We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One way to describe this hotel is "prefect"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One way to describe this hotel is "prefect"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

If you are visting Mysore, this is the hotel to stay. Yes, its slightly expensive, however you will not regret. The suite rooms are too large & amazing balcony.
All the rooms have balcony. This is a heritage hotel & maintained very well. The restaurant is amazing & its in the middle of the hotel (open air). Staff is amazing too. I would rate this hotel 8/10.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framedrelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    311
    95
    47
    18
See reviews for
307
306
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

What a wonderful hotel tucked away right at the heart of the city. This hotel is done up in the pre Independence style and that adds to the charm of the hotel. We checked into the hotel so early in the morning, but all our needs were taken care of immediately although they weren't expecting us till noon. Helpful staff made our stay even better. Although the hotel itself would make sightseeing arrangements, the hotel's location is such that you can take public transit anywhere, and of course the staff guides you. If you are from south india and there is even a remote chance that you will understand Kannada, try the public transit system and see the city like a local...its really amazing that way. The rooms were fabulously comfortable, each with its own private balcony. The bathroom fixtures here were a little baffling though, but with some effort that can be figured out too. Room service was impeccable and prompt. That this hotel has a free breakfast buffet is the icing on the cake. The food is good and there is something for every palate. Wonderful hotel and a great staff to go with it....kudos

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandrasEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

The staff were very friendly and advised me on everything to where to get good quality saris without getting ripped off as well as good local tailors. The food was very good, I particularly recommend the lunchtime buffet. The rooms were charming and I would definitely stay here again. I relaxing respite while in India for business and the staff made my stay extra special - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel during Dasra festival. 16th Oct - 18th Oct.

Right from the beginning we did not like the way we were being served. The room given to us way quite small and aloof. The bathroom did not have shower curtain and the flush was not working . We wanted to change our room but due to peak season we were not given any more choices.

There was no menu card in the room and ordering a room service turned out to be an uphill task.

Since we went to Mysore to experience the Dasara festivity , this hotel did not showcase or help the guests with any services related to the festival. There was no concierge to help us plan our itinerary. I really hoped they were more sensitive to the needs of the travellers.

though the property was good takes you back in times I wish they were more receptive to guests needs and improve the service quality.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdityaGanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I am wondering if we stayed at the same hotel as the others who praise the staff at the Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel. My partner and I like others no doubt were attracted to this hotel with the promise of'heritage style' luxury. What we discovered was a shabby hotel, poorly maintained (shower did not work, AC incredibly noisy, poor reception on TV) and with non-existent hospitality demonstrated by the staff. A simple example of this was the coffee which was non existent on both mornings at breakfast and on each day I seemingly had to order this from the kitchen. The restaurant manager looked splendid in his nicely cut suit - but seemed to do nothing except wander around oblivious to such obvious defects in quality of product and service on offer. Originally intending to stay for 3 nights we checked out after the 2nd night and moved to 'Sandesh The Prince' hotel close to the palace. What this hotel lacks in architectural merit it truly made up for in excellent service. The staff smile - and actually go out of their way to help the guest. The restuarant there while a little boring interior design-wise has good staff who make you feel at home. Oh and yes they have coffee -and this is the first thing they ask when you sit at breakfast. A big no to the Metropole and a recomendation for "Sandesh The Prince'.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

I cam to this hotel without any expectation. I found it to be old style with quite old rooms that seem to be renovated recently.
Staff is well behaved and makes you comfortable. Rooms are spacious and with a balcony but very old colonial style.
Room rent is quite high for the quality of rooms. I got discount due to club membership but without that discount I many not stay again.
Bathrooms have tub bath but hot water flow is very low. I found it hard to fill the bath in time for my business meeting.
Restaurant offered south indian food in the breakfast but for lunch and dinner, only north Indian food was available. It is too rich.
Bed quality is not as expected in 3-4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubodhSohoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Good points-Beautiful looking hotel, very large bedrooms and bathrooms, (which have baths & showers), quiet, good central location.
Bad points-incredibly noisy A/C, ceiling fan AND fridge, we turned all three off at night, just to get some peace. Bathroom was very basic, and a bit shabby-nothing luxury about it at all. The front desk staff were standoffish, unwilling to help, or clueless, in rotating order.
All in all, an okay stay, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinegirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
8.9 mi away
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
Royal Orchid Brindavan Gardens
#17 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel

Property: Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Address: 5 Jhansi Lakshmibai Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570005, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#7 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand heritage hotel, Royal Orchid Metropole is steeped in the history and culture of Mysore. Its imperial arches, imposing pillars and ornate corridors capture the old world charm of this majestic guesthouse built by the former Maharaja of Mysore in 1920 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Metropole Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing