We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central location with lots of quirks !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parklane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parklane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Central location with lots of quirks !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Went for a quick 24 hours trip to mysore and we wanted a change from the old and tested
Dasaprakash and thought Parklane, would fit the bill. We sent an email enquiry for the cheapest double (luxury) and got a response fairly quickly, stating they had reserved a room. It is such an antiquated way to confirm a reservation, but guess it seems to work ? At 2000+ per nite, it does seem a little much.

The hotel has a 12-12 checkin-checkout policy, which was ok for us and guess being featured in Lonely Planet and stuff, they seem to have a constant traffic of people, so they are busy !

The hotel is about 2 kms from the station and is actually walkable, if you have your bearings about town.

The hotel is quirky as hell and the signage is relentless from the second you step in. They seem to love their terracota and you get a first glimpse in the lobby, with a large display of zodiac signs. The reception area is very basic and we checked in pretty quickly. The manager was efficient, but not really personable and considering they get such a large tourist inflow, was surprised that some of my basic queries about distances or certain places etc was answered in a very offhand manner ? Anyway that was just my personal observation. We got two toiletry kits as well, which was rather packed with essentials !

We walked into our room and I was pretty surprised at the space. I have no idea, why there are so many reviews about the space being cramped ? The ceilings are a little low, yes, but you have this little seating area and the main room has a twin bed, a little cupboard with a safe, wall mounted tv and ofcourse a huge terracota mural. No view as such though.

And then there are the signs ! Literally every switch has something written on it ! ha ha
not to be outdone, the wall also feature an extra large digital clock in red, which feels like we are in a rocket launching site.

The bathrooms was decently sized and neat, the fittings were a little antiquated, e.g the shower head was clogged and finally it just made sense to take a bucket bath. The towels etc are in need of a change..they are on the verge of greying.

Else the a/c worked beautifully and cooled the room well.

The room service is expensive (almost 20% surcharge) and the restaurant, despite all the lights and ambience (green overload) is very average in quality. Only the basic rotis and dals were decent, paneer items and the meats were pretty tough. They have nice chilled beer and on a whim I had a mojito, which was pretty potent :-)

Most of the central landmarks at very close to the hotel, so its a good central place, if you are looking for one.

Overall I felt it is better than average, but not VERY GOOD as I have rated (Trip Advisor needs to insert that option) It would have been Very Good, if WiFi and breakfast was included at that price !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijaykrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    231
    84
    20
    13
See reviews for
122
176
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
black isle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The room was relatively clean but not so much so that you would want to step bare-foot on the hair-ball mats on the floor. We asked for a double and received a twin but didn't complain so it may have been a mistake. One of the best features were the gendered wash bags they provided, complete with toothbrush, vaseline (!) and even bindis for girls. The bathroom was alright but no hot water and shower just a dribble. The fan worked but the air con kept turning on and off throughout the night which was a nuisance.

Everything was meticulously labelled which was cute and comical. They tried to think of everything. I don't think it was bad, but I do plead you not to eat in their restaurant/beer garden. The food is enough to make you want to sick it up. In fact, they even warn you on the menus to ask for a vomit bag if you think you might!

Staff were reasonably helpful in the hotel, but just plain rude, obnoxious and overstaffed in the restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at parklane for 6 days and on the 6th day i received a call from the hotel reception that i had to check out of the hotel because the room was already booked ... inspite of me already informing them that i would be staying the whole week the Manager asked me to check out immediately and will be given no further time to stay in that hotel...i later know that there were a group of foreigners who were waiting and was pretty shocked to know that i was being overthrown for them (this was also noticed in restaurant where they were given preference i got my order late)...
later when i took up the matter with manager he said that by the hotel norms they are likely to decide when to make the guest stay and when to chuck out of the hotel.. i had to pack my bags and keep it in the baggage counter and spend half day in the reception ...

pathetic and outrageous behavior of the hotel staff which is intolerable and unacceptable...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajay_Bala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

it was a wate of money that i have spent here. i was on my way back from ooty to bangalore. had a worst day along with my parents. amenities were ok but the room was crampy. it is just like a local place but it was priced very high.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hempaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room had big bathroom with good lights and the beds are single and very firm. The restaurant is pleasent providing good Indian foods and cold beer by tap or bottle and the gin and tonics r good too The hotel is very central to town market and the palace. Good English spoken thru out and an exchange library also. We used the laundry service and all clothes returned washed and pressed Good all round hotel

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bothofus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Good cleans rooms and sheets and hot showers.good restaurant that serves beer cold! Good location for exploring the palace.

Negatives. Internet available for extra fee and breakfast is not included. Bit over price because of this.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We have been in India for 10 weeks and stayed in lots of hotels in this price bracket. The service here was awful. No one spoke good English so things were often lost, different food delivered, no one getting back to us, in the restaurant the waiters were having to use one of the cleaners to translate!

The first thing was that they put up posters stating the breakfast times, and breakfast is written on their facilities and services section on the promotional leaflet at reception; at no point were we told breakfast was not included and also when asking at the restaurant what was included for breakfast they said anything (also heard them telling others that breakfast was included), anyway you guessed it, it wasn't included. They didn't take my complaint well either.

Also had no hot water on 3 of the 4 mornings we stayed there. We phoned and asked for it and they managed to arrange it, but it wasn't easy to get it.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel it's far to expensive for what you get; also all restaurant prices are plus VAT so our check out bill was a lot. Our room was 2075 RS for the cheapest room.

The room it's self was nice with a fridge and good TV. But that was its only saving grace.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philipamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roopa
Hotel Roopa
#14 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Mysuru
Grand Mercure Mysuru
#5 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#20 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 mi away
NI Ambaari Suites
NI Ambaari Suites
#38 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ginger Mysore
Ginger Mysore
#10 of 100 in Mysuru (Mysore)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Hotel

Property: Parklane Hotel
Address: 2720 Sri Harsha Road, Mysuru (Mysore) 570001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mysore, easy access to bus and rail. Newly constructed 30 luxurious rooms, roof top swimming pool and open air restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Parklane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Mysore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing