We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely airy picturesque” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely airy picturesque”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Can't beat ambiance. Garden dining pretty and appealing
Room has wonderful covered terrace. I stayed upper floor. Can open screened windows for air
Bathroom okay
TV , bed, linens all more than fine... Clean and uncarpeted which I like
Food is fine I would not describe it as phenomenal. Wait staff in food area a bit less polished ( I asked for a table not in the own sun which was EZ to do by moving one, it was not carried out with panache but implied great inconvenience). Food order slightly slow but no big deal

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.
Thank you for very much for posting your experience and suggestion on Trip Advisor .


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    305
    92
    46
    18
See reviews for
294
299
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Overall this hotel is really lovely. The restaurant, especially in the evening, was memorable with fantastic food! Our room was spacious and comfortable although the bathroom was a little tired with a cracked basin and some truly awful grouting which really needs some attention. Paying for wi fi was a slight annoyance especially as the connection was so slow that it was almost impossible to download photographs, newspapers etc. In summary, a little investment in infrastructure would make this hotel top notch.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105. Quite noisy near main road if you want to sit outside but quiet at night wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.
Thank you for very much for posting your experience and suggestion on Trip Advisor .
I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I decided to stay here very last minute during a trip to Mysore. We were so glad we did! The hotel is really charming, Quiet, but still centrally located. Excellent service. The food was amazing and really memorable. Excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore.
We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Royal Orchid Metropole is a "heritage" hotel and this is immediately apparent as soon as one enters the hotel. It is maintained very well and is a pleasure to behold. The staff is courteous and even the janitorial staff members are friendly and go out of their way in assisting in simple and efficient ways. I would recommend the courtyard restaurant where the food is quite excellent but not inexpensive. Additionally, the staff went above and beyond when they mailed my scarf (that had sentimental value for me) back to me - one that I had mistakenly left behind in my room; and act that was very touching and one that few hotels would have taken the care to send. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and recommend it very highly to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!
We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.
Thank you for very much for posting your experience on Trip Advisor .
I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013. The hotel is lovely, the service excellent, the ambience spectacular. The restaurant at the hotel is also wonderful.

I want to make a special note of the service at the restaurant. Every meal was spectacular. More importantly, the wait-staff made us feel very welcome-- they clearly took great pride in their job. At dinner the last night we mentioned to the host that while we had bought gifts, we had neglected to buy some Mysore coffee. We were so pleasantly surprised to get a knock on the door late at night-- they had sent someone out to buy us our coffee! All the staff deserve a raise!!!

We will definitely go back to Mysore, and most certainly stay at Royal Orchid Metropole.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore.

We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.
Thank you for very much for posting your experience on Trip Advisor .

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I had a lovely stay in this hotel. It is really beautiful - captures the charm of Mysore. You can tell it used to be a Maharaja's palace! Great location - I walked down to the market on my first afternoon with no trouble and could see all the sites and get to restaurants very easily other days. Also great if you are visiting the University of Mysore which I was since it is just next door. Everyone I talked to in Mysore knows this place and thinks of it as the best hotel in town. My room on the second floor was the nicest I had in 3 weeks in India - I especially loved the old wood style and the balcony - though the AC unit had some trouble and I had to call to have it fixed a couple of times. Other issues: the gym REALLY needs some updating. Equipment is old and creaky and there really needs to be AC in there! (gets too hot with the door closed and too buggy w/ it open). The pool is nice but I wanted it to be open at the end of the day when I came back to the hotel after a long day and needed to relax. I didn't use the restaurant for dinners since it was pricey and didn't have many veg options but the breakfast was fabulous! Order the cooked to order masala dosa. I'm still dreaming about it! Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful- and also helped me book some complicated travel when the travel desk was closed. The cleaning staff are always at it - and the laundry I sent out was done quickly, cheaply and impeccably. All in all a great stay in a really wonderful city.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor to avoid noise from patio dining area - the balconies are a lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

Thank you for very much for posting your experience on Trip Advisor .

I have shared your gracious comments on our service and suggestion we all will work on it..

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Nice Hotel in the heart of Mysore city, well maintained property. Rooms are fairly big with a private balcony. Food is tasty but can improve on the variety of dishes. Staff were very helpful and polite. Overall a great place to stay and relax in Mysore.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsam_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Guest,
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

Thank you for very much for posting your experience and suggestion on Trip Advisor .


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#18 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing