! There was no strainer & you could get the foul smell as soon as you enter the toilet. We cribbed about it to house keeping. What the guy did was just plug out the strainer from bath-tub & put it to wash basin.
- When i cribbed about the stinking smell, they had quick fix by spraying with room freshener, which just lasted for few hours.
- There was no foot mats provided inside the bathroom.
- The breakfast had very little variety for a 5-star hotel. Perhaps only 5-6 kind of options to chose from.
- Some monkeys had ventured from the open windows, when calling the hotel staff, they reply saying it happens, monkeys come & go, you need to wait till they go. I mean this is quite ridiculous service attitude!

I had gone for a short vacation from Bangalore with my wife & 10 month old kid, hoping to be a royal & memorable experience. Memorable it was, but on the negative side. We wanted to check-out as soon as possible.

For the quality of room & service and the price they charge, you could get much better hotels at city center! I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid 212, i am not sure about other rooms. Perhaps the ground floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My stay with Lalitha Mahal Palace hotel was on year end 2013 and that includes party organized by them. Its a nice place, amazing service and very good rooms.
Never think its a 5 start property.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

When we were planning our trip to Mysore, we did want to spend at least a night in the famed second palace of Mysore - the Lalitha Mahal Palace.

So, we adjusted our plans so that we got a room availability at this hotel-palace, and decided to just end our trip here by spending a day of peace and quiet and relax.

There was a lot of expectation regarding this place, but after spending a day here, we realized that it was only misplaced hype.

No doubt, the palace impresses in all its sheen and grandeur, but looks can be deceiving. When we first arrive, the room was not yet ready during check-in time and we had to wait 30 minutes for the room to be ready.

Hospitality was missing from the time we arrived. There was no one to receive the guests when we drove into the entrance. There was no clear communication regarding check-in, car parking, and unloading the luggage. Everything had to be asked of the security. There was not even a valet parking available in such a posh hotel.

A hotel run by the Ashok group, I would never have expected to be like this.

The gents at the reception were very courteous and one of the young gent gave us a quick tour of some of the biggest and opulent rooms in the hotel. He was very friendly and cheerful.

When we checked into our room, again we found that it was horribly maintained. There were just two power outlets and one of that was not working. The other had a spike buster, but the sockets were burnt out and unusable. In fact even the switches were broken. Finally we had to contend with just *one* power socket for our entire stay.

Another irritant was the leaking faucets. So much water is being wasted in this hotel (and imagine Karnataka always complaining and fighting about water shortage), not just in our room but also in the posh room that we were given a tour of.

Finally, food was extremely pathetic. Actually it tasted good, but there was absolutely no choice. There were no starters, sad choice of main course and desserts. In fact, for each course/cuisine, there were probably two or less dishes. In total, for an Ashok group hotel it was measly having a total of probably 10 dishes (from starters to dessert together) for lunch. The room service menu on the other hand was much better laid out.

The lesser said then about the breakfast buffet the better. It was cold, tasteless, and the staff were rude and inhospitable. They didn't even replace the cutlery from the previous table.

I would never recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank ksprashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had gone to celebrate our first anniversary in the lalitha mahal. Sadly, this turned out to be a terrible experience. Neither were the toilets clean, nor did the people know what the buffet menu was until it is placed on the table. Sadly, this has turned into a government guest house and nothing more. The rooms are not clean, the place need a revamp, the staff need to understand how to treat their guests. I really thought that such a beautiful property should have had the same hospitality.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can as the place is not really worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I do smile when I read some reviews and wonder did they stay at the same place as I did?

What can I say about this wonderful Palace? It is superb beyond words As you approach by road the domes come into view and as you come along the driveway and round the final bend the whole of this superb Palace comes into view. It really does take your breath away.

We received a warm welcome by the efficient staff on reception who informed us that we were being upgraded to a suite. What a lovely start to what was to become a very memorable stay.

Our accommodation was on the first floor. As we had luggage we were shown to the lift. This wonderful piece of engineering has to be seen to be believed. I can best describe it as a gilded cage complete with nicely upholstered bench to sit on.

Our suite comprised a huge room with four poster bed, tv, table, chairs and the like and a separate dressing room/cum dining room. Both of these rooms had original furniture. The bathroom was as big as most standard hotel rooms and still had original sink and bath/shower unit which was a museum piece . We did not use this as there was also a more modern shower unit.

We were also shown the Maharaja's suite by the domestic staff which made our accommodation seem small. This comes at a hefty tag of 50,000 rps. per night.

There was a lovely high ceiling dining room complete with gallery and hooks for punkahs (fans). (I assume these were originally operated by pulley rope ) One definitely felt lost in the enormity of this room amongst the grandeur of the surroundings. The food served was of good quality and the staff were knowledgeable about both the food on offer and the dining room itself.

There was also a well stocked bar which was nice to pop into for an after lunch or evening drink.
The barman was also a font of knowledge on the furnishings contained in the room and the full sized billiard table that was older than the hotel itself and had been transported from Ooty.

The whole place needs to be seen to appreciate what it has to offer. Huge Rooms with 8 foot entrance doors, long wide veranda outside the rooms, spacious corridors and a double winding staircase that brings you down to the lobby.

What else can I say, I absolutely loved the place and without a shadow of a doubt it is the best place that I have had the privilege to have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is nestled in a beautiful setting, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The landscape is well maintained and the guests are given a royal welcome with a shower of flowers and garlands. these are the only positive things about the hotel. From the amenities to the food, nothing seems to live up to the expectations of a hotel that claims to indulge you with a royal touch. The staff seem clueless about some basic questions.The room in which my kids stayed had rodents running around! If you are looking for a stay which takes you to the bygone era, be prepared for disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RekhaSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#17 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Property: Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing