We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grimy”
Review of Ginger Mysore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ginger Mysore
Ranked #6 of 117 Hotels in Mysuru (Mysore)
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The photos of this hotel, which is part of a chain, look great. However, when I arrived I found it was grimy and oppressive. I was expecting something cheap, simple and minimal, which is was, but the whole hotel including my room had a dilapidated, dirty look to it.

The Internet connection was not working, and when I asked when it would be fixed, the answer was "Maybe tomorrow."

I checked out and found another hotel.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
Thank dm4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Though a self service hotel, but the most personally preferable. Comfortable rooms, good lighting, good space & quiet, Ginger is one of the no nonsense hotels. Only if you are unlucky the key card might show error in opening the door, but the receptionists are quick to resolve the same when called from the floor.

Hotel is located in a calm & quiet place & is close to the Mysore zoo & the Karanji lake. At a comfortable distance from the Lalith Mahal palace, Mysore palace & the Chamundi Hills too. A total paisa vasool hotel & far better than the other hotels near the bus stand.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel is well located and adequate as a budget hotel - it is ok if you will use this only as a bed-and-breakfast and spend most of your time outdoors.

Room: Bed is comfortable and clean, but room is extremely compact.
Bathroom is clean, but you will have to bring even soap by yourself. No soap/shampoo/toothpaste sachets in the room. Only towels are complimentary.

Room service: Terrible. You will have to order from the 'Coffee Day' attached to the hotel and they do a terrible job of delivering to the room. We had to wait an hour after the order and still got the order in 2 batches. You also have the option of ordering for delivery from restaurants close by.

Bottom line: This is the wrong place to be if you need a meal and are too exhausted for an excursion.

There is a restaurant that serves a buffet breakfast and dinner at a price. The menu is average but sufficient as a meal.

The hotel is located close to the Mysore palace and zoo. So, getting around to attractions is easy from here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amravaneshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We booked the room online..it was booked immediately with much ease.

There is only self service.

Rooms are clean. But drawback is that u need to carry ur luggage to the room and to the car.

Room was very small and compact.

The hotel was clean and clear.
.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishaldeora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at the Ginger Hotel, Mysore as a part of our trip to Bangalore, Mysore & Ooty. We travelled from Banagalore to Mysore by road and had some diffculty locating the hotel probably because the driver was new to that area. Check-in was a bit slow as the receptionist seemed to be occupied with some call. The room was spacious though not very large and comfortable. All required ammenities were available. I was travelling with my 17 month old son and so tea/cofee maker in the room came in handy. The room service menu has just a few options and no items for a proper lunch or dinner. You can order a variety of sandiches, shakes from the CCD counter. Room was clean and linen upto thr mark. They are supposed to have water dispensers on every floor but due to some problem, they were empty and we had to order from Room service. Staff are efficient and courteous. The food at the buffet breakfast is good with options of Indian, South Indian & continental fare. The good thing about Ginger is that all tourist locations are nearby. The hotel has a travel desk from which we hired a car for our trio to Brindavan gardens. We stayed for 2 nigts and then left for Ooty by road but overall we had a pleasnt experience during our short stay at The Ginger Hotel, Mysore.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indian_from_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had booked this hotel for one day stay en-route to Ooty and we were travelling with our family in our own car.

The hotel is pretty decent and clean with no frills. Rooms were comfortable. Almost everything is in self-service mode. Staff looks over-stressed . Food is reasonably good.

The hotel is OK if you are spending whole day out and looking for good/comfortable sleep in clean environment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed at Ginger-Mysore for a little over a day for which I was charged Rs.3000/-. This by far was the most horrible stay I have a made in a hotel/lodge. If you are going to Ginger you better know that there is no 'House Keeping' done during the entire duration of your stay. Even if you inform at the reception they'd just say sure and you would end up sitting in a dirty room and a smelly toilet. Even your trash can isnt cleared out. But all that's passable. What takes the cake was when I was staying there was a another guest who was alloted the same room with another key. So you can imagine the looks on our faces when we found someone trying to enter your room. That's hospitality for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sridhar_ramaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mysuru (Mysore) hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#3 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,729 reviews
3.3 mi away
Treebo Spektrum Suites
Treebo Spektrum Suites
#20 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel MB International
Hotel MB International
#1 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Mysore
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#5 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
2,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune JP Palace
Fortune JP Palace
#8 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
1,211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Star Mysore
Southern Star Mysore
#14 of 117 in Mysuru (Mysore)
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Mysore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Mysore

Address: Nazarabad Mohalla Vasanth Mahal Road | Near Nazarabad Police Station, Mysuru (Mysore) 570010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Mysore District > Mysuru (Mysore)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Mysuru (Mysore)
Price Range: £25 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Mysore 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ginger Mysore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Mysore Hotel Mysore
Ginger Hotel Mysore
Mysore Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing