We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Mysore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
495 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“A good choice in Mysore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in room #112 for 3 nights. The room was nicely decorated, clean, comfortable. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good, and the drinks and snacks we had in the same restaurant in the evening were also good. The public areas are beautiful, and service from the waiters and other staff was also good.

However, the front desk service needs improvement. We arrived late in evening to find the lobby empty, and the only woman working behind the counter ignored us, focussing on her paperwork. When I tried to get her attention, she said grimly, still staring at her paperwork, "Do you have a reservation?" So don't expect a warm welcome at check-in.

Check-out was mass confusion. There was a long line of people waiting to check-out, and so a very long wait. When it was finally my turn and I tried to pay in cash for my laundry (our room reservations were pre-paid), they had no change and actually told me to go get change. I was quite surprised at this poor customer service, and lucky to be able to borrow some change from my traveling companions (one of whom had a mistake on her bill which the management would not correct until she loudly argued with them).

So I can only recommend the Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel between check-in and check-out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Kindly accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused at the time of check out.

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on the hotel and the services you experienced.

We are especially happy that you liked the services,

We will certainly review your positive comments and also more importantly, work on the areas of improvement that you have mentioned .

We hope that you have another opportunity to visit Mysore and stay @Metropole and give us a chance to live upto all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    305
    92
    46
    18
See reviews for
296
299
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

There is not much to choose from in Mysore. This is sup rising because Mysore has the Palace which is one of the most beautiful sites we have seen in India. The Metropole is in a good location to go for walks to the market and shopping areas. The property was probably nice during the last century but has lost it. We were given an upgrade on the room which means that we had a much bigger room with the same amount of furniture that a small room has. The bathroom was right out of the Indian Prison system design book. You could not stay logged in to the wifi for more than 5 minutes till you were dropped. The food was best described as "didn't get sick". There is another property right around the corner, the Regalis, where we ended up going for meals. The rooms look like the standard box hotel room but if I were you I would stay there.

Room Tip: The best room is somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dogsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on the hotel .

We value your feed back and will ensure ,we review our services to ensure it is in line with our customers expectations.

We hope that you have another opportunity to visit us again soon and give us a chance to live upto your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Two nights here after some memorable rural stays, so maybe we noticed the city sounds more - but our upgrade to huge rooms and the service at dinner of our waiter (we let him recommend our food and were not disappointed - fabulous tandoori) made our stay. The Reception (especially the lady, whose name I have lost) were helpful and professional. Just one gripe: wi-fi service was rather unpredictable (and why charge, dear Corporate Finance Director, when so many others places do not?!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on the hotel and the services you experienced.

We will certainly review your positive comments and also more importantly work on the area you have mentioned - on WiFi charges.

We all lookforward to welcome you all back @Metropole on your next viist to Mysore.!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. We got upgraded to one of the premier rooms which was huge and very well appointed. The service from the porters and all other staff was professional at all times.The food in the restaurant, particularly the tandori is outstanding. Its also a very handy location with the palace and markets no more than 30 rupees by auto.
BEWARE however. We made our booking through the Royal Orchid central booking office and got a pdf that clearly stated CONFIRMED.They had our credit card details etc. The local hotel manager however decided to cancel our booking because we didn't reply to his Email 48hours prior to arrival. After some assertive exchanges on the phone we got the upgrade but it could have gone the other way. Apparently this over-riding of bookings is part of some pathetic power struggle. Royal Orchid needs to get on to this guy and put him in his place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest

Extremly sorry for all the inconvenience cauesd during the check in .We will certainly work on our shortfall.

We thank you for sharing your positive feedback on the hotel and the services you experienced. We feel it is important to constantly review our services to ensure that we meet our guest expectations.

We hope that you have another opportunity to visit Mysore and we get a chance to welcome you all back@Metropole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We had the buffet lunch on January 28, 2012. We sat outside by the courtyard which was very nice. The service was good and the staff were very courteous. The buffet was average and the food was nothing exciting. I wouldnt mind going back to the courtyard and having a beer (but not the food).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tm1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on the hotel and the services you experienced.

We will certainly review your comments and also more importantly, work on the areas of improvement that you have mentioned .

On your next visit to Mysore we wish and hope you will give us a chance to welcome you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We checked in very early to the hotel (much thanks). The room with a balcony was very large and pretty well equipped, with the usual hard-ish Indian beds. The chef at the restaurant tried very hard to please, and cooked us some special dishes which included some of the best food we had in southern India. But the restaurant service is incredibly slow and disorganized, we would wait for 40 minutes to order, and then 3 waiters would turn up at once. Food in the outdoor restaurant tended to be on the cold side. Needs a good manager to kick everyone into shape.
The hotel is centrally located, but on a very busy junction, and so the combination of the usual horn-sounding, plus a loud disco from the next door hotel, ensured that sleep was pretty difficult to achieve, but this is pretty usual in India. Our best tip- stay here, but take ear plugs and don't be in a hurry to eat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snappergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback to the hotel team.


We appreciate your suggestions and will look into improving them. We hope you visit us again and experience the difference at our hotel. We value your feedback and have taken your comments very seriously

We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Royal Metrople.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived without a booking, looking very dirty and dishevelled after a long drive in a tuk-tuk but we were made very welcome by the reception staff. The room was lovely, extremely comfortable beds with huge pillows. Bathroom was great with bath & shower, loads of hot water and toiletries provided and also very clean The lunchtime service was a bit slow but evening service was excellent and the fish tikka absolutely delicious. The courtyard in the evening was very busy and a nice atmosphere in which to eat. My only complaint was the internet charges which were quite overpriced compared to town but that's only a minor quibble.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review of our hotel and also for your compliments.
Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our guests.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#18 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing