We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our Mysore trip was as impromptu as it can get. So much so that we started looking for hotels after reaching the city limits. After checking out 3-4 hotels, we finally reached here and were very impressed with the architecture and maintenance of this place.

We just wanted to stay for one night to explore the city and we got a pretty decent breakfast inclusive deal.

The room we got was small but the verandah outside was considerably sized! The bed was super comfortable. Almost of 5-star quality. All basic amenities were provided for. The best part was the room and the bathroom were spotless! Very well maintained.

Next up, their hospitality is really worth mentioning. Since after exploring the palace etc we reached pretty late, they had just closed the lunch buffet. But we were starving. Instead of offering us the limited in room dining options, they offered anything we wanted from the buffet. We were sceptical about being served leftovers or stale food but they assured us that would not be the case, so we went ahead. The food came in such copious amounts, even our hungry stomachs could not consume it all. And it was absolutely fresh - figured out from the succulent pieces of chicken and hot tandoori rotis we were served - and delicious.

Having had such lovely food, we wanted to go to their restaurant for dinner but when we reached, it was packed with locals. Figured this place really must be a favorite among them as well. We ordered in room. Great food...again.

Also, breakfast spread the next morning was unexpectedly vast. I really had not expected such a lavish spread for the price we paid!!! Hot and cold - all sorts of variety were available.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a mid range hotel with exceptional service and food to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCD_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

Team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Royal Orchid Metropole look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We visited Mysore for the first time and the objective was to expose the children to the rich culture and history of the southern states. The hotel booked on someones reference seemed to be just the right place for this outing. The building takes you back in time with the look and architecture. I was given to understand that it was the official guesthouse of the king before it was converted into a hotel.

The restaurant in the courtyard looked deserted in the day time but the weather and the setting was perfect for dinner. The food was good though service was not up to the mark.

They have a pool but it is more like a duck pond with ugly dark blue tiles, completely avoidable.

I wish i had more time to spend reading under the tree or to explore other interesting nooks and corners. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive /Negative observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for two nights. The first night booked the Heritage room which was very nice and spacious. The toilet was large and had a an old fashioned bath tub. The verandah was lovely and was really nice to sit out and have tea. Overall service was very good. There were minor issues such as the hair dryer that was provided was not working. This seemed to have been overlooked by housekeeping. Also one of the lights in the room was not working. We had dinner at the hotel in the courtyard below. The food was really good and sitting outdoors in this heritage ambiance was wonderful. The following day we decided to move the the Maharaja suite. The Maharaja suite was indeed worth every rupee. It was extremely spacious with a huge verandah. We loved the room and had room service at night as there was a dining table in the verandah where we could sit and enjoy the outdoors as well. Room service was good but a little limited in their selections. This time we asked for one of the items on the bathroom menu that once can ask for and sadly they could not provide it at that point in time. But overall we had a wonderful stay and next time in Mysore would stay again at the Metropole.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

We noted experience you have had with our services.

Have shared the feed back with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Will look forward to welcome you all back .

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stay at metropole 4-6 months of the year on business. I can say the service is consistent and friendly, but you are able to enjoy your own time away from the noise of the city. It's very relaxing especially when you need some down time. I see other travellers come and go and their experience has always been good. I've found that requests are answered promptly and with professional rigour, and I know this is not matched in most of the other major (and more expensive) hotels. Wifi and laundry is expensive but if you are able to avoid these, the value is very good. People travel to eat at the famous restaurant and food is top quality. If you are not staying at Metropole a meal on Saturday or Sunday night is worth a trip in itself. The staff are very knowledgeable and can assist with nearly every question you might have about the city. They are very close to the palace and Sunday night when the palace lights up is a must for anyone passing through. Overall it's a beautiful hotel and I look forward to coming back each time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdManSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The building is very nice and located not too far from downtown or the University.
There are two level of rooms: some standards overlooking the patio and the deluxe overlooking on the street side, but far enough that they are not too noisy. Those have a nice. large balcony.
The rooms are large, as in old-fashioned mansion large: ours had a foyer, high ceilings, large bed, wardrobes, TV, desk. Bed was comfortable, AC worked well, TV also. Nice wood floors, unfortunately covered in places by tired looking carpets.
Bathroom large also but the wearing-out shows more in the bathroom (need to start the water heater 10 minutes before you need hot water).
Nice breakfast area around the patio or inside, good spread and good coffee.
Hotel staff is very helpful, I needed help with scanning and printing which they did very quickly.
In conclusion this is a good hotel (given India's current offerings) and it could be very good with a little investment. Competition is coming to town as we saw a large Radisson under way near the Palace. Hopefully it will prompt improvement at the Metropole.
We recommend to take a Deluxe room on the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.

We value your feed back and will work your suggestion.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

So this was our second stop during our trip to the South. I visited this hotel in April 2013 along with my parents and my younger sister. The hotel is well known amongst the locals so you shouldn't have any problems finding it. Parking was a breeze too. We had initially booked 2 Heritage rooms but were gladly surprised on being upgraded to the Maharaja Suite(one) during our check in. My first impression of this hotel was similar to the Sariska Palace in Rajasthan but it turned out to be just way more better. I was surprised to find that my room (a Heritage) was not the suite because it was so large and royal than any hotel I'd ever stayed in! So you can pretty much imagine my reaction on seeing the Mahraja Suite ( pics attached) ;)
The size of the rooms is just stupendous! My sister is a swimmer so she went off to the pool area (which was visible from The Maharaja's balcony ). She came back telling me that it was only open till 5pm and that they had some swimming classes for the locals in the mornings but anyways it was clean enough to swim in.
The best was yet to come. We belong to Delhi and were more ( and by more i mean MORE!) than delighted to find their North Indian dinner taste just like it tastes in a Mughlai restaurant here!(yes the paneer is soft unlike the rest of South India!). They served it us in the outdoor over the screening of an IPL match under cool breeze. Hats off to the staff there, courteous, well mannered and not to intriguing.
The next day it was my parents anniversary so my mother went to the reception at night and they were gracious enough and got us a fresh bouquet !
All in all it was an excellent stay and hats off to the staff there. Royal Orchid Metropole is a charming heritage hotel which will stay edged in your heart forever :)
Wish to be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shikhar_joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.
We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Really enjoyed my stay on 2 Sep 2013 during my business trip to Mysore. Well maintained with neat sense of historic touch, it offers different proposition. Location is good so are food and service. All in all, very good and worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumitd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

Team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Metropole will look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,601 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#7 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £48 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing