We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Gross Incompetence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Thanks to a previous TripAdvisor review warning, we requested and obtained triple confirmation of our reservation (they got the month wrong first time). Arrrived at Hotel to be received by Basil Fawlty reception staff who refused to believe we had booked (despite hard copy of booking confirmation), and told us to go somewhere else as hotel full!
After fuss got GM to check with central reservations who confirmed our booking, and 2 hrs later shown to our rooms. Mouldy wallpaper peeling in places, paintwork slapdash, but otherwise clean & spacious. GM did decent thing & offered us a meal on the house
Strangely, restaurant food & service were superb. Surreal internet charge !!!!

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back.
We will certainly work on our shortfall ,so that we can meet all our guest expectations.

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
There are newer reviews for Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

spent wonderful nights here in feb 2012. very solid comfort and appointments housed within a colonial maharaja place done to house visiting british back in the day. Great large spotlessly clean rooms. Our room was upstairs with a balcony overlooking the city streets. Food was good with authentic tandoors. The pool was beautifully maintained and well situated. HIGHLY recommended stay in a truly wonderful city.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms have a private large balcony with tables and chairs and some couches with a ceili...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-clayton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to note you had a comfortable stay with us.l. I have shared your positive comments with the team members and they are really motivated . We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Mysore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Its actually a palace where the late Mysore Maharaj entertained his European Guests. Now it has been turned in to this Hotel. The reception area looked very modern i thought they have changed it completely. I was given a room with a view of the pool from the Balcony.

When i stepped in to the room i was feeling i had moved nearly 100 years back it was all antiques out there everything in the room was selected with great care and equal care has been taken to furnish them also.

The food in the restaurant was good and real value for the money. The Minibar was finely stocked with everything needed from water to snacks and chocolate.

I left sad to leave the property. But any one travelling to Mysore must stay here once.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cibiraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your feed back with our team who are really motivated by such responses by our guests. look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The psyche of this place is amply demonstrated by their actualy chrging to use the internet at an incredible rate of Rs150 per 30 minutes when it should surely be free with direct access from room. Both checkin & out were poorly handled, they erred on the bill and couldn't recify it just by p[aying the Rs300 overcharged.
Very amateurish overall and overpriced.
Much better to stay in Sri Harsha road - several decent pads to stay in.

Room Tip: Stay in Sri Harsha Road
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,


Tank you for taking time to give us your feed back.

We have billed the internet charges as per our rate guidelines.

We assure you that will share your opinion with our senior management .

Kindly accept our sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is very attractive for the nostalgic Western traveller, as it breathes foregone colonial style in the best of its human ways. There are high standards of excellency in maintenance, service, meals, and just the general mood. It's equipment is solid and classic, adequately comfortable, the setting old with big trees in the sheltered and flowery courtyard with its romantic candle-lit dining facility.
Some days per week, however, the entire place was booked out to bus-loads of well-to-do tourists. We - my Indian colleague and I (German) - were staying for some 10 days, but had to move twice in-between (for one night each time) to another hotel, which for a business traveller is a real hazzle. It made us feel like gypsies from a luxury refuge: pack up everything, go, come back next day.
One other aspect of improvement: to connect to the internet costs you more than 10 €uros per day. That is simply outrageous. Provide internet for free, like everywhere else in the world, especially for your business travelers who stay for several nights.
Two staff members deserve to be mentioned especially:
Bhavia at reception, who treated us with great empathy and frankness regarding the fact that the hotel was booked up totally on 2 days, and she had to move us to another place. Congratulations for handling this difficult situation with professionalism and sensitivity!
And Niveditha, who was caringly, proactively and respectfully helpful when we needed an extension cord and other small extras to work on the terrace. She was just a good fairy, kind, well-tempered, and welcoming to us. Chapeau!
We will always come back, inspite of the conflicting target markets that the hotel accommodates, probably to the detriment of the business traveler.

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are dark during the day. First floor rooms in the garden wing are a bit lighter. F...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jh592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,


We thank you for sharing the feed back!!!We will certainly review our services standards based on your feedback.

We firmly believe in "Home away from home" atmosphere created as we know how challenging living far away from home .

The staff you have personally mentioned are thrilled to receive such comments and we have shared them on our staff boards accordingly and it really encourages us all to improve our services even further!!!!!

We look forward to having you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Two unusual things happened when checking in: We were delighted to be upgraded to a huge maharajah suite and I was devastated when a little gold screw fell out of my spectacles causing one of the arms to fall off and rendering the glasses and me temporarily useless. Within minutes three or four staff were searching on their hands and knees on the floor as well as doing a very thorough job of sweeping the floor area but alas to no avail but that was because the screw had fallen into my wife’s tote bag which we discovered after searching the bag in our room. My wife dryly commented that trust me to have half a dozen people crawling on their hands and knees looking for a screw within minutes of arrival! :)

The room was huge with genuine heritage furniture including an antique rolltop desk and the L-shaped balcony was bigger than most hotel rooms. But, there is a significant negative (as commented on by others) and that is the “heritage” bathroom - an old bathroom with a poor shower recess and inadequate hot water.

Food wise, we didn’t find it particularly good but neither did we have any complaints and the pistachio milkshake available at the buffet breakfast was delicious.

The convenient location is another plus so all in all we were very happy with our two-night stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing the feed back!!!We will certainly review our service standards based on your feedback.

We are happy that you liked our breakfast services .

We all look forward to welcome you all back on your next trip to Mysore!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel on an organised trip and had a really pleasant two night stay. Our group of eight all ate together in the lovely open air restaurant, the chef talked us through the menu to make sure we ordered what we wanted, then came back later to check we were happy. The food was very good and we didn't experience the long delays other reviewers have reported. Next morning, I happened to mention that it was our anniversary and within five minutes Ms Niveditha had presented us with flowers and several members of staff shook our hands and wished us well. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 155019Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest

Team Metropole thank you for the feed back.

We firmly believe that we should try and create a "Home from home" atmosphere as much as possible.

The staff you have personally mentioned are thrilled to receive such comments and we have shared them on our staff boards accordingly and it really encourages us all to improve our services even further!!!!!

We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Mysore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
431 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#13 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 104 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £43 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing