We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay for transit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Viceroy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mysuru (Mysore)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Viceroy
Ranked #99 of 137 Mysuru (Mysore) B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Stay for transit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the way back from a vacation at Coorg. This is a decent accommodation for a night stay since it is centrally located. The palace is right opposite and there are lot of restaurants close by. There are glitches in the room but the staff are co-operative to help sort out the issues.
The rooms are slightly noisy and you can hear the vehicle noises from outside even with the windows closed.
Dont forget to negotiate hard on the prices. You can get amazing discounts.
Do check the room before you check in to ensure that things are working.

Room Tip: Get the palace view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharath_s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    26
    43
    21
    45
See reviews for
47
42
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Room Service is Good
Complimentary Breakfast is worst
Bed and room is very clean, except Bathroom
Good Tasty Foods
Little bit Noisy, since it is located near by palace
Price is high

Overall it is Good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Mohanraj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in a double room which on appearance looked fine as the floors and surfaces were well cleaned but on closer look the condition of the room was not good. The curtains were shredded and shabby, the shower was faulty & the shower curtain itself look like it hadn't been changed in years. The bed itself was very comfortable & tv, fridge were fine but linens were just ok. lastly there's a cockroach problem as we found a few in the bathroom eventhough they had mothballs over the drains to deter them & we noticed many in the dining room at the free breakfast buffet.

If the management would take better care of the facilities this place could be great - as the location is good, rooms are
large and staff is friendly. For the price this place should only be an option if you are in a pinch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnshingpresence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We always stay at this hotel on our way to Bangalore from OOTY. It is very conveniently located, right next to palace. Plenty of eating place around. Ask for the best rate always before you check in :)

Room Tip: Check the room/ac/bathroom before you check in. Not all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arup_dash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed as part of a tour. It has a good location but the rooms need a bit of updating. I shared the room with one other from the tour. We had to change rooms because of a leak from the sink in the bathroom, which appeared to be a common problem.

Room Tip: Try and get one that is cheek to jowl with the singer building next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

There was no proper pre-arrangement made for my booking through clear trip. The hotel manager was surprisingly asked me about the booking details and payment amount. No toilet tissue, spray nozzles in bath room. bath room was very dark and suddenly the bulb got fused out. rooms are not spacious for family stay.
food quality was not so good for the price i was paid. car parking facility was not there.
I have not enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The hotel is very well maintained. Our room was huge and had all the mod cons you would expect in a more expensive and larger place. This included air-con,Fridge, flat screen telly and a very well equipped bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room well cleaned.

No major problems but there was aphone in the hallway for staff which rang very often and was a bit annoying at times as never answered so went on for ages. I was relieved it didn't seem to go off after our bed time. Breakfast was OK ,nothing special but on the day we stayed things were very shambolic and they were running out of everything so it was a bit hit and miss as to what you got and when you got it. We ate in other places nearby for lunch and dinner.There is no alcohol licence at this establishment. Not unusual in many hotels. There is a good bar just down the road.

After check out we were picking up an evening train and the hotel locked our bags away for us so we were able to go out and about sightseeing during the day.

The location is very good and walking distance from the Mysore palace. The large market is also a short walk away. Worth a visit for photos and really nice fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from phones which are at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.2 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#18 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
United 21 Hotel
United 21 Hotel
#44 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Plaza
Hotel Palace Plaza
#75 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pai Vista
Pai Vista
#13 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#15 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Paradise
Hotel Paradise
#50 of 99 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viceroy

Property: The Viceroy
Address: Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Viceroy 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
The Viceroy Hotel Mysore
Viceroy Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing