We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed”
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Having read the hotel description we were very disappointed. We had chosen this hotel to be a bit of luxury at the end of a trip when we had stayed in mid range basic hotels. The layout and design aspiration were good but the actual experience was a let down. Everything was badly in need of refurbishment, the "mirror" pool was flithy and the swimming pool looked dirty with paintwork crumbling. Roof tiles were missing so birds were nesting in the holes and covering the balconies with droppings that weren't cleared up. The rooms stank of the mothball "air freshners" dumped over the drains and the rooms smelled damp and musty. Towels didn't look clean and walls were stained. The shower in our first room did not work and it took a great deal of polite complaining to get moved when they couldn't fix it. We arrived at 2pm and were told there was no food or room service available - not great when you have been travelling since dawn. The manager subsequently aplogised and said this was incorrect when we challenged it later that evening - however that was little comfort. .Its quiet reputation is not bourne out as it is next to a nightclub and venue hired out for parties so very loud music blares out at night when there is an event on. There was a so called business centre but the internet did not work when we were there. I know travelling in India is different and you have to adjust, however the resort makes such claims its only fair people know that the place does not live up to it's advertising. A hugley disappointing end to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevontravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback. Sorry For The Inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    356
    99
    30
    20
See reviews for
376
234
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The resort has a great setting. Lots of greenery around, very quiet and the surroundings especially at the night time is quite spectacular.

The room is well decorated and looked very good at first sight. My room had a private open-shower :) which was very enjoyable. No bath tub here though :(

But the absolute downside was the bed, it was shaky and cranks a lot, can be an absolute turn-off. The resort otherwise is top-class, great restaurant , nice pool etc.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandysane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We spent 2 days here, and had the fortune to be upgraded to the Presidential suite- huge bedroom, lounge, dining room, 2 bathrooms and its own swimming pool! All in all a lovely room- heaven knows how much it cost per night!
The hotel is away from the bustle of the city but near enough for sightseeing easily. The grounds were pleasant, but the restaurant wasn't wonderful, and once we waited an hour for a sandwich! It was quite expensive too.
We had to check out at 6am. Luckily I has paid the previous evening, as we found it impossible to raise a porter to collect our luggage, and at reception we found the duty receptionist snoring away on a sofa!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We were expecting great things here but it is a dissapointing hotel.
The food was OK, but the restaurant was awful with really bad tinny music, the pool is a bit odd really and not particularly clean and was unattended when we visited, the room was quite shabby (bathroom door did not fit !) but what really stood out at this hotel was the staff. We stayed at 10 hotels in India on this trip and this was the only one of them with uninterested unhelpful staff - suggest some retraining required here.
Also they are big on extra charges here for lots of things that were free everywhere else (e.g. milk for tea in the room)

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank india_trip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in January 2009. The Windflower facility is beautiful, has an excellent spa, and spotless rooms. The Windflower was quiet and peaceful but only a ten minute rickshaw ride to the palace in Mysore. I trusted the safety of the food and was happy to eat there even though the prices were high (Rs 120/entry) and the service was slow.

The lobby staff was willing to help on any request and always smiled, but without any genuine warmth. The spa staff, on the other hand, were very warm and caring. My wife and I are both Ayurverdic novices, so cannot comment on the authenticity of our spa treatments. However, we found the treatments were fantastic and seemed to follow some formal system.

  • Liked — the spa was the best part
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank safe-water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff.UK
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Good Location,Large room and bathroom,Lovely open sided resteraunt and gardens.Very friendly and helpful staff.HOWEVER,the whole complex is in dire need of refurbishment (stains on upholstery,tired bathrooms and peeling paint).Unable to use the verandah due to masses of pidgeons nesting in the eaves and lots of subsequent droppings,also quite a few roof tiles have slipped off everywhere,so watch your head.

  • Liked — size and setting
  • Disliked — Tired and in need of maintenance
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Spent 2 nights here on our travels in Southern India in January - had booked a standard room for 1 night but arrived a day early due to change of plans - we were given a deluxe room as this was all that was available for the first night, but our second night was charged at the standard room rate so we were quite happy! Room was beautiful and bed exceptionally comfortable. Food in the restaurant was delicious although the service in the restaurant was not the best we had in India, also there was a distinct smell in the of fuel (?kerosene ) noticeable at lunchtime and dinner, not evident at breakfast, which was a bit offputting. Having said that, when the food arrived it was excellent.
What was a disappointment was the pool which looks so lovely on the website - water was murky and uninviting and there were far too many young male staff lurking about not doing anything - as a western female I wouldn`t have felt comfortable in a swimming costume so gave it a miss which was a shame as the weather was perfect!
Location is great, just outside the city of Mysore at the foot of Chaumandi Hill - would definitely recommend hotel for a comfortable stay - but it`s not quite as perfect as the website suggests!

  • Liked — huge comfortable room, en suite and open air shower
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flagstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlineads, Manager at The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore, responded to this review, 9 March 2017
Thank You For Your Feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Mysore
#2 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,496 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#3 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,866 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
Royal Orchid Metropole Hotel
#4 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#6 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
395 reviews
5.3 mi away
Golden Landmark Resort
Golden Landmark Resort
#22 of 103 in Mysuru (Mysore)
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore

Property: The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore
Address: Maharanapratap Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#5 Family Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
#8 Business Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windflower Resorts & Spa, Mysore embodies the true spirit of the Royal city of Mysore on the foothills of the Chamundi surrounded by the evergreen & historically significant landscape of the city. Featuring palatial rooms, private sit-outs, well-appointed bathrooms with rain showers in some, villas with private plunge pools are just to name a few features of the accommodation. The resort hosts its signature EMERGE the Wellness Spa featuring healing therapies written during the ages of Rishis of Ayurveda, a sunken outdoor pool and many an indoor and outdoor activities. Olive Garden, a multi-cuisine a la carte restaurant with its open air setting surrounded by a pond with cheerful geese combined with The Vineyard Bistro, a modern hangout holds its own to delight. Complete with multiple modern meeting facilities the resort features an open air meeting room, two banquet halls of differential sizes and features and an expansive party lawn for those with events, conferences, off-sites or celebrations in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Windflower Resort & Spa, Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Hotel Mysore
Windflower Resort Mysore
Resort Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing