We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Wedding Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Wedding Destination”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a fairy tale wedding at Lalith Mahal. We couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding, we had the whole place for ourself and we could decorate it in a way we wanted. It has many halls that we could make use, for various ceremonies. We had the mahal in the background for our reception in the night. The whole place was lit up and it looked magnificent. The Mahal had enough rooms to accommodate all our guests in the night. Everyone had a great time and it was a wedding for the ages.

The whole staff was very flexible and in particular we would like to thank Mr Ashok who went out of his way to make sure everything went on smoothly. Thanks everyone for your support and for making it a grand success.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akshath r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    141
    90
    50
    42
See reviews for
151
137
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This erstwhile retreat of the queen of Mysore should be a much sought after place to stay, but it is not. The building and the property is in urgent need of a face lift and proper maintenance. The staff is helpful but it cannot hide the poor maintenance of the property, with paints peeling off, edges of woodwork frayed, and the stained linen, bed-sheets and towels. In our room breakfast was included.but the choice is rather limited. The dinner was disappointing. Given the heritage of the building and the surroundings it could be a premier hotel is properly maintained. If you are looking to stay here, please ensure that you have a transport of your own as there is not much around the hotel. I would advice any traveler to avoid this hotel unless you have an urge to stay in a former palace.

Room Tip: The hotel is about 5 kms from the city centre and there is not much around the Hotel. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitavaDeb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is lovely. We ended up staying longer over Christmas. Yes it is an old hotel but why stay somewhere where when you go into your hotel you could be in any city in the world. Love the beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A heritage property is just not enough to justify high rates and poor quality. The property in badly maintained and seems like the stuff is just not trained at all. We got old totally torn towels with holes all over them and one sachete of hair shampoo for two people for two nights stay. Also we got a wake up call service (that we didn't order) at 4 am. The reception kept calling for several minutes, as the phone in our room (along with many other things in the hotel) was not working and they couldn't hear us. Ten minutes later they sent someone for a baggage pick up. I admire the photographer who took the photos of the hotel, as they did an amazing photoshop job! In reality the pool was so dirty that the water was olive green from all the residue on the walls. We would never dare to take a dip. We also skipped breakfast both mornings as the buffet table cloths were so dirty and stained with food that we just lost appetite. The place is simply dirty. 6000 rs/ night for this standard is a bad joke. The palace itself is amazing, I'd definitely recommend to come for dinner, but not spend the night. There is nothing 5 star in that place (apart from architecture). I must add that we've been living in India for almost a year and we visit a lot of hotels with different standards, but that was by far the biggest dissapointment ever.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The rooms are excellent and really very comfortable. The service too is great, the staff quite accommodating and friendly. We initially planned to spend two nights, but ended up spending 4 nights!

The food though, I must say, is terrible. The breakfast; well except for the idilies and sambar, is horrible; the bread stale, comes with low grade jams and marmalade, the juices of low quality.. and it does get quite monotonous if you are there on an extended visit for they serve the same little menu day after day.

We tried the dinner buffet, and that turned out to be a disaster as well. The spread is not that great at all, and the food tastes very bland, with no flavor, and generally very lacking. And it was the same with their A la carte menu, that they serve only in the rooms. We tried different things and different cuisines, and all of it was rather terrible. And the food is not cheap at all too.

So all in all, makes for a great stay, but you better plan to eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the top floors. They have the best views. Go on weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

So, the hotel is quite old, and dusty and a bit tired--but it is also totally awesome because it is so absolutely real. I paid for a suite, which was relatively inexpensive--I had a huge room with ceilings that were at least 16 feet high--had a giant living room with mahogany furnishings and inlaid mother of pearl--it really felt like the hotel had changed very little in the 90 years or so it has been around...the restaurant was excellent--the only issue really was that the room was pretty dusty--I have asthma and i ended up sleeping on a cot because the netting all around the bed was really dusty...
The air conditioning made me actually cold!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful hotel surrounded by excellent green hills.
Nice heritage rooms, antique interiors with old fashioned bathroom fittings really takes back you 100 years. Refreshed morning is just breath taking.
Warm reception is unforgettable one experience.

Room Tip: Try to get the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad_Shahin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,085 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#16 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
555 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
981 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel

Property: Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel
Address: Lalitha Mahal Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570028, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Indian-style Hotel, formerly a Maharaja's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lalitha Mahal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalitha Mahal Palace Mysore
Mysore Lalitha Mahal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing