We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowly getting back to it's Glory”
Review of Mysore Dasprakash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mysore Dasprakash
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slowly getting back to it's Glory”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

"One eyed man is the king in blind man's world

This place was known for its class and hospitality In between due to the generations change there was slackness in all aspects , now there is appreciable changes and the on going work is visible, with this kind of initiative I'm sure it'll be restored to it yesteryear glory.But the management should not be complacent must keep restoring upgrading to full-fill the old and new clintails wants. And aslo the Management must address food quality and reopen the utility- shop immedtly.

Insipte of what is said still I would rate it the best hotel for its location-tariff-service & ambience. One must experience and then come to a conclusions.

rajde

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramraj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    43
    12
    21
See reviews for
74
23
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in Dasprakash Parasdise, Mysore One night and 2 days. The HHotel is decent and comfortable. Very Neatly maintained. The restaurent food is very good. Fod Quality is good.
They arranged a cab on time for us to roam in and around mysore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archana19841729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This Hotel boasts as one of the best from a long time is kept in a shabby state. In the month of July 2013 we took 2 rooms (214 and 215) for a night and we had a tough time. The door locks were not working. The wood was peeling off. Toilet bowl should have been white in colour is stained brown. The telephone shower was not working. The taps were all scaled and the flush never stops after flushing. One has to operate from the tap control.
Room 214 was infested with bed bugs moving over the white sheets as if it belongs to them. Room 215 was smelling strong with the bug treatment spray. Both ceiling fans had only two controls working-minimum and maximum.
Apart from all these though there are many boards indicating about the noise disturbance and mobile use restrictions, the entire corridor was full of noise althrough the night. No one came to control those who were cause for that. One of the opposite rooms was occupied by a family who had brought a LPG portable stove which was not allowed, and were happily making their food on that.
Over all it was a lesson we learnt and we would like to caution others to look before they book.

Room Tip: Look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantaram3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are after 5 star luxury move on. If you want an economical and clean room, with a taste of old India this is the place to stay. The rooms are simple and furnished with dark wood, Shaker-type furniture, with crisp white sheets - no guessing if the sheets are clean here. The hotel was evidently built in the 50s and not much has changed since then and with a bit of luck it won't change too much in the future and thus lose its charm. The bathrooms are pretty basic but I had fantastic hot 'bucket' baths every day - a luxury at the price of the room. I agree that a room at the back and on the upper floor is probably better as the hotel is, very conveniently, in the centre of city, but the city 'closes down' by 10.30/11pm and is very quiet. Grab a bottle of whatever you drink from the 'wine shop' over the road, along with a mixer and watch the sun set over the palace and city from the roof top.

I found the reception good and they happily accommodated my needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Hotel is close to the Mysore Palace. We stayed in the Hotel Overnight on the way to Ooty on May 22,2013. It has good parking space and has a vegetarian restaurant attached. One cannot expect much luxury at low cost. The property is old but clean. It has room service and laundry. All rooms don't have TV(Blessing when you go on vacation)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SANDEEP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a very large hotel, so I can understand why there are a lot of different opinions. Our room reminded us a bit of a prison (they actually call guests on all their signs "inmates") and we find that appropriate. There were no exterior windows to our cell, er. room. The room did have high ceilings so it actually didn't feel that closed in. Everything was as basic as could be, stone floors, hard beds, but sufficient.

The hotel operators had the tendency to turn off power to your room the moment you left, so there was no opportunity to charge anything while away. They would actually knock on your door randomly and if you didn't respond the power would be shut off.

They have a strange 24 hour check-in policy where you pay for your room in 24 hour increments. We arrived at 5am. While it was great that they allowed us into our room immediately, we had to leave the room on our last day by 5 or be charged for another day...that was very inconvenient.

Reception was not the most friendly. We stayed for four or five nights and while they did provide a tiny bar of soap, we ran out after a couple days and had a tough time convincing reception that we could possibly need more soap. They did end up giving us some. They also couldn't provide a basic map of the area, or really any information, instead telling us to go to a bookstore.

The location is really what saves this place. It is quite central to the amazing city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlottingtheCour... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It has a good resturant where good vegetarian food is served and it is located in the heart of the city and has space for parking. Rooms which are being furbished and good location to walk to the palace and city centre.

Room Tip: This is one of the few old hotels but since being refurbished. It is well located and is in the hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumar803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#64 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#76 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#36 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel BS International
Hotel BS International
#41 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#13 of 101 in Mysuru (Mysore)
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysore Dasprakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Dasprakash

Property: Mysore Dasprakash
Address: Gandhi Square, Mysuru (Mysore) 570 001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 101 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysore Dasprakash 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Mysore Dasprakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysore Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Dasprakash Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing