We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Heritage Property, Pleasand Staff but Average Room/Bath Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #7 of 117 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It's located close to just about everything and the property in general has a nice old world charm about it. We were there about a month back - we being the 2.5 year old, the Mrs. and of course yours truly.<br>
This was an online deal, checkin was prompt and they were happy to oblige when we asked for another room nearer to another couple we knew.<br>
The room itself was a mix of good and bad - good nice balcony, the bed was comfortable and clean. The bad - not very well lit and despite being reasonably sized, was not much free space inside. The chair(s) could use some newer cushions/upholstery.<br>
The bath - big but not very nice. For one there was no exhaust fan, granted it has high ceilings and a vent but for this type of property I expect an exhaust fan (the bath mirror should be usable after a shower!). The commode while getting the job done, required multiple flushes. The shower while ok, was certainly not what I'd expect in a luxury property.<br>
We were there for a night and the staff were for the most part helpful and courteous.<br>
The restaurant was a bit of hit and miss. I'll have a separate review on that shortly. The evening service was atrociously late - even getting water and drinks for our table took a half hour (we were Indians amongst a lot of foreigners). I for sure know other tables also were not getting their food promptly, so it may not quite be just nationality that matters.<br>
NOTE: I had conveyed this feedback on service as part of Royal Orchid's follow up email and got a prompt response from the Manager saying that this will be fixed and they value all customers equally. <br>
This I consider positive, actually very positive, what happens when there is a complaint or an exception to regular process indicates the dedication of the business and for this I truly appreciate the manager taking the time to respond.<br>
Overall a mixed bag but I think you can do better for your money at least until such time as the rooms get a bit of a refurb. Their lunch/dinner is certainly worth a visit but do give yourself plenty of time for dinner.

Room Tip: I'd say go for something on the first floor (not ground floor), so that you can you enjoy the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjaySR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive /Negative observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

Our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services.We do take pride in our hotel and will do our best to prevent problems from recurring .
We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We loved our two nights here. Beautiful old building - getting a bit tired, but still evocative of it's grand past and way more enjoyable than cookie cutter modern chain hotels. The gardens were peaceful and cool - very welcome relief from the noisy, dusty streets outside the wall. We were upgraded to the Maharaja Suite which was enormous. As big as an apartment with a huge balcony. The huge bathroom was a bit strange - being old, the facilities were a not as convenient as they might be. The shower over the bath is not great and there was no non slip mat to make climbing in and out easier or safer. The hand basin was large, but there was nowhere to put things like toothbrushes, make up etc. in front of the mirror.
Staff were helpful. When we found that the bath plug did not fit, it was attended to promptly. The service in the restaurant was not fast, but then we were not in a rush so it didn't matter. The food was well worth waiting for! The breakfasts were super - no continental options for us when Dosa, Idli and Puri are on offer along with mango lassi. The restaurant staff were friendly, attentive and remembered our preferences on the second day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toppies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we had 3 nights at this unusual hotel, that used to be a classical guest house for vips,
the first night the service in the restaurant was poor, but from that moment on it got better and better
We found the people in reception extremely helpful and once we got chatting all had a great sense of humour nothing was to much trouble
The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable, the food was also better than we could have hoped for ,we would recommend hotel. one small note the pool was not up to much

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience .Our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our accommodation &services.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Royal Orchid Metropole in Mysore unfortunately embodies the worst side of the Indian tourist trade: a beautiful, heritage hotel with a few excellent staff, undermined by chaotic management, shoddy maintenance and generally poor service.

First the good: this is a beautiful building and a peaceful place to hang out in the heart of  Mysore. Some of the restaurant staff were attentive and their captain was excellent - welcoming, cheerful,  nothing was too much trouble.

However, they are let down by a series of issues, mostly down to the attitude of other staff. We arrived to a bit of a shambles:
- at check in, we were told we could only have the rooms we booked for one night. We'd booked for two and had written confirmation of the same but, due to some unspecified problem with the central booking facility, this hadn't been communicated to the hotel correctly.
- the check in staff's first attempt to resolve this was a cursory apology and a suggestion we'd need to stay elsewhere on the second night. When we made clear we wouldn't accept this, and after much negotiation on our part, we were very reluctantly offered a night in a different hotel,  in the same chain 16km away, and a free taxi to Srirangpatana (the latter extracted as the only hint of compensation for the trouble and 90 mins wasted for their incompetence).
- the check in staff were not empowered to offer us anything - they had to clear everything through an invisible senior management to weak to empower their staff and too cowardly to come and speak to us in person. This only added to the stress length of time it took to resolve.
- it was made clear to us that staying the extra night that we'd booked was completely impossible. Only later that evening we were offered exactly that - we could keep the rooms and all that stress had been unnecessary.

Unfortunately, being told something was impossible for it then to happen shortly after became something of a theme of our stay...
- when we came down for a drink that evening. Initially told that the bar was closed, 2 minutes later an (excellent) waiter came over to take our order.
- at lunch the following day we sat down at a seemingly available table only to be told it would be impossible to have lunch there and we'd need to move to other side of the courtyard. We dallied in moving for a couple if minutes only for the same (excellent) waiter to come over, take our order and set the table.

The rooms have also, in my opinion, been poorly maintained. Cracked laminate flooring (not really in keeping with the heritage property), dusty, cracked paint on the walls and a swimming pool which was far from clear.

This is a lovely building and, with a few excellent staff already, should be a great hotel. Our major issue was the needless mistake with our booking but the poor maintenance added to the sour taste. And as for attitude, I was left with the impression that, for many of the hotel staff, the default attitude is to do as little as possible and only deviate from this path when forced by a pushy customer. There were notable exceptins but this is not a great approach from a hotel which aspires to offer a good service and not conducive to a satisfying stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tpw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers/Central reservation system and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


We will certainly work on bettering our service standards .

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We did a stop-over at Mysore on our trip to Coorg and spent one night at this hotel on 11th Oct 2013 during the Dassera Festival.

The property is a beautiful heritage property. We chose to stay here owing to the proximity to the Mysore Palace and Mysore Zoo

We had booked a Heritage Room and were upgraded to the Maharaja Suite which was excellent. It was extremely spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the pool on one side and trees on the other side. They have set up a table for 4 in the balcony and I wish I had the time to do one meal there. The balcony also is road facing so you immediately hear the noisy traffic but if you close the door of the balcony the room is quiet. We expected the Maharaja Suite to have a king-sized bed, but it was small even for a couple.
There are 5 seating arrangements (couches) around the Suite but a very small bed. It also has a large adjoining bathroom.
In the bathroom the shower area is combined with the Bath Tub which is a big negative. There is so much space in the bathroom but under-utilized, the shower area is very inconvenient with elbows hitting the wall.

Room Service was VERY SLOW and the staff did not understand simple instructions when we ordered food from the room.
On our return from visiting the Mysore Palace we went into their 'Shikari' Restaurant for dinner. There was no vacant table and the waiter insisted that we go back to our room and order via room service. Owing to the earlier bad experience with room service we urged them to find us a table. We were seated at the lounge area which is a bit on the side. Here we had to get off our chairs to ask someone to take our order and also had to get off our chair when we wanted to ask for additional food. When we stood up to get someone's attention any staff member passing by would avert his eyes so that he did not have to talk to us, only when we were able to catch the attention of the staff member appointed for our table, our request was looked into. Staff does not understand hospitality.
The food served was good and tasty, we also had the buffet breakfast next morning which was mostly Indian and South-Indian fare, very limited continental options.
The reception staff also did not know much details about tourist attractions and we had to find most of the information from the internet - like timings/days closed etc.
Wi-Fi connectivity is on payment basis only

Room Tip: The heritage rooms are spacious and facing the pool but also beyond the pool is the main road where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaKannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Ms. Gupta

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..We value your feed back

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused.

I have addressed this matter with the our team members /Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.

Will look forward to welcome you all back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our Mysore trip was as impromptu as it can get. So much so that we started looking for hotels after reaching the city limits. After checking out 3-4 hotels, we finally reached here and were very impressed with the architecture and maintenance of this place.

We just wanted to stay for one night to explore the city and we got a pretty decent breakfast inclusive deal.

The room we got was small but the verandah outside was considerably sized! The bed was super comfortable. Almost of 5-star quality. All basic amenities were provided for. The best part was the room and the bathroom were spotless! Very well maintained.

Next up, their hospitality is really worth mentioning. Since after exploring the palace etc we reached pretty late, they had just closed the lunch buffet. But we were starving. Instead of offering us the limited in room dining options, they offered anything we wanted from the buffet. We were sceptical about being served leftovers or stale food but they assured us that would not be the case, so we went ahead. The food came in such copious amounts, even our hungry stomachs could not consume it all. And it was absolutely fresh - figured out from the succulent pieces of chicken and hot tandoori rotis we were served - and delicious.

Having had such lovely food, we wanted to go to their restaurant for dinner but when we reached, it was packed with locals. Figured this place really must be a favorite among them as well. We ordered in room. Great food...again.

Also, breakfast spread the next morning was unexpectedly vast. I really had not expected such a lavish spread for the price we paid!!! Hot and cold - all sorts of variety were available.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a mid range hotel with exceptional service and food to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCD_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back about our hotel.

We are delighted to note that our services met your expectations.

Team at The Metropole ,Mysore joins me in thanking you .

We all @ Royal Orchid Metropole look forward to welcome you on your future visits to Mysore!!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We visited Mysore for the first time and the objective was to expose the children to the rich culture and history of the southern states. The hotel booked on someones reference seemed to be just the right place for this outing. The building takes you back in time with the look and architecture. I was given to understand that it was the official guesthouse of the king before it was converted into a hotel.

The restaurant in the courtyard looked deserted in the day time but the weather and the setting was perfect for dinner. The food was good though service was not up to the mark.

They have a pool but it is more like a duck pond with ugly dark blue tiles, completely avoidable.

I wish i had more time to spend reading under the tree or to explore other interesting nooks and corners. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Guest,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel.
Your positive /Negative observations regarding our service and hotel is inspirational for all of us.

We thank you once again for your support and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#4 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,724 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden Palace & Spa
Royal Orchid Brindavan Garden Pa...
#12 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,211 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
2,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Star Mysore
Southern Star Mysore
#14 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £51 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing