We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like lived in an Antique Era - Indeed Old is Gold”
Review of Mysore Dasprakash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mysore Dasprakash
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Indeed the saying Old is Gold is true. The rooms took me back to my childhood days, those beds, hangers, doors, switches, fan and regulators, desks all of bygone era. Good to see that they have retained all this and the maintainence is great. We need to show such things to our kids. The overall environment inside and outside the room is healthy. Worth the value. The overall support from the staff was great. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our short vacation to Karnataka was a last minute plan. Our 2- day stay in Mysore was very memorable, thanks to the hospitality of the hotel staff. I almost felt like home. Since I was travelling with my parents and brother, we had booked a family room of 4 for ourselves on the recommendation of a cousin. It is a heritage building and yet the essence is not lost because of the very efficient management. The rooms are clean and the sight of the clean white sheets is very pleasing to the eye. I loved the food at 'Akshaya'- the hotel's in-house restaurant. Infact, the best food we would have had on the entire trip- be it the thali, spicy bisibelle bhath, tiffin snacks or even something as basic as pongal or even curd rice. The hotel is located in the heart of the city and provides cab services along a with a driver cum guide if you wish to tour the city (which you should if you are visiting). The staff of the hotel is very helpful and open to suggestions. This hotel is even better than the hotels KSTDC gives on its tours in terms of value for money, cleanliness, location and food. What more do you need to sum up a very good trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharvari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I was at first charmed by the rustic, worn walls, double doors and the fact that it's mysore's first hotel...everything seemed pretty clean for the price.
I was then bitten on arms, legs, back and face.... Do not stay here unless bedbugs are your thing!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank mgil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

decided to stay in this place although there are quite many bad reviews for this hotel.

It is budget choice but it is much better than I expected.

Room is basic but it is decent and clean, the building is old but well maintained, which add a little charm to stay in this place.

Ask for a better room when checkin, from the reviews, maybe some rooms are not well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santravelblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is very old and the recent renovation hasnt helped must. All i can say is that the hotel has seen better days. On the other hand a great location. The bathrooms are old fationed and below average. If you are used to 3 star hotels and above dont even bother considering the hotel. This hotel is not bad its just very old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriviCatoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

When we pulled up to this hotel, we were instantly charmed by the 1940s character of the place. The place is definitely a bit dilapidated, but the overall charm and character are very present. The rooms are very affordable, and the location is perfect. We enjoyed our breakfasts at the restaurant where the very polite elderly wait staff wear uniforms, including hats. Our waiter brought us a sampler plate of all the local porridge and kitcheree options so we could know what to order. The neighborhood around the hotel is fascinating to explore, and the palace is nearby. Glad we stayed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaDena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We checked into the hotel and were feeling it was just an OK place, bit old and unmaintained, but in a good location in town.
Woke up in the early morning to find bed bugs crawling all over us. Had a look around and found smaller bed bugs all along the skirting board. Got up and checked out. Manager on duty showed no surprise at all, just "we'll have to fumigate the room then" - it's clearly a regular thing there, he said we "should have told them sooner so they could give us a different room".
No refund
No apology
Barely even an acknowledgment that bed bugs are something undesirable
Spent the new day cleaning all our stuff and having all our clothes laundered - not a cheap or fun experience - avoid

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldmeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#65 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suvarna Residency
Suvarna Residency
#80 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sujatha Residency
Hotel Sujatha Residency
#37 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
Bombay Tiffanys Hotel
#90 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Kastle
Kings Kastle
#44 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mysore Dasprakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mysore Dasprakash

Address: Gandhi Square, Mysuru (Mysore) 570 001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £3 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mysore Dasprakash 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mysore Dasprakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mysore Dasprakash Hotel Mysore
Dasprakash Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing