We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm on the edge of Mysore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Calm on the edge of Mysore”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed staying here for two nights as our first stop in Southern India. It is in a pleasant location just past the racecourse on the edge of Mysore and very handily placed for trips up Chamundi Hill (highly recommended). The ground floor chalet room was very spacious and had a balcony looking out to the small architectural lake. Through the large bathroom was a small private suntrap/garden. The food in the restuarant was good. We were there on a Sunday evening and by 9.30 the place was packed with locals and Indian tourists - a good sign! Breakfast is a buffet and the chefs will make you omelettes. Geese wander the gardens, and there is a large swimming pool but is hidden in a dip and so feels a bit forgotten and careworn. In the room there was at least two dozen light switches which take some working out (but we went on to find this is a common feature in Indian hotel rooms, an eccentricity! Good birdwatching in and around the grounds too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonALeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    353
    99
    30
    19
See reviews for
373
234
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent a night in Mysore at the Windflower. Check in was trouble free. We had a nice large room. However as mentioned by others - the light switches are crazy. Also I think the room needs some maintenance. The bathroom door wouldn't close properly unless locked & the door to the shower stall also wouldn't close properly. The towels were also past their use by date & a bit threadbare.

However the rest of the hotel was great. The restaurant service was a bit slow but very polite. We used room service for dinner & had no issues. They said it would take 40 minutes & we had our food in that time. The deck outside our room (we were on the ground floor - room 13) was nice. The hotels biggest advantage is that its very close to the zoo & the palace that we had gone to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitha_u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Windflower Mysore. We are in the process of refurbishing the resort and hence we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a single night at the resort. Rooms were large!! nicely decorated. Food was good. Breakfast buffet was very nice. Loved the coffee that was already made with sugar and cream. Only issue was the lighting. It was hard to find were all the light were. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

When you are travelling what do you look for? Calm serene atmosphere, Welcoming and Attentive but aware of your privacy staff, tastefully done rooms and beautifully landscaped surroundings, a beautiful pool, a good restaurant with tasty food. A sumptuous breakfast, What more can one ask for. The Windflower Mysore ticked all my boxes and hence my rating. Traveled there with my family and we absolutely loved the place. The rooms are big and tastefully done.The Pool is beautiful with a small waterfall cascading into the pool however i wish the pool was lighted in the night and was heated. Also the welcome drink was bad, i wish the management deals with these small hiccups.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open directly into the landscaped greenery which makes the morning cup of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudeepraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, good rooms and good service. However at checkout I paid by credit card and the the figure on the chip and pin machine was in rupees, as I had expected. I did not however read the small print on the print out receipt till I returned to the UK. This said that I had been given a choice to pay in rupees or pounds and that this had been made clear to me (it had not) and had opted to pay in pounds. As a result the transaction went through in pounds at a much worse exchange rate than if it were in rupees and I was charge a five pound handling fee! A deceitful check out system.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JKDulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have made an enquiry into the payment you had made at the time of check out and we have followed the protocol that is used at all establishments worldwide on the usage of an international card. The amount swiped remains the same whether the amount is paid in INR or your domestic currency. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The lush green view just lets u sink into good times and its a sight to behold. The food is alright but needs more tinge.
The staff are great but the billing procedure to be hurried up.
Overall a nice place to dine and relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylife86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at The Windflower Mysore. We do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would like to summarize my experience with these points.

- Went there on my birth-day, drove from Bangalore
- There is not ONE sign-board [pointer] on the way to the place, if my GPS had failed I would have returned back to Bangalore
- The room had two adjoining beds and not one single bed for a couple. Seriously, how ridiculous is that? Hilarious, actually!
- The Manager was asked multiple times by my wife to keep the 'birthday cake' a secret, they couldn't do that. Delivered the cake bill before the cake!! Again, dumb!
- For every room-service, i had to call multiple times. For our morning coffee, they took one hour, I called and cancelled the order, they replied back saying "ok", finally ended up giving us complimentary coffee.
- The lights switches and TV inside the room is a mess. Took me hours to switch on the TV and we could never manage to keep certain lights in the room 'on', the switches are simply random!
- Best part, they never gave us a Feedback Form after I settled the final amount, well, that was expected!

The food is great and the ambience is quite terrific, but surely won't give the place another visit nor will I recommend it to anybody!

Cheers!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, please do call them and find out if there are single beds for couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S0unak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have several road signs put up but there is a great deal of road repair work which is currently taking place in Mysore and as a result, most of the poles have been taken down by the Corporation. As regards the twin beds, we are sincerely apologetic and it was purely because of lack of availability that you were put through this inconvenience. The bill for the surprise cake should not have been presented to you before the item and we have taken up this matter seriously with the concerned department. We are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit but we do hope that you will stay with us at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#3 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,463 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#2 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,063 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#4 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#22 of 102 in Mysuru (Mysore)
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore

Property: The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Address: Maharanapratap Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#5 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#8 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windflower Resorts & Spa, Mysore embodies the true spirit of the Royal city of Mysore on the foothills of the Chamundi surrounded by the evergreen & historically significant landscape of the city. Featuring palatial rooms, private sit-outs, well-appointed bathrooms with rain showers in some, villas with private plunge pools are just to name a few features of the accommodation. The resort hosts its signature EMERGE the Wellness Spa featuring healing therapies written during the ages of Rishis of Ayurveda, a sunken outdoor pool and many an indoor and outdoor activities. Olive Garden, a multi-cuisine a la carte restaurant with its open air setting surrounded by a pond with cheerful geese combined with The Vineyard Bistro, a modern hangout holds its own to delight. Complete with multiple modern meeting facilities the resort features an open air meeting room, two banquet halls of differential sizes and features and an expansive party lawn for those with events, conferences, off-sites or celebrations in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Resort Mysore
Resort Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing