We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COLONIAL STYLE BUILDING, EXCELLENT FOOD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“COLONIAL STYLE BUILDING, EXCELLENT FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Entering this wonderfully tree surrounded heritage hotel is like travelling back in time.
Charming Lobby.
Rooms are large with balconies - though a bit old fashioned (some might say in need of modernization), personally, i think, this is the charm of the hotel, it gives you feel of a different era.
Restaurant is very well known and serves excellent food.
Entering the bar is once again, entering into a different era. It could be open bit longer.

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSA-368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

Our pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Mysore.

We thank you for taking time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for your words of praise for our product, restaurants, and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    305
    92
    46
    18
See reviews for
296
299
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not far from the train station, very nice hotel with a kind of colonial flair, very good food at the restaurant, the dinner experience under the mango trees is very nice and romantic, also good breakfast. Rooms are a bit dated but clean with large outdoor sitting area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adayafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

Our pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Mysore.

We thank you for taking time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for your words of praise for our product, restaurants, and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized.


We thank you once again and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is definitely a building with a lot of history and character, and it is conveniently located to some of the main attractions in Mysore. The rooms are large and spacious with big bathrooms and balconies which is nice. However the fixtures in the room we had during our stay detracted from all these positives. The air-conditioner was so loud (even on low) we had to turn it off. We would have been happy to use the ceiling fan but it made so much noise we had to turn it off too. Same for the bar fridge - it shaked and shuddered so much we turned it off at the powerpoint. If you are not staying in your room very much then these things arent too much of an issue but if the weather is hot or if you are planning to stay for several days it definitely detracts from the atmosphere that the rest of the building creates. The exterior is very well maintained and has a very nice ambiance. We overlooked most of the negatives because the restaurant (reviewed separately) was very good and overall the facilities worked well for us traveling as a family. If you stay here be prepared to accept the hotel as you find it and trade off the character of the building for issues with the fixtures.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms on the higher levels and ones that have balconies opening onto the garden rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieroversAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Our pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Mysore. We thank you for taking time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

I will ensure all the mentioned feed back gets attended and our shortfall gets rectified.

We thank you once again and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our overnight stay very much, only wished we had longer to take advantage of pool and more of the restaurant. Lovely meal in the courtyard for dinner and very good choice at breakfast. Staff are helpful and pleasant - this made a great start to our trip to India, and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a more atmospheric hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Our pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Mysore.

We thank you for taking time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for your words of praise for our product, restaurants, and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized.

It is our endeavour to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in Heritage rooms on the top floor which were excellent. Very large and well furnished. The bathrooms had not been modernised but I liked the fact that the character had been retained.

Service was good and efficient throughout. Minor issues were fixed quickly and professionally.

The hotel has an excellent bar and superb courtyard restaurant. The food quality is top notch and very reasonably priced. The large number of Indian guests eating here bears testament to that. Breakfast buffet was also very good.

The location is good. Very close to the train station and an easy walk to the atmospheric Devaraja market. We organised a car through the hotel to visit Ooty which worked well. Good vehicle and driver and price not excessive.

A really enjoyable, comfortable hotel with a sense of history, which has been well preserved. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Heritage Rooms are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO-Metropole, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest

Our pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Mysore.

We thank you for taking time to post your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for your words of praise for our product, restaurants, and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I've noticed that a lot, if not all of the positive reviews relate to heritage rooms. We had a royal room on the ground floor at the end of a long corridor. It was small, dark, noisy and a bit musty - not recommended. The pool area also seemed to be best avoided. The breakfast room was unprepossessing. On the other hand, the location of the hotel is good, the grounds apart from the pool area very nice and the outside evening dining area was lovely. Service was slow and somewhat disorganised (we found it quite entertaining) but the food was good. Staff were generally helpful if not proactive. Paying for wifi is annoying.

Room Tip: Avoid the royal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time out to review our service standards..

Kindly accept my sincere apology for all the inconvenience .

We noted experience you have had with our services.
I have addressed this matter with the team/Managers and assure you that all internal procedures have been strengthened and emphasized to avoid any recurrence.


I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

There are indeed echoes of the old colonial past in the grand surroundings of the restaurant. It is based in the inner courtyard of the hotel. The setting is splendid and the food does not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetropoleHotelMysore, General Manager at Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

The team and I thank you for choosing The Royal orchid Metropole, during your visit to Mysore. We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to have been of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Metropole,Mysore.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#4 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#18 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing