We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unballanced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

You would expect 4 star hotel in this pallace with great charm. Meaning: you feel sorry that they did not take opportunity to work a bit on bathrooms, air conditioning system and some small interiour designs to upgrade it. Dinner setting and some staff attitude is 4star. On the other hand even in 3 star hotel you should not experience that air conditioning is louder that indian traffic noise coming through closed windows. So all together you feel confused as being trapped somewhere between 4 star and 2 star features.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SimplyDrapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest

We are grateful for your time taken to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

At the outset, please do accept my apology for the inconveniences caused.

Your feedback on our service has been taken up with the entire team and rest assured the subject on hospitality skills will be our training topic in all our guest contact areas.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We moved here for 1 night from the Hotel Regalis.What a contrast.Delightful, charming, helpful staff, wonderful clean rooms full of character.Lovely dinner in the evening sitting outside, generally a lovely place to stay.It has a great atmosphere having been the Maharajas guest house.The pool was small but very private and the gardens very well kept.we had the Maharajas suite which was enormous with a huge terrace, fantastic.Bed was comfortable, smashing pillows and instant attention if we neede something

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank b80bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights but the room which we got was in the corner. Although it had a decent sized balcony, the noise from the traffic wasnt ideal to sit out and infact was a disturbance during the morning. Buffet breakfast was good. Although we paid for WIFI, it was not easily accessible in our room :(
Swimming pool was nice and well maintained but again closer to the noise of the traffic.
Reception staff was not completely aware about the attractions close by.

Room Tip: Corner room (216) to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshishDsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team. We will work on our shortfall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were really looking forwards to staying at this hotel in Mysore as we had met up with our daughter who was doing volunteer work in Bangalore and wanted to treat her to a bit of luxury.
Although the booking was made some time before from the UK , we were contacted only a few days before the date to say that they could not honour the booking. This then left us with a very limited choice for other places to stay, and the hassle and difficulty of having to try to arrange something else when we were already on holiday in Kerala and in a place with limited internet access at the time - so we were very upset and disappointed. When we were in Mysore we went to the Royal Orchid for dinner - and it looked really great -so even more disappointed that we could not stay. The food was great although the service was a bit slow - It was noticeable that there were a number of large groups of people there which led me to surmise that we were probably pushed out in favour of a large group - very disappointing and unprofessional if that was the case! We ended up staying at the Regaalis next door which was also really good and had a really great pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lynnandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services .I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence. We will certainly work on bettering our service standards

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights at end of a S. India tour. Great place to unwind and reorganise before flying home. Service was outstanding, the food excellent. I agree with another writer that there was some difficulty at first knowing who was actually serving which table, but it sorted itself out. The food choices were good and the staff very helpful and accommodating. Our upgraded room was huge and airy with a lovely covered patio - a little noisy from the traffic but still a good place to sit.
As others have said, the bathroom was a little tired but clean with a good supply of hot water & towels. In a hotel of this class, however, a second toilet roll should always be provided .......................

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CateP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team. We will work on our shortfall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

ABsolutely incredible property with a sense of an old charm about it. The upgrade was a wonderful surprise. Food was OUTSTANDING! like the north indian food was better than almost all good local restaurants here in delhi! staff is wonderful too so do oblige them ! hats off!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank anuj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

I have shared your gracious comments on our service with the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our traveling group had our lunch in this hotel. The food was excellent, service very good. It is situated in the middle of Mysore. I did not see the rooms but I expect they would be of a good standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Noelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!
The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.
Thank you for very much for posting your experience and suggestion on Trip Advisor .


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore to stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,601 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#14 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
625 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#7 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#2 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 108 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £48 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Metropole is a grand heritage hotel and spread over 2.5 acres of land and is a perfect fusion of old world charm and modern elegant designs, imperial arches, impressive pillars, and flamboyant corridors which was originally built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing