We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Treebo Komfort Suites(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Quorum(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$122
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortune JP Palace(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$81
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Southern Star Mysore(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$63
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Spektrum Suites(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$46
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ginger Mysore(Mysuru (Mysore))
US$39
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel MB International(Mysuru (Mysore))(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveller rating
665
361
109
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
361
109
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal orchidmaharaja suitetiger trailcourtyard restaurantheritage roomheritage propertycolonial styleold world charmcentral courtyardlarge balconyguest housecharming hotellunch buffetfront officemodern amenitiesrailway stationindian food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've noticed that a lot, if not all of the positive reviews relate to heritage rooms. We had a royal room on the ground floor at the end of a long corridor. It was small, dark, noisy and a bit musty - not recommended. The pool area also seemed to be best avoided. The breakfast room was unprepossessing. On the other hand, the location of the hotel is good, the grounds apart from the pool area very nice and the outside evening dining area was lovely. Service was slow and somewhat disorganised (we found it quite entertaining) but the food was good. Staff were generally helpful if not proactive. Paying for wifi is annoying.

Room Tip: Avoid the royal rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

There are indeed echoes of the old colonial past in the grand surroundings of the restaurant. It is based in the inner courtyard of the hotel. The setting is splendid and the food does not disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We particularly asked our travel agent to find us a place which fitted the description 'faded glory' and this certainly fitted the bill.
The first room we were offered ( as a free upgrade) was enormous and fit for a maharaja but was on the ground floor with little natural light. The very kind lady on reception found us an upstairs room in the same wing which was smaller (still big as hotel rooms go) and much more to our liking as it was on the first floor and lighter. Although wonderfully period with its claw foot bath, those with mobility problems might have difficulty in using the shower over the bath - however, a helpful step is provided.
The decor is a little past its sell-by date and the rugs could do with a jolly good clean but if you dislike sanitised uniformity as much as we do, this could be right up your street.
The setting of the restaurant in the courtyard garden of the hotel is very pleasant and the food is exceptional - we had exclusively Indian cuisine.The pace of the restaurant is leisurely so don't be in a hurry.
The only thing that would dissuade us from coming to the hotel again, and this is something that is out of the hotel's control, is the noise of the traffic. The rooms seem to be noise-insulated but if you want to sit on your balcony or terrace, then consider earplugs. It was particularly noticeable for us as we had just arrived from an extremely tranquil spot but for those coming from other big cities, it may not be a problem.
All the staff were very helpful and we greatly appreciated their part in making our stay in India so pleasant.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to review our service standards.

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We
sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just loved the place. Old heritage property right in the middle of the city. Very classy place.
We went for dinner which was in an open air central courtyard. The food was excellent & inexpensive. The desert was fantastic. Great food, lovely environment and open sky - made the dinner memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank SanjayRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

Thank you for taking time to review our service standards .Your feed back will certainly motivate us to keep our spirits high.

look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a couple of hours in a taxi. When we got out of the taxi the sight of the hotel is impressive.
The grounds are very quite compared to the hectic of the city. After checking in and some refreshments we were guided to our room. The room was really nice.
High ceilings and a big ensuite. It looked a bit dated but nothing to complain about. It had everything you want and you're not gonna stay in your room the whole day ( you could if you want... it's big enough).
The location was good as we walked amost everywhere. If you dont wat to walk there are loads of tuk tuk around to take you where you want to go.
The restaurant is really good. Lots of people from other hotels come here for dinner and breakfast was good. A big buffet and if you want something else they're willing to make it for you. All in all a good place to stay and we would go back here if we are in Mysore again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeckishAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,


The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

At Metropole all are happy to know that you have enjoyed the stay with us

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews